Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Battery
This is a great product. Do yourself a favor, don't bother with the included charger. Buy a BatteryMinder desulphating conditioning charger with a cigerette adapter. You can leave it plugged in continuously and the battery will be maintained in peak condition. Also, the "hum" mentioned by another reviewer is the cooling fan for the inverter which comes on during high...
Published on June 18, 2010 by MAW

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars less than one star
This item was not new as stated. When I opened the packed the inner box was old and scratched. the box that contained the charging cord is old and falling apart. The pin on the charging cord is all scratched so you could see it was used many times.This seller is dishonest. The power pack itself has a huge crack in it going almost the whole width of it. the sticker on the...
Published on January 5, 2011 by J-Dawg


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Battery, June 18, 2010
This review is from: Schumacher PP-2200 Portable Outdoor Power Unit (Automotive)
This is a great product. Do yourself a favor, don't bother with the included charger. Buy a BatteryMinder desulphating conditioning charger with a cigerette adapter. You can leave it plugged in continuously and the battery will be maintained in peak condition. Also, the "hum" mentioned by another reviewer is the cooling fan for the inverter which comes on during high loads.
_____________
Update:
I've been using this battery to run astronomy equipment regularly for the last year - primarily via 12 volt plug. I've charged it exclusively with the BatteryMinder and it's always 13.6 volts when I disconnect it for use. No complaints with the battery. However, when I use it, the the alarm on the inverter seems to sound well before voltage is critically low - somewhere around 12 volts on my digital meter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works great, February 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher PP-2200 Portable Outdoor Power Unit (Automotive)
I am able to power my telescope, laptop, and Canon Eos for hours, and have still never gone below 3/4 charge. I have learned the key to success though, is the unit must remain on the charger when stored. They clearly warn you to charge at least monthly. Only negative is recharge takes a very long time (normally overnight. Wish it had 1 more cigarette adapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, April 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher PP-2200 Portable Outdoor Power Unit (Automotive)
I use this unit to power my laptop, printer, wireless router, etc. I use it mainly for business because I always need a power outlet where one is not available. I bought two of these and will probably buy more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars less than one star, January 5, 2011
By 
J-Dawg "J-Dawg" (on the coast "east") - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher PP-2200 Portable Outdoor Power Unit (Automotive)
This item was not new as stated. When I opened the packed the inner box was old and scratched. the box that contained the charging cord is old and falling apart. The pin on the charging cord is all scratched so you could see it was used many times.This seller is dishonest. The power pack itself has a huge crack in it going almost the whole width of it. the sticker on the power pack is old & scratched. I think they purposely packed this unit poorly to make it look like the shipper UPS damaged it but I don't think that is the case. This unit looks like it has been damaged & kicking around a warehouse for a long time. Amazons policy is no return stating hazmat material. I will now have to dispute it on my card. This is a bogus return policy and is illegal in my state.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Schumacher PP-2200, December 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher PP-2200 Portable Outdoor Power Unit (Automotive)
I recently bought one, charged it as instructed, used it once and after that IT WOULD NOT CHARGE AGAIN! It was supposedly a new item! Called manufacturer but was told to contact AMAZON. Tried to get a replacement online (no tel.# to talk to an Amazon agent directly) but it's classified as hazardous and therefore CAN'T BE RETURNED OR REPLACED. It wasn't classified as hazardous when they send it to me. Where's the logic in that! Now I'm stuck with a DEAD SCHUMACHER !!! Amazon.com thank you for that. My advice: DO NOT BUY ONE UNLESS YOU ARE SURE IT IS AN ITEM THAT CAN BE REPLACED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dead on arrival, November 9, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher PP-2200 Portable Outdoor Power Unit (Automotive)
After charging the battery for 72 hours as directed, we switched it on, plugged in a light and were greeted with a loud beep and a green light, but absolutely no power. And since these batteries cannot be shipped back, there is no way to return them. A disappointingly shoddy product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do NOT purchase!, December 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher PP-2200 Portable Outdoor Power Unit (Automotive)
Schumacher PP-2200 Portable Outdoor Power Unit
Do not make mistake of purchasing this or similar items from Amazon!
Purchased as a gift. Outside packing in very good condition. Product box in pieces & item had obviously been returned! Now unable to return to amazon due to their return policy - I'm to dispose of it at my expense and with no reimbursement!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stopped Working After 3 months, September 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher PP-2200 Portable Outdoor Power Unit (Automotive)
I purchased this unit a few months ago and used it a few times. Now it will not work and when I turn it on all I get is a high pitched tone. It shows fully charged, but as soon as you plug anything into it the high pitched tone sounds and there is no power. Not very happy because Amazon will not take it back or provide a way to return it for repair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Won't charge after five days, October 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher PP-2200 Portable Outdoor Power Unit (Automotive)
According to the manual, the unit should be charged fully prior to use for 8 hours minimum. Sorry to say, the battery has been sitting plugged into the charger for five days and no power. The green indicator light has never come on and the unit won't power anything. Seems like the battery must have died in storage.

Unfortunately, I didn't realize this at the time of order but Amazon does not accept returns on this item because it contains hazardous materials. So, in addition to losing out on the cost of the unit I'm also stuck with 20 lbs. of useless lead acid that needs to be recycled at my expense.

Wish I hadn't been the unlucky one - sounds like a lot of folks had a positive experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for crafters! The Schumacher pp-2200 portable power, June 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher PP-2200 Portable Outdoor Power Unit (Automotive)
We are crafters who travel to many out door shows where there is no electric. This unit lets us run 4 welcome lamps with C7 bulbs for 8 hours at a time. It is quiet and small. Perfect to hide under a table in our craft tent. Just keep in mind that it must be recharged at night to be able to use the next day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.