Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Product -was there any doubt?
Works well. Does exactly what it says it would. Even if it is called "manual" there is no way it could over charge a battery. Once the charge voltage in the battery equals the voltage the charger puts out it would only maintain it at the level coming in. I'm here to order 3 more.
Published on September 26, 2010 by A. Peterson

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a Battery Tender!
I purchased this because I thought it was a trickle charger (battery Tender), instead I find it needs to be monitored. The name is ms-leading, I returned it.
Published 20 months ago by KWD


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have charger, August 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher SE-1 Trickle Manual Battery Charger - 1 Amp (Misc.)
This is a must-have if you don't need an automatic charger. It puts out just a little over one amp and is great for charging new 6/12 volt batteries for the first time. If using this as a regular (everyday) charger, be sure to unplug the unit manually once battery is fully charged. This charger does not shut off automatically and will over-charge if not monitored. 5-Stars on this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT A MAINTAINER- 1amp *MANUAL CHARGER* that works well, May 12, 2014
This review is from: Schumacher SE-1 Trickle Manual Battery Charger - 1 Amp (Misc.)
I purchased this to raise the voltage of one of my motorcycle batteries because it was reading 2.25 volts and hadn't been used for many years. None of my Automatic chargers or maintainers (CTEK 3300, CTEK 0.8, Battery Minder 12118, Associated Equipment 9003) would start their charging mode with the voltage that low. I hooked it up and let it work for a couple of hours then removed it. One by one I tried all my automatic chargers and found the battery voltage was now high enough to activate all of their charging modes.

Because so many people are trying to use this as a cheap maintainer I performed the following action for them. I hooked this charger up to a fully charged 50Ah Optima Red Top and watched the voltage climb. It peaked at about 16.08V at which point I promptly removed it. I then tried it on a good 8.6Ah Yuasa motorcycle battery and got the same results. With a peak of 16V this is clearly not a maintainer.

PLEASE, No more low star reviews from people that think this is a maintainer or from the people that are afraid it will cook their battery, you're trying to use it for the wrong purpose. What you need is an *AUTOMATIC* Maintainer.

It does what it was designed to do very well! That being slowly MANUALLY CHARGE batteries, not maintain them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why would anyone purchase a manual trickle charger?, January 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher SE-1 Trickle Manual Battery Charger - 1 Amp (Misc.)
It may or may not have worked. However, it requires you to monitor the battery being charged, and remove it before over charging! For a few bucks more (sometimes less), you can get a trickle charger that can be left attached to the battery indefinitely (all winter) without causing damage. Just hook it up and forget it! Don't waste money on a manual trickle charger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars is a charger, January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher SE-1 Trickle Manual Battery Charger - 1 Amp (Misc.)
not to be confused with a floating charger, this is a good cheap charger, but just remember it is bad to leave your batteries on forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This killed my battery, January 4, 2014
By 
D. Mills (Spring Lake, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher SE-1 Trickle Manual Battery Charger - 1 Amp (Misc.)
I purchased two of these for the batteries in my wave runners and both of the batteries were dead when I went to use them - I mean dead to where I could not recharge them and needed to by new. These chargers were trashed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy an Automatic One, July 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher SE-1 Trickle Manual Battery Charger - 1 Amp (Misc.)
I bought this by mistake. I should have bought an automatic one since I plan to leave it on all the time. Seemed to be made well though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty straightforward and simple., June 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher SE-1 Trickle Manual Battery Charger - 1 Amp (Misc.)
Hook it up, and plug it in. If you have a bad short term memory, buy one that will automatically cycle off. Otherwise, this is good for overnight charging, not off-season maintenance use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars battery charger, April 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher SE-1 Trickle Manual Battery Charger - 1 Amp (Misc.)
Poor choice on my part unit reqres constant monatoring or batt damage results should have bought another type that outamatic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dual Function Battery Charger Tested! Results Included!, July 31, 2014
This review is from: Schumacher SE-1 Trickle Manual Battery Charger - 1 Amp (Misc.)
Well, since I am up late in the early hours because I cant sleep, I decided to write a review of this cheap, but useable charger.

With a multi-meter connected, the charger puts out 13.8 - 14 Volts.

Completely charged a 12 Volt Lead Acid Battery (UB1250) in about 6 hours.

Not recommended, but partially charged a set of 6 cell lithium ion laptop batteries (connected in series and parallel to derive 11.1 volts) to 11.8 volts in one hour.

Charger automatically shuts down when lithium ion battery pack reached 11.8 to 12 volts after current passes 1 amp charger limit. (Very Good Safety Feature).

This charger is worth it's cost because not only is it functional as a lead acid battery charger; it's functional as a 6 cell lithium ion charger that safely shuts off way before overcharge point of lithium ion battery pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Motorcycles and Lawn Tractors, April 8, 2010
By 
Rick Curtis (Yakima, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schumacher SE-1 Trickle Manual Battery Charger - 1 Amp (Misc.)
I purchased the item for my car only to read on the box it is for motorcycles and lawn tractors. So don't do what I did...read the print before ordering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Schumacher SE-1 Trickle Manual  Battery Charger - 1 Amp
$23.85 $14.16
In stock. Usually ships within 3 to 4 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.