Buy Used
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: BMG Direct edition. Original CD case, front cover insert / booklet, and disc all in very good condition. Case shows some wear to surfaces including light scratches and mild imperfections. Front cover insert / booklet shows minimal wear from use. Disc shows minimal wear from use; this wear does not affect playback.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Schumann: Carnaval / Kreisleriana ~ Uchida

4 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, March 14, 1995
"Please retry"
$11.99 $1.05

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Kreisleriana Op.16: 1. Ausserst Bewegt/Agitatissimo
  2. Kreisleriana Op.16: 2. Sehr Innig Und Nicht Zu Rasch/Con Molta Espressione, Non Troppo Presto...
  3. Kreisleriana Op.16: 3. Sehr Aufgeregt/Molto Agitato
  4. Kreisleriana Op.16: 4. Sehr Langsam/Lento Assai
  5. Kreisleriana Op.16: 5. Sehr Lebhaft/Vivace Assai
  6. Kreisleriana Op.16: 6. Sehr Langsam/Lento Assai
  7. Kreisleriana Op.16: 7. Sehr Rasch/Molto Presto
  8. Kreisleriana Op.16: 8. Schnell Und Spielend/Vivace E Scherzando
  9. Carnaval Op.9: Preambule
  10. Carnaval Op.9: Pierrot
  11. Carnaval Op.9: Arlequin
  12. Carnaval Op.9: Valse Noble
  13. Carnaval Op.9: Eusebius
  14. Carnaval Op.9: Florestan
  15. Carnaval Op.9: Coquette
  16. Carnaval Op.9: Replique
  17. Carnaval Op.9: Sphinxes
  18. Carnaval Op.9: Paipllons
  19. Carnaval Op.9: A.S.C.H.-S.C.H.A. (Letres Dansantes)
  20. Carnaval Op.9: Chiarina
  21. Carnaval Op.9: Chopin
  22. Carnaval Op.9: Estrella
  23. Carnaval Op.9: Reconnaissance
  24. Carnaval Op.9: Pantalon E Colombine
  25. Carnaval Op.9: Valse Allemande-Intermezzo: Paganini
  26. Carnaval Op.9: Aveu
  27. Carnaval Op.9: Promenade
  28. Carnaval Op.9: Pause
  29. Carnaval Op.9: Marche Des 'Davidsbundler' Contre Les Philistins

Product Details

  • Performer: Uchida
  • Composer: Schumann
  • Audio CD (March 14, 1995)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Phillips
  • ASIN: B0000041B2
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #439,344 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Verified Purchase
Mitsuko Uchida deservedly ranks high among modern interpreters of Mozart and Schubert. Her Debussy "Douze Etudes" is flawless and her Beethoven "Emperor" a rousing and marvelous success. After hearing her "Keisleriana" and "Carnaval," however, I wonder why she has not recorded more Schumann? These are brilliant, articulate and wondrous readings. From the first bars of the "Kreisleriana," one of Schumann's dark and demanding collections of short pieces, which is closest in tone to his later "Humoreske," she sets the pieces ablaze with intellectual fire, powerfully evoking their rich emotional content and always with awe-inspiring technique. There is something more challenging, existential and intellectual about her approach than I have heard from other pianists. (Now that she has also recorded another Schumann album, with the Davidsbundlertanze and the Fantasie, one gets more of a feeling for the way she perceives Schumann. This is especially so because the new recording also includes a disc containing a wonderful interview of Ms. Uchida about Schumann.)

Ms. Uchida does not indulge the kind of mannered and oblique approach too many pianists (and others) adopt in approaching Schumann, as though he must be humored rather than enjoyed, as though he were mad first and a genius second. Few composers have been as thoroughly - and ineptly - compartmentalized and labeled as Schumann: he was trapped in the throes of a weird romantic, dualistic personality (Florestan and Eusebius), he mastered only short works for piano and could not handle long works, his later works are incomprehensible, etc. These and other shibboleths are being smashed by the dazzling recordings of Ms. Uchida, Vladimir Horowitz, John Eliot Gardiner, Wolfgang Sawallisch, Barbara Bonney, Gidon Kremer and Arkady Volodos.
Read more ›
2 Comments 14 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Mitsuko Uchida has shaken off any lingering image of her as a china-doll Mozart interpreter. Taking on the larger-scaled paino music of Schumann, she works hard not to be delicate. In some ways that's a shame, because while her Kreisleriana is suitably full of fierceness and freedom of expression, her Carnaval is joyless. She rushes and at times bangs, giving little scope for the lightness and humor of Schumann's fantasy. She's not helped by a shaollow, clangy piano sound that becomes grating very quickly.
Comment 2 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category