Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contact-Great/Sphere-Not..
Contact is one of my favorite stories of all times. I loved Carl Sagan and had read the book long before it had become a movie.And Jodi Foster &
Matthew McConaughey did a great job with this story!

Sphere,on the other hand,also was a great book HOWEVER the 'movie' was lacking severly. Although the actors were all great people for other projects I am...
Published on July 25, 2007 by Bernice D. Knouse

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap. Short-changed....
By putting out these two films on one DVD, I can't help but feel that Warner's has "short-changed" Contact by pairing it with such an inferior film like "Sphere." In my opinion, Criterion should have issued their own DVD print of "Contact" with all of the extras. I don't even see it in upcoming Blu-Ray releases and it certainly deserves that kind of upgrade. "Contact"...
Published on July 8, 2008 by Pacific808


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contact-Great/Sphere-Not.., July 25, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sci-Fi Double Feature: Contact / Sphere (DVD)
Contact is one of my favorite stories of all times. I loved Carl Sagan and had read the book long before it had become a movie.And Jodi Foster &
Matthew McConaughey did a great job with this story!

Sphere,on the other hand,also was a great book HOWEVER the 'movie' was lacking severly. Although the actors were all great people for other projects I am clueless as to how anyone ever thought they needed to be in this story.Still it is an ok scifi film to have in your collection but my advice would be to buy the book as well because it really was a BETTER story when read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how good is Contact!, May 12, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sci-Fi Double Feature: Contact / Sphere (DVD)
A surprisingly good film based on the SETI project, with a great question at the end!!

I did not find Sphere to be as interesting as Contact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but good, September 3, 2008
By 
Matthew Eland (Columbus, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sci-Fi Double Feature: Contact / Sphere (DVD)
This is a good pair of niche Sci-Fi movies. I'm not going to review the films in depth, so I suggest you see Sphere and Contact for more detailed coverage.

The case includes a single DVD with Contact on the front and Sphere on the back. There is no labeling on the DVD and the packaging didn't release the DVD very easily so I felt very nervous handling it. Additionally, it was a little difficult to tell which side of the DVD was which because you had to look at small text on the inner ring of the DVD.

From what I could tell, both sides were identical to their standard non-bundled counterparts. You're just getting two on one disc.

These are pretty good movies with a little bit of a cult following (especially Sphere). The only bad thing here is the packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars These are a couple of old favorites, February 18, 2013
By 
M. Magly (S.W. Ohio, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sci-Fi Double Feature: Contact / Sphere (DVD)
These are a couple of old favorites of mine and I was delighted to find them avalible as a double feature and with such a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good combo, February 7, 2013
By 
Peter Mars (MA. United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sci-Fi Double Feature: Contact / Sphere (DVD)
5 stars for the two together. Separately they are good movies. But together at the price I paid they were more then an excellent buy making them worthy of 5 stars. Both action packed, edge of your seat, and it keeps your mind open to other things in life. The possibilities that might await you. I recommend the two pack of movies. Keep an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double Feature, October 27, 2007
By 
Bama Country (Tuscaloosa, AL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sci-Fi Double Feature: Contact / Sphere (DVD)
Love these new double features they have out can't beat the deal on these two films one low price,Sphere and Contact both are really good, great acting, good story lines and special effects....Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars contact and sphere - combination DVD, September 29, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sci-Fi Double Feature: Contact / Sphere (DVD)
Both good science fiction movies. Jodi Foster and Matthew Mcconaughey are both excellent in Contact. The book was a bit better in detail, but books usually are. This book was translated to video format keeping true to the theme of the story. It seems like the ending could have been closer to the ending of the book, but I'm sure they had their reasons. Sharon Stone and Dustin Hoffman made a great team in Sphere. I like the idea of time travel, when carried out well and without the usual problems of temporal inconsistencies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Priced Right if You Know the Films, March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sci-Fi Double Feature: Contact / Sphere (DVD)
This is more a review of the double feature DVD than a review of the movies. If you already know these films and want decent copies of them in a space efficient single DVD, then this is a good item to buy at less than six bucks delivered. With so many well-worded thoughtful reviews of these films already published, I'll keep this very short:

Contact is still a fun adventure even a decade and a half after its release. The cast is solid; the melding of science and religion still makes for good controversy, and the special effects are not awful.

Sphere is a great book written by a brilliant author. Please judge Mr. Crichton on the book. If you read the book, it may help the movie for you but nothing can completely rescue this film from sad editing and directing. Take the worst of "The Abyss" and combine it with a bad Star Trek episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love them, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sci-Fi Double Feature: Contact / Sphere (DVD)
We love watching these movies at home. They never get old and I can't wait to watch them over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scifi contact/sphere, April 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sci-Fi Double Feature: Contact / Sphere (DVD)
recieved on time. movie sphere would not play entire movie. glitch stopped movie in last 5 minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sci-Fi Double Feature:  Contact  / Sphere
Sci-Fi Double Feature: Contact / Sphere by Barry Levinson (DVD - 2007)
$14.97 $9.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.