Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring book that has stood the test of time!
This book was written almost 100 years ago, but it still inspires today. Wattles notes that, "When awakened, man becomes a son of the Highest and all power is given to him in heaven and on earth." He notes you can become what you want to be by virtue of your thoughts.

He also explains that wisdom is the essential basis of greatness and that man can receive...
Published on December 19, 2008 by Kara Lane

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Took a while to start enjoying the book.
Published 2 months ago by Murray L Easton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring book that has stood the test of time!, December 19, 2008
This book was written almost 100 years ago, but it still inspires today. Wattles notes that, "When awakened, man becomes a son of the Highest and all power is given to him in heaven and on earth." He notes you can become what you want to be by virtue of your thoughts.

He also explains that wisdom is the essential basis of greatness and that man can receive wisdom from God. He includes an entire chapter on a mental exercise that helps you to connect with God and thus realize your highest potential.

Once concept I particularly liked is he says that to become "great," you must start by doing small things in great ways. So he says to begin today to be great in your own home and office...in all relations, be just, generous, courteous and kind. When you begin to do even small things in a great way, you will eventually be able to do bigger things in a great way. Your habit of deliberately thinking and acting in the best way you know how will cause you to continually grow until you become a great person.

This is a very quick read, but a very inspiring one. I would recommend it to anyone who aspires to be a better person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gift for my husband from Amazon, August 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Science of Being Great (A Thrifty Book) (Paperback)
My husband hasn't accepted the idea of electronic books - he's old school. And this is an older
book. But he hadn't read it before and he really likes it. He is a fan of Napoleon Hill and has
read Think and Grow Rich many times and quotes it to everyone. This one gave him a new wrinkle on
the subject. I try hard to find things he will like and this was a big hit. Thanks Amazon for putting
it in my suggestion list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Written in 1911 and matches Eckhart Tolle, July 31, 2008
Wallace D. Wattles is a treasure. He was enlightened when he wrote this back in 1911. Every sentence demonstrates "no self" in other words he was fully identified with the collective intelligence. He demonstrates non-attachment, non-judgment, and non-resistance a full 100% throught the CDs. If you love Eckhart Tolle, Byron Katie, Jed McKenna, and other highly spiritually evolved writers, you will love his stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 100 year old wisdom that can still help you today, September 23, 2013
Although the words in "The Science Of Being Great" were penned over 100 years ago, there are many truths that still apply to this day. Wallace D. Wattles shares his views about the importance of following your own truth and he emphasizes that our thoughts play a crucial role in determining our level of greatness.

By thinking for ourselves and by visualizing what we wish to see in reality we become the master of our thoughts, which in turn become our reality. Wattles asserts that greatness is not only for a select, privileged few, but that every person has within themselves the power and faculties to become great in their own right. Indeed, Wattles believes that "Greatness is equally inherent in all, and may be manifested by all."

** The one shortcoming with this book, if one can call it a shortcoming, is that the title uses the word, "Science" and while this term was perhaps appropriate at the time this book was written, there is no scientific exploration in this book. Personally, I am very grateful for the information that the author shared and I was not disappointed that this book was not based in science; however, for those who prefer a more scientifically oriented literature, I do not believe that this book would meet your requirements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars challenging, July 29, 2014
By 
Matthew (Arlington, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A beautiful framework for seeing the best in humanity and finding greatness through abandonment of the soul to God. I really enjoyed the poetic take on our thought life as well as the concept of a thought-form being a real thing. I don't know if I agree with his understanding of evil, but it is so refreshing to read a work that pushes you to examine your beliefs in a reverent manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, April 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good book for anyone to read and enjoy. A must read for all generations to learn and grow from. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Science of Being Great (A Thrifty Book) (Paperback)
Purchased this book as part of a requirement for a course. I found that the language was dated, but there are nuggets of knowledge and ideals worth exploring. If you are looking to shift the way you approach situations and mindset, you might enjoy testing Mr Wattles' theories in your own life. (4 stars due to writing style)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, February 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
You're looking for success principles this is one of the excellent reads you will need to help develop your mind for success
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review, September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Science of Being Great (A Thrifty Book) (Paperback)
Great book, everyone should read it once. Getting it for such a cheap price is a bonus. Def recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learned alot, March 21, 2011
Good book and very insightful. The language is very formal being that it is from the late 19th century. I was not disappointed. Learned a lot and recommend it to anyone wanting to learn about themselves and successful living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Science of Being Great (A Thrifty Book)
The Science of Being Great (A Thrifty Book) by Wallace D. Wattles (Paperback - October 20, 2009)
$4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.