Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continues to Charm
Dead as a Scone was a fast read because I didn't want to put the book down. I enjoyed the characters and the British charm woven throughout the book. Nothing shocking or gory, just a fun read that left good memories and made me want to read every book by this couple.
Published on March 16, 2011 by Amateur

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Clunky
A diverting read on a rainy afternoon, but this is not a well written book. The plotting is shabby: The detection involves no deduction; the characters just hunt for bits of evidence which then luckily turn up. The characters themselves are cobbled together from the standard trans-atlantic cliches: there's the go-getting American woman, the dotty but compassionate rich...
Published on May 16, 2011 by Digest


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continues to Charm, March 16, 2011
This review is from: Dead as a Scone (The Royal Tunbridge Wells Mysteries - Book One 1) (Kindle Edition)
Dead as a Scone was a fast read because I didn't want to put the book down. I enjoyed the characters and the British charm woven throughout the book. Nothing shocking or gory, just a fun read that left good memories and made me want to read every book by this couple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Cozy, March 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead as a Scone (The Royal Tunbridge Wells Mysteries - Book One 1) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed everything about this cozy mystery (setting, characters, plot), even though I'm not a tea drinker. Already planning to read the other in this series and hoping for a continuation of it in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Clunky, May 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead as a Scone (The Royal Tunbridge Wells Mysteries - Book One 1) (Kindle Edition)
A diverting read on a rainy afternoon, but this is not a well written book. The plotting is shabby: The detection involves no deduction; the characters just hunt for bits of evidence which then luckily turn up. The characters themselves are cobbled together from the standard trans-atlantic cliches: there's the go-getting American woman, the dotty but compassionate rich old lady, the tweedy-but-boyish English academic type. And the scenes, especially the set-piece romantic ones, are also just off-the-shelf scenarios that you've seen a thousand times before. The authors haven't really done any fresh imagining at all, but they do press all of the generic buttons in the usual order, and at the expected pace.

What the authors have done is research, and worst of all is the clunky prose in which they constantly show it off, piling up irrelevant details about Tunbridge Wells instead of making any real effort to invoke the feel of the place. The result of this constant levering in of research is that the two main characters spend the first two thirds of the novel uttering little synopses of encyclopedia articles to one another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cozy Read with a Plus, March 19, 2011
By 
Donna (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead as a Scone (The Royal Tunbridge Wells Mysteries - Book One 1) (Kindle Edition)
A perfect read for curling up with a cup of tea, which is one of my favorite things to do. But this book goes beyond a well-plotted story with charming characters in a delightful setting. To me Background is one of the most important aspects of a story. I want to learn something more than simply who committed the crime and this book delivers in spades. The Tea Museum in Royal Tunbridge Wells is fictional, but reading this book is as good as a visit to a realy place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYABLE BY ALL AGES, April 14, 2011
By 
Su Co (Medford, MA, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead as a Scone (The Royal Tunbridge Wells Mysteries - Book One 1) (Kindle Edition)
A story peopled with characters I'd like to hang out with. It moved right along and had a satisfying ending.

My 92 year old mother and I listened to this using Text to Speech on our Kindle connected to a pair of speakers. We listened all day, not even breaking for meals, to the very end. It's the first book in sometime that my mother didn't want to take a break after a few hours. Tomorrow we are going to listen to the next book in the series, The Final Crumpet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead as a Scone (The Royal Tunbridge Wells Mysteries - Book One 1) (Kindle Edition)
Too slow in the story line and seems a little outdated for my tastes. I suppose it is the more British style that makes it seem that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more please!, April 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead as a Scone (The Royal Tunbridge Wells Mysteries - Book One 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book, have already ordered the next one and am eagerly hoping for more! I thought the facts about different types of tea and about tea clipper ships etc. added nice touches to a good story with enjoyable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Museum!, October 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead as a Scone (The Royal Tunbridge Wells Mysteries - Book One 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book so much I immediately bought the second in the series. As a serious tea drinker I enjoyed all the information about tea, but I especially enjoyed the character development. Looking forward to more in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, June 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead as a Scone (The Royal Tunbridge Wells Mysteries - Book One 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very good characters, interesting plot and plot development.Not great literature but a fun book with lots of interesting background information. Climax fell flat and it was a little difficult to understand how the protagonists suddenly knew who the killer was. I have already bought another Tunbridge Wells mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK, February 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dead as a Scone (The Royal Tunbridge Wells Mysteries - Book One 1) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed English setting. Chose it because I had just finished a tea appreciation class so thought this would be fun to read. Also, liked pairing learning about tea with a mystery. Sort of slow read at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.