Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Scooby-Doo Meets Batman
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 13, 2005
The "Scooby Doo meets Batman" DVD is campy fun featuring the two appearances made by Batman & Robin on The New Scooby Doo Movies (1972-1973). In "The Dynamic Scooby Doo Affair", The gang teams up with Batman & Robin for a wacky showdown in the funhouse against the Joker & the Penguin. In "The Caped Crusader Caper", Batman & Robin join the gang to once again stop the crazy villainous duo Penguin & Joker, this time from attempting to steal a flying suit from the word fumbling Professor Flakey. There are some cool extras like elapsed time footage of animators drawing both Scooby & Shaggy and interview clips of the original voice actors. As cool as this DVD is though, you may want to instead invest in the upcoming 4 DVD set release "The Best of the New Scooby Doo Movies" featuring 15 out of the 24 that aired including both of these Batman & Robin episodes. However, if you're only interested in the Batman & Robin appearances then this DVD is for you.

Goofs:

*There are always some animation slip ups in cartoons, but not always as hilarious as Batman with no pants! Watch for it!

Trivia:

*"The New Scooby Doo Movies" are double the length of an episode of the original "Scooby Doo Where are You?" show. They were aired in an hour block. On DVD they run around 40 minutes each.

*"The Best of the New Scooby Doo Movies" 4 DVD box set features episodes with guests the Three Stooges, Jonathan Winters, Don Knotts, Laurel & Hardy, the Harlem Globetrotters, Don Adams, Speed Buggy, Mama Cass, and Dick Van Dyke. Curiously, episodes with the Addams Family, Phyllis Diller, Sonny & Cher, Sandy Duncan, Davy Jones, Jerry Reed, Tim Conway, toon characters Josie & the Pussycats and Jeannie & Babu were not included. Instead the set chooses to have the multiple appearances by the Stooges (2), Batman & Robin (2), Knotts (2) and the Globetrotters (3).

*Both Shaggy & Robin are voiced by radio personality Casey Kasem.

*The genius Don Messick who is of course Scooby also voiced Astro from the Jetsons, Droopy the dog, Boo Boo & Ranger Smith of Yogi fame, Dr. Quest & Bandit from Jonny Quest, Papa Smurf & Azrael from The Smurfs and that goofy dog Mutley from Wacky Races...just to name a few!

Also recommended: The 4 DVD set Scooby Doo Where Are You? - Seasons 1 & 2 (which is actually the entire series!)
55 comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2002
Scooby Doo is one of the greatest cartoons in history in my personal opinion. It has so many elements to it that make it perfect when it comes to campy fun, one can't help but get excited when you hear that Scooby Doo is about to be paired up with another "Camp"tastic show.
This Scooby movie is no different than any other; the gang finds themselves in the middle of the forest just outside of Gotham City when, suddenly, they are being followed and haunted by some monsters who have been terrorizing the locals. Once again, Mystery Inc. has come across a great mystery, but to solve it this time, they're going to call in the help of the Dynamic Duo.
Anyone who loves Scooby Doo is going to love this one just as much because it has all the same elements to it: Shaggy and Scooby still get scared and hungry and have some crazy antics along the way. Fans of the early Batman series will also enjoy this cartoon, especially the special appearences by the Penguin and the Joker. But what's really great about htis cartoon is that it is perfect for children. So if you have any youngsters out there, pick this up for and watch 'em smile. SCOOBY DOOBY DOO!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2005
Alright. I admit that I do like Scooby Doo and Batman. So I am probably biased. Now ofcourse, this movie isn't for you if you don't like Scooby Doo or Batman. That said, this video/dvd is excellent! Granted, it's not so much a movie. Rather, it is 2 stories that have a double episode length. The 1st story revolves around Scooby and the gang being in the wrong place at the wrong time while Joker and Penguin have kidnapped a scientist and want to steal one of his inventions. But ofcourse, Batman and Robin soon come on the seen. The best thing I can say about this is that Scooby and the gang DO NOT step over Batman and Robin. Rather, the story is well balanced so that they actually compliment each other. Joker and Penguin are ofcourse up to no good, but they carry a charm that makes them not only entertaining, but at times even likable. And the scientist adds some more laughs with his unusual speech. And with all the laughs, the suspense is there. Onto the second story. It is a little weaker than the first, but it still carries an acceptable amount of suspense and laughs. This 2nd story revolves around Batman and Robin trying to uncover a counterfeiting operation. The batmobile gets stolen, and Batman and Robin are lead to a funhouse where Joker and Penguin have some surprises waiting for them. Interestingly, the way Batman is portrayed in this video is not so far away from the way Adam West played him. My advice is that if you are a Scooby fan, a Batman fan, or a fan of both, this is an absolute MUST HAVE!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2007
The idea of Batman being with Scooby just fascinated my daughter from the time she was 2. She would sit and watch that movie over and over. When she got a little older she would go play Scooby Doo meets Batman with her toys. We went through 4 videos of this movie. Now we have it on DVD. She's 7 now and it is still her absolute favorite movie of all times.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
I love Hanna-Barbera. in the 1970's they created "New Scooby Doo Movies" which blended Scooby and the gang with other characters for mystery adventure. This features two episodes of their Batman adventure. Features Super Friend's characters Batman and Robin, taking on the Joker and Penguin. Great fun for kids, great nostalgia for parents. Worth the price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2016
My 5 year old nephew was pretty excited to receive Scooby-Doo meets batman for his birthday. He loves Batman and ScoobyDoo and Im sure this movie brings them together in a fun way. I have not watched it, but my sister in law said it was a good flick.
If you found my review helpful, please click YES!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2016
Scooby was a favorite of mine, I exposed my granddaughter to him and she loved it , Leary of bat man at first she immediately loved Scooby and shaggy, Casey kasem is the shaggy voice in this great Saturday morning gem, this is timeless cartoon entertainment,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2016
Scooby doo meets batman are some of the better new scooby doo mysteries in terms of animation, sound effect quality, and keeping the characters on model. These two episodes actually live up to the scooby meets harlem globetrotters standard of excellent jokes that leads to many laughs though i do admit not a single episode can beat the hilarity of the globetrotters lochness monster episode. Watch the funhouse shenanigans, listen to the puns, and enjoy scooby's adventures with the caped crusader. P.S. What's the deal? Shaggy tells the gang about this cave he saw on their way to the campout area. Shaggy thinks the villains' hideout could be in there. They check it out. Fred says no one in their right mind would hide in there. Shaggy says i would. Then fred says like i said anyone in their right mind would not hide out here. Fred and the girls start to leave. Shaggy finds a secret passage in the cave that leads to their hiding place. Fred says come on guys follow me. Why doesn't he apologize to shaggy? Whatever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2016
...but I enjoyed the campy humor. Not everything needs to be serious. Also be sure to look for this line: "We'll never catch him... he's on a unicycle!" As a unicyclist that is now part of my lexicon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2014
These episodes are as gloriously awful as you remember from the 1970s, with bad jokes and endless chase scenes and constantly shifting coloring mistakes on Batman and Robin's costumes. And my 5-year-old son - a big fan of Scooby Doo and Batman, both - loved it as much as I did four decades ago.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse