Customer Reviews


328 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (68)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie for young and old!
As a father of five children, many children's movies are very boring to me. This movie has humor for young and old alike. It was funny, entertaining, and held the attention of me and my children alike. Though not a perfect movie (and what movie is), it is simply a good movie especially for Scooby-Doo fans.
Published on September 21, 2002 by B. Mook

versus
26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Expect Too Much & You'll Enjoy It As Mindless Fluff
The key to enjoying SCOOBY DOO is not to expect too much. The producers have billed the film as half hommage, half parody; in truth, it isn't really close enough to the original cartoon to be called hommage and it really doesn't go far enough to be called parody, and as usual Hollywood makes the mistake of trying to cover up the script's inadequacies with big-budget...
Published on October 28, 2002 by Gary F. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie for young and old!, September 21, 2002
By 
B. Mook "Hans" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
As a father of five children, many children's movies are very boring to me. This movie has humor for young and old alike. It was funny, entertaining, and held the attention of me and my children alike. Though not a perfect movie (and what movie is), it is simply a good movie especially for Scooby-Doo fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Expect Too Much & You'll Enjoy It As Mindless Fluff, October 28, 2002
The key to enjoying SCOOBY DOO is not to expect too much. The producers have billed the film as half hommage, half parody; in truth, it isn't really close enough to the original cartoon to be called hommage and it really doesn't go far enough to be called parody, and as usual Hollywood makes the mistake of trying to cover up the script's inadequacies with big-budget production values and expensive but actually so-so special effects. All the same, the film does have its moments. The story finds Fred, Daphne, Velma, and Shaggy splitting up due to ego conflicts--and then being unexpectedly reunited when the owner of a teen resort called "Spooky Island" invites them in to find out why his guests arrive as normal teens and then depart as, well, ZOMBIES.
The script is fairly mundane, but it does have a few zingers, as when Velma says "Let's get jinky with it!" And although the cast is a mixed bag, they work hard to bring it off. Freddie Prinze is wildly miscast as Fred and Sarah Michelle Gellar is not an ideal Daphne, but they play with tremendous energy; Matthew Lillard and Linda Cardellini, however, are so dead on target with their performances that they create an amazing sense of deja vu. As for Scooby Doo, he is (of course) a computerized animation. And so are most of the monsters the gang encounters on Spooky Island. Although it works reasonably well, it isn't anything to write home about.
I would recommend that parents preview the film before unleashing it upon their kids; some younger children may be unnerved by the monsters. The DVD comes with a number of extras that include some cut scenes--and they offer an interesting contrast with the film, for they are very satirical. Seeing them left me with the feeling that the film would have been much more entertaining if those scenes had been left in and the whole thing had been done with the same bite. As it is--SCOOBY DOO is neither a great film nor a memorable film. But we're all occasionally in the mood for some mindless fluff, and it fills that niche very well indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go Scooby!, November 8, 2002
I don't understand why all the critics were so hard on this movie. I thought it was one of the best movies I saw all year. The movie is cartoonishly fun and doesn't take itself seriously unlike Spider-man.(Which was also excellent.)The movie was made to be a nostalgic good time. As a long time fan of the cartoon, I loved how they were able to recreate the cartoon characters without trying to change them. Oh sure, there's a bit of potty humor in it, but geez, this is the age we live in. Frankly, it wasn't nearly as bad as some other movies employing the same technique. It was quite mild. The cast was incredible. Sarah Michelle Gellar can play virtually any role she wants and make believable. She's great as Daphne. I couldn't believe how dead on Matthew Lilliard was as Shaggy, he even got the voice right! As for the all the people who dissed this movie for whatever reason, why don't you enjoy something for what it is, a light-hearted adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why is everyone giving this bad reviews?, April 22, 2004
To be honest, I was never the biggest fan of Scooby Doo. I used to watch it as a kid - and liked Daphne's whole look to be honest! (I like purple) But then they brought Scrappy Doo into the whole equasion, and almost booted Scooby out. Scooby or Scrappy? Scooby every time, there's really no contest.
Then this comes out. Some people are never really sure of original cartoon character being put into a computer, and coming out nothing like how they were - for instance, the Garfield movie that is coming out this summer. He TALKS. But I'll still want to see it.
There wasn't that much action in this, so that was quite disappointing. The humour was quite good, especially from the fabulous Matthew Lilliard as Shaggy. How good a choice was he for Shaggy?! Pure genius. The rest of the cast were great for Daphne, Fred & a relatively unknown Linda Cardellini for Velma - who looks totally different!
Maybe I wasn't getting some of this movie, but when all their inner spirits came out and swapped bodies etc, was it just me, or did Velma totally change?! Or was that supposed to be part of the story? Cos suddenly, she was still wearing that orange top, but it changed from a poloneck, into a V-neck, very low cut, and she had a pair to rival Daphne's! And then it changes back. Zoinks indeed!
And Sarah Michelle Gellar is just a tad too old to be playing Daphne. If you look closely in a couple of scenes, she is wearing way too much concealer under her eyes, to cover up any possible bags, which seems almost too light for the rest of her skin, and makes her look really gaunt in the process.
This is a good movie if you're a fan of Scooby Doo. The DVD has lots of extras, if you could work out how to get into them, without getting distracted by Scooby Doo messing about, and if you can get past the fact that Scooby's mouth doesn't match what he's saying (which some reviewers obviously can't), then you can sit back, relax, and enjoy. And maybe get drunk to understand it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Live Action Remake of the Cartoon!!, November 5, 2002
By 
The creators of the movie for Scooby Doo did a brilliant job of bringing Scooby Doo to life for the big screen. They did an even amazing job turning Scooby Doo into a computerized live action version to where Scooby is extremely realistic. As for the cast, I heard the rumors that everyone was basically disappointed. I wasn't I thought they picked the cast perfectly for the part. Sarah Michelle Gellar (Trying to forget about her Buffy character) did a great job playing the new aged Daphne, Matthew Lillard was the best part of the casting job as Shaggy!!! Linda Cardelini was beautifully transformed into the part of Velma, and as much as I love him Freddie Prince Jr. did an "okay" job of Fred. Not to mention one of my favorite actors and comedians Rowan Atkinson does a fabulous job in the film. Also for the Scrappy Doo lovers, you might be suprised, but definately not disappointed. The movie is upgraded to be in "the now." And the background and sets are truly amazing and like a animated cartoon version for a live action movie. There is quite a bit of adult humor, but still makes if fun for young kids. I would think the film is great for ages 13 and up. But I think kids and adults will enjoy this movie from the cartoon and lovers of Scooby Doo. It does get silly in a bit parts and slow, so in that retrospect it might be dull to some. But the plot and the charaterizations performed by the cast did a brilliant job.
As for the DVD I would give that an A. I loved all the extra's on the DVD. From the never seen before footage, behind the scene's documentary, an interactive triva game, Commentary from the cast and filmakers and much much more. I also loved navigating the DVD with the 3D-ish style of a cartoon and with Scooby running back and forth.
All in All the movie would be about a C + - B +
And the DVD Itself: A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A smart, witty sendup of the old "Scooby Doo" cartoons..., September 5, 2002
By 
Robert W. Berg "Rob" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Did he just write the words 'smart' and 'witty' in reference to the new 'Scooby Doo' movie?" you might ask. Well, yes I just did! I saw this film in the movie theatre on a blind date, and we both had a great time...and mind you, we went at a matinee on a Sunday. The theatre was swarming with kids, and you know what? Still had a good time.
The film's greatest strengths lie in its screenplay and in its amazing cast. The screenplay wisely spoofs the "Scooby Doo" cartoon gently, while at the same time paying loving homage to it. This is not a mean parody, but obviously the work of a writer who understood "Scooby" and, as a fan, is better able to crack jokes about everything from the purported drug subtext to the detestable Scrappy Doo. A "Scooby" project that will actually admit what a horrible creature Scrappy is...well, you just have to respect that. No, this movie does not have a deep plot...but, IT'S SCOOBY DOO! IT'S NOT SUPPOSED TO! How many "Scooby" cartoons have you seen that have changed your life? Ummm? Did you just say "None"? Now, you get the point!
I will say that the film breaks the "Scooby" rule only in one area. The "surprise" ending where they reveal the identity of the bad guy...is actually a surprise. Which is really quite surprising in and of itself.
Now I have to rave about two particular cast members...Sarah Michelle Gellar and Matthew Lillard, who were so pitch-perfect in their respective renditions of Daphne and Shaggy that you would swear that the cartoon versions were ripped right off the animation cells and brought to life. SMG has proven her comedy chops and brilliant sense of timing in "Cruel Intentions," and on special comedic episodes of "Buffy." Well, this is her first full-out comedic role in a film that you'll actually want to see (I'm discounting "Simply Irresistable"...Ugh!), and she is a joy to watch. In one particularly great scene, she and Fred's souls switch bodies. Her jubilant expressions, when she, as Fred, touches Daphne's breasts, are an absolute riot. And there's Matthew Lillard, who captures all the sweetness, innocence, lovability and doltishness of Shaggy. He is not only funny but actually touching at times.
Freddie Prinze and the girl who played Velma are not quite as good...but they're more than passable.
The computer-animated Scooby, however, is wonderful. It perfectly mixes the look of a "real" dog with cartoonish expressions. In fact, from posters and TV commericals, I thought Scooby looked not so great, but when you see him in the movie for extended periods, he looks absolutley perfect. He is far better than most CGI I've seen in any film (leaves "Harry Potter"'s pathetic attempts at CGI in the dust), except for, perhaps, "Lord of the Rings."
With all of this said, I'm not sure how well this movie would play for someone who is not a fan of the cartoon or has just never seen it. The movie is very dependant on in-jokes, so my review is from the persepective of a Scooby-phile. If you are one, I promise you will dig this movie. If you aren't, you might still enjoy it, but not quite "get" all of it. I'd recommend a weekend spent watching reruns on the Cartoon Network before you watch this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scooby-Blu, September 21, 2007
This review is from: Scooby-Doo [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A fun adventure, every character was casted perfectly, you can see it when the gang is together, it feels like a group of friends. Now that it is in high def you can enjoy the small amount of special effects that Scooby-doo offers. Overall this is great family film for the growing high definition age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice adaptation, October 28, 2002
By 
A. White "venuskamal" (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I first heard that a live action Scooby Doo film was in the works and that it had Freddie Prinze Jr. attached to it, I thought I wouldn't go see it. But being such a huge Scooby fan, I bit the bullet and went and saw it anyway. To my surprise, the film was very good. They captured beautifully everything I loved about the series growing up. The chase scenes, danger-prone Daphne getting into trouble etc. Matt Lillard is the breakout star as he really became Shaggy in the film, from the voice to the laid-back, lanky movements. The actress who played Velma (can't remember her name) also did a fantastic job too. Freddie Prinze Jr. and Sarah Michelle Gellar weren't as bad as I thought they'd be. I didn't like Scooby's CG animated look too much, but I got past that with his cute antics and funny "reech ratterns." I also didn't like that Fred was portrayed as somewhat dim-witted. In the original series, he wasn't dim at all. Other than that, I really enjoyed this picture. Non Scooby fans may find it childish and stupid, but it is aimed at young kids. Most Scooby Doo fans will enjoy it but I think that non-fans can enjoy this film too, if they give it a chance. A co-worker who wansn't a big Scooby fan loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1960s TV toon gets the big screen treatment, August 4, 2005
A show like "Scooby-Doo" could only have originated in the 1960s. After all, who would buy a preppy ascot-wearing All-American boy hanging out with a brainy chick (outside of school finals), not to mention an obvious stoner and his Great Dane (Daphne was another story) to solve mysteries?

Of course, some network executive may think they've finally found the perfect show to follow FRIENDS on Must See TV so perhaps we should just move on?

With the success of live-action movies of popular cartoons such as ... "The Flinstones" and "Josie and the Pussycats" (hmmn, there really hasn't been a successful cartoon movie translation, has there?) it was only a matter of time before one of the most beloved cartoon characters got the big screen treatment.

The whole Mystery Inc. gang is here: Fred (Freddie Prinze Jr. who will no doubt get the last laugh on those "Spider-Man" directors for casting Tobey Maguire in the lead role instead) Daphne (Sarah Michelle Geller), Velma (Linda Cardelini), Shaggy (Matthew Lillard) and of course, Scooby-Doo.

Just like "Who Framed Roger Rabbit?" Scooby is completely computer generated, which allows him to be just as animated as he is in the cartoons.

Since the original source material wasn't exactly "CSI" or even "Murder She Wrote," the screenwriters had to create a little drama and tension to make the big screen adaptation last a little longer than the typical 30-minute episode.

A clash of egos leads Mystery Inc. to disband (Scooby sticks with his best-bud Shaggy since Velma may have been a whiz with mysteries but she was no great shakes in the kitchen) and for the next two years, enjoy life on their own.

The gang reunites at the bequest of millionaire Mondavarious (Mr. Bean's Rowan Atkinson), the owner of Spooky Island, a spring getaway for college students. Apparently someone is turning the kids into well-behaved members of society via a mass brainwashing. Well, one thing is for sure. It's not affiliated with MTV in any way.

The gang decides to work together one more time to get to the bottom of the mystery, but they all want to be the first one to crack the mystery while Shaggy and Scooby are simply interested in the all-you-can eat buffet promised by Mondavarious.

Call me a risk taker, but I'm gonna go out on a limb here and put my money on Velma.

Shaggy meets a girl (Isla Fisher) named Mary Jane - think about it for a second - who seems to be the ideal girl except for one thing ... she's allergic to dogs. And once again Mary Jane comes between yet another perfect partnership... but can Shaggy and the rest of Mystery Inc. get their act together in time to find the real culprit behind the crime?

The film has everything that Scooby fans young or old have come to love over the years from Shaggy and Scooby's rather unique eating habits to Daphne's penchant for always getting caught by the villain.

There's even a hilarious cameo appearance by Scrappy Doo, Scooby's scene-stealing mutt who thought he could take on every villain the gang encountered.

Fans of the cartoon will eat this up like a fresh batch of Scooby-snacks. Sorry, I'm trying to get a quote worked into the film's next run of commercials. It's a fun little film to enjoy some overpriced popcorn and hot dogs just promise you won't wince when you hear that famous line "And I would have gotten away with it too, if it wasn't for you meddling kids."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie for this long-time Scooby fan!, October 21, 2002
By 
Monty Moonlight (Austin, TX, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Scooby-Doo, the live-action movie, opens with the original gang solving one of their typical mysteries, the case of the Luna Ghost. Daphne has been kidnapped, Velma has a plan, Fred is giving orders, and Scooby and Shaggy are playing the fall guys. It's all very familiar, and hilarious to see in live-action, with all the physical gags of the cartoon! But when the case is solved and Fred takes the credit again, everyone (except Scooby and Shaggy) realizes how totally tired they are of the parts they play in Mysteries, Inc. Velma is tired of not getting any credit or attention, Daphne is tired of being the damsel in distress, and Fred is looking to expand his horizons on his favorite subject, himself. So, despite Scooby and Shaggy's protests, the group finally splits up after all these years.
One year later, the gang finds themselves bumping into each other at an airport on their way to an amusement park resort called Spooky Island. It seems they've all been invited by the owner, Mr. Mondavarious, to investigate the strange behavior of the college kids who visit and work there. At first, Velma, Freddie, and Daphne are frustrated about running into their old friends, each one determined to solve this mystery on their own, but in time those old feelings of friendship return as they work together as a team to do what they do best. And Shaggy and Scooby couldn't be happier at the reunion, though Shaggy's attentions are divided as he channels most of his energy into wooing a young lady named Mary Jane. Together, the gang overcomes many obstacles to discover the truth behind the strange goings on at Spooky Island, and what they discover in the end is something few would ever have suspected!
Scooby-Doo is a great movie! I've watched Scooby cartoons all my life, and found this movie to be tons of fun! But it's not for everyone! There are those certain Scooby fans who can't stand it when the supernatural events in a Scooby story turn out to be real instead of just a man in a mask. Well, if you're that type, you may not like this film, but then, maybe you will. See, in this movie the Mystery involves both the Supernatural, AND the villain in a mask routine! Then, believe it or not, there are those out there who are loyal fans of Scrappy-Doo! Well, if you love Scrappy, you will probably hate this movie, as it involves a lot of extreme Scrappy bashing. Yes, he's in this movie, and yes, he plays a major role (though with minimum screen time), but Scrappy is depicted in a very negative light. This was done mostly because so many fans hate Scrappy, but as I said, some people do love him. As for me, I like him okay, loved him as a kid, but I can go both ways on the subject now, and I can easily take a little Scrappy bashing so it didn't bother me. Now, the sets in this film are amazing! Very spooky and funny at the same time! As for the casting; perfect Shaggy, great (though much more attractive than the cartoon) Velma, gorgeous as always Sarah Michelle Gellar makes a perfect Daphne, and her new hubby (grrrr) Freddie Prince, Jr. does a sufficient job with Fred, a character that was never that great to begin with. I probably wouldn't have cast Freddie P. as Fred, since the voice isn't right and he doesn't look that much like him either, but he doesn't hurt the film at all. It's not like Rosie O'Donnel trying to convince us she's Betty Rubble, ruining what otherwise was a great Flintstone movie (oh, and the kids were too old in that one, but that's a whole other review). As for the CGI Scooby and Scrappy-Doo, well, they're obviously CGI, but they're still pretty good once you adjust your eyes and your mind to ignore that aspect. They just needed some better light and shadow work in a lot of their scenes. A lot of fans didn't like the look Scooby had, but I thought it was a great interpretation of Scooby as a "real" dog. I mean, that's a tricky thing to have to do. Overall, this is a FUN movie, that's the key word. Even my dad sat and watched all of this one, which was surprising. Of course, some people will just watch to see Sarah Michelle Gellar I suppose. I should also point out that Rowan Atkinson (Mr. Bean) plays Mr. Mondavarious, and gives one of his usual hilarious performances! The DVD is great by the way, with some nice behind the scenes stuff, and a great CAST commentary! Definitely a must own for fans of Scooby-Doo or cartoon movies in general (By the way, if you like this one be sure to get the Josie and the Pussycats live-action movie)! The deleted scenes on the Scooby-Doo DVD are really great, and most, if not all of them, would have been great to see in the actual film! Especially the wonderful animated opening! They truly should have left that one in! As for the sequels that were talked about so much on the commentary, I'm looking forward to them, but I better see Scooby-Dum in one of them, and please, no Scooby-Dum bashing! I love that guy! Dum dum dum duuummmmmm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Scooby-Doo: The Movie
Scooby-Doo: The Movie by Raja Gosnell
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.