Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Platform: PlayStation2|Change
Price:$64.87+ $3.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 28, 2002
This is the funnest Scooby-Doo game ever. You explore lots of haunted areas with most of the same classic villains from the cartoon. Easy moves and combos simple to learn. Everything about this game is great. I can't find anything wrong with it. It has a great storyline. Fred, Daphne, Velma, and Holly get lost inside a mansion. And Shaggy sees a box of Scooby Snacks nearby so he tries to get them out of the tree but he soon realizes its a trap door. So now it's up to you and Scooby to find the gang. Anything Scooby can do on the cartoon, you can do here. I love the sound effects. It sounds just like Fred Flintstone running when Scooby runs. And yes it does have a laugh track. When Scooby does something funny, the audience laughs. It even has Don Knotts.It has almost every character from the cartoon except Scrappy - the annoying little dog who has annoyed us all for years. It couldn't get any better than this.
Gameplay is spectacular. Controls are very simple. And it has all kinds of neat inventions that help Scooby survive through all the haunted scary areas of the game. For instance, if you get the springs invention you can do a super-jump by doing something as simple as pressing X twice. And you can disguise yourself as a lamp by holding R2 when a monster is nearby. Also you can hold R2 + directional buttons for bunny slippers that enable you to sneak which is needed in occasions like Caveman being frozen in ice but if you make any sudden movements or noises around him he will break free.
Shaggy, Don Knotts as The Groundskeeper, Holly, and others can be found alot through certain areas in the game and help out alot. For example the sharp hedges cannot be walked on so Shaggy will appear in a tractor to ride you across them. This game has alot of neat iventions and fun things in it. Its family fun as well. The parents remember waking up on Saturday morning to watch Scooby-Doo as well as the kids watch the most up-to-date Scooby-Doo movies and adventures. Its up there with Jak and Daxter alright. Overall this is one of this year's greatest games and is not one to be missed for anyone who loves cartoons and games.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2002
My 4-year-old, who is already the world's biggest Scooby-Doo fan, gives this a hearty thumbs-up. It's a fun game for both father and son. The action's pretty good, a standard platformer, nothing innovative, but not a bad one either. The greatest part is the faithfulness to the source material. It's a real Saturday morning nostalgia blast for '70s kids with the real voices of the actors, very expressive animation and the villains from the show's original run. There's even a cameo appearance from Don Knotts as the groundskeeper! And the best part? No Scrappy Doo. Not even Scooby Dum -- unless there's a Gameshark cheat I don't know about. :) Anyway, lots of fun for little ones, probably a little hard without some grown-up help, but not that tough. Doesn't appear to be too huge, but there is probably some replayability for Scooby fans young and old.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2002
I must say being a Scooby Doo fan since before I was old enough to walk; I was a little sceptical of this game. I honestly thought that it would be some little kiddy game and do Scooby and "the gang" no justice. Boy was I wrong. The game was so very similar to the cartoon which is GREAT!!! In this game Fred, Velma, Daphne and her friend Holly get kidnapped by the evil villian "The Mastermind". Meanwhile Shaggy falls into a trap bated with nothing else but "Scooby Snacks". So Scooby is now alone and on a journey to save his friends and unmask the MASTERMIND! Along the way he meets up with old friend Don Knotts and encounters many of the villians from his past. (ie Redbeard, The Tar Monster, and the Space Kook) But have no fear when Scooby really needs a hand Shaggy seems to appear with the solution. He's always there to help his best pal Scoob! Along with a great story line the graphics and effects are great! Scooby finds many inventions that help him along the way. The game isn't extremely easy, yet it's not too hard. It's a great clean game for kids and a fun entertaining game for adults (us big kids at heart)! I thoughouly enjoy this game and I reccomend that Scooby fans or not, young or old pick up this game! You will be suprised Believe me!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2002
This is a great adaptation of the cartoon Scooby. It brings the cartoon to life, and puts the control in your hands.
The intro "bridge" video almost put me off, because it looked like they had used a cheesy 3-D modelling system to make the game. But once you get into the actual play mode, it's great. The character control is very smooth, and the animation is right on-target. I occasionally went through the same sequence several times just because it was fun to watch it happen on the screen.
Age-wise, you can start about as young as you want - though the players under about 6 or 7 will need some help on some sequences that require both speed and timing (and reading) to get through. They put the "horror" warning on this entry, but it's all along the lines of the cartoon.
I wouldn't put a maximum age on it. It's not a real difficult game, but there's plenty enough content to it for more experienced players: Fun adventure, neat gadgets, and humor. Almost anyone will have fun with it.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2005
If you are looking for a great, easy and entertaining game for ALL ages...this is it!!! I am a video game challenged MOM and I am also extremely careful of what my 4 1/2 year old is exposed to. I bought "Mystery Mayhem" first and LOVED it. We recently bought "Night of 100 Frights" and have a hard time not taking it over after giving a little "help". This is a perfect game for everyone in the family (including Moms). It helps to improve eye-hand coordination, following directions, concentration and paying attention....not to mention there is not a lot of violence and blood and guts!!! It's Scooby-Doo! You can't go wrong with this one! - Choosy Moms Choose Scooby-Doo!!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2003
I bought this game for my 5 year old daughter. It's easy enough for her to succeed at most of the levels, but clever and fun enough for adults. I recommend it to anyone with young children who like Scooby-Doo, and to adult fans of the show, too!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2002
I have been looking forward to this game for the past 3 months, and let me tell you I am not disappointed. Scooby Doo: Night Of 100 Frights is one of the best platform games available for PS2. Yes it is up there with Jak and Daxter. The graphics are excellent and this is with out a doubt the best cartoon based game I have seen. It easily tops Simpsons Road Rage. But the part I find most enjoyable is that it feels like an authentic Scooby Doo episode. The voices for all the characters are great and even though the humor is aimed towards young audiences it will definently get some laughs from adults. I am 19 and I find this game hilarious. All the characters are true to there attitudes in the show. I will admit that even though most of the game is aimed towards young audiences there is still a lot in the game that will even be challenging to experienced gamers. Oh and this game is not short, so don't think you'll finish it quick and easy. I strongly recommend this game to any Scooby fan and any Platform genre fans.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2002
... This is one of the best games for PS2. Yes it's up there with "Jak and Daxter". And it's one of the only PS2 games that have commercials this summer. It follows the storyline of the original Scooby-Doo and some of the same villains from the show. It even has a laugh track when Scooby does something funny. This is one of the few fun and not-to-serious games for PS2 this year. If you like Jak and Daxter or Crash Bandicoot, trust me, you will be absolutely crazy about this game.
Gameplay: 9/10
Graphics: 10/10
Sound: 8/10
Difficulty: Normal
Concept: 8/10
Multiplayer: N/A
Overall: 8/10
Don't miss this game you will be sorry. Oh yeah and I forgot to mention its from THQ (if you have one of their games then you know what i mean). Trust me I wouldn't tell you this if I didn't mean it. This is worth your [money].
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon November 23, 2005
Once again, Scooby-Doo and the rest of the Mystery Inc. gang have been called upon to solve a bizarre mystery in a spooky place. Daphne's long-time friend, Holly, desperately needs their help. Very strange things have been happening in and around her family home, Mystic Manor. Holly's uncle, the famous inventor Professor Alexander Graham, lives in the mansion, which overlooks a small fishing village. The people from the village have all packed up their belongings and left town, because the whole area has been completely taken over by MONSTERS. Ack! Worst of all, Professor Graham has mysteriously disappeared without a trace.

Scooby-Doo: Night of 100 Frights has dozens of levels within the Mystic Manor, outside on the grounds, and in the fishing village. Those familiar with Scooby-Doo will get a kick out of the familiar monsters seen in the TV shows: the zombie ("It's a rombie!"), the Black Night, crazy space kooks, scarecrows, the green witch, Redbeard the Pirate, and more.

It's amazing at just how extensive this game is. There are levels out on the water, on ships, in hedge mazes, on mountains, in secret passages, on piers, within various rooms in Mystic Manor, etc. You can swing from chandeliers (and see the flames flicker out in wisps of smoke!), jump holes in the floor, smash items for Scooby snacks (which help with courage!), navigate conveyer belts (very tricky!), maneuver on moving objects and so on. You can also get cool power ups like rubber boots (which helps Scooby walk across sticky surfaces), helmets (which helps you head smash enemies or break through barries), plunger/suction cups (which help on slippery surfaces), an umbrella (to float long distances and catch updrafts) and more.

Along the way, you can collect monster tokens which will unlock something special in the Monster Gallery.

The great thing about this game is that you can access a map and go to places you've been before through a Warp Gate. Scooby and the Gang look realistic, as does the villians and landscape. It's like playing an episode of Scooby-Doo in many respects!

However, many parts are downright difficult. When I was trying to navigate Scooby on a series of ship masts, it took me HOURS to get through the maze. I had to land on a particular mast JUST right in order to get to the next one. I've been stuck at 75% for well over a year now because even though I can paralyze a space kook with bubble gum, allowing me to jump on its head in order to get to higher places, I simply CANNOT get the correct angle to jump on an overhead plank to grasp the chandeliers to free the keys. (Whew!). Because a lot of the game play is unforgiving, it becomes frustrating to play after awhile. Had Night of 100 Frights been a *bit* easier, I would have given it 5 stars.

If you're a fan of Scooby-Doo and love free-roaming game play, Night of 100 Frights has massive levels with great graphics and hours upon hours of game play. Just know that if you're the type that doesn't use cheats (like me) you may become very frustrated at some levels. I'd love to finish the level I'm on so I can proceed to the end of the game, but after a year of trying on and off, I don't think I'll ever make it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2002
This is definately one of the better, or should I say best games for Playstation 2 so far!! THQ does a fantastic job of bringing the original characters to life, voices, laugh tracks and more! You also hear famous voices like Don Knotts, just like in the original Scooby Doo cartoon!
This is not an "easy" game nor is it a difficult game to the point where you get frustrated, it's just a fun game for everyone! Whether you are a Scooby Doo fan or not, you will thoroughly enjoy playing this game! It's loads of fun for everyone!!! Go Scooby!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.