Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Scooby-Doo: The Movie
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro Adele

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The key to enjoying SCOOBY DOO is not to expect too much. The producers have billed the film as half hommage, half parody; in truth, it isn't really close enough to the original cartoon to be called hommage and it really doesn't go far enough to be called parody, and as usual Hollywood makes the mistake of trying to cover up the script's inadequacies with big-budget production values and expensive but actually so-so special effects. All the same, the film does have its moments. The story finds Fred, Daphne, Velma, and Shaggy splitting up due to ego conflicts--and then being unexpectedly reunited when the owner of a teen resort called "Spooky Island" invites them in to find out why his guests arrive as normal teens and then depart as, well, ZOMBIES.
The script is fairly mundane, but it does have a few zingers, as when Velma says "Let's get jinky with it!" And although the cast is a mixed bag, they work hard to bring it off. Freddie Prinze is wildly miscast as Fred and Sarah Michelle Gellar is not an ideal Daphne, but they play with tremendous energy; Matthew Lillard and Linda Cardellini, however, are so dead on target with their performances that they create an amazing sense of deja vu. As for Scooby Doo, he is (of course) a computerized animation. And so are most of the monsters the gang encounters on Spooky Island. Although it works reasonably well, it isn't anything to write home about.
I would recommend that parents preview the film before unleashing it upon their kids; some younger children may be unnerved by the monsters. The DVD comes with a number of extras that include some cut scenes--and they offer an interesting contrast with the film, for they are very satirical. Seeing them left me with the feeling that the film would have been much more entertaining if those scenes had been left in and the whole thing had been done with the same bite. As it is--SCOOBY DOO is neither a great film nor a memorable film. But we're all occasionally in the mood for some mindless fluff, and it fills that niche very well indeed.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2002
The creators of the movie for Scooby Doo did a brilliant job of bringing Scooby Doo to life for the big screen. They did an even amazing job turning Scooby Doo into a computerized live action version to where Scooby is extremely realistic. As for the cast, I heard the rumors that everyone was basically disappointed. I wasn't I thought they picked the cast perfectly for the part. Sarah Michelle Gellar (Trying to forget about her Buffy character) did a great job playing the new aged Daphne, Matthew Lillard was the best part of the casting job as Shaggy!!! Linda Cardelini was beautifully transformed into the part of Velma, and as much as I love him Freddie Prince Jr. did an "okay" job of Fred. Not to mention one of my favorite actors and comedians Rowan Atkinson does a fabulous job in the film. Also for the Scrappy Doo lovers, you might be suprised, but definately not disappointed. The movie is upgraded to be in "the now." And the background and sets are truly amazing and like a animated cartoon version for a live action movie. There is quite a bit of adult humor, but still makes if fun for young kids. I would think the film is great for ages 13 and up. But I think kids and adults will enjoy this movie from the cartoon and lovers of Scooby Doo. It does get silly in a bit parts and slow, so in that retrospect it might be dull to some. But the plot and the charaterizations performed by the cast did a brilliant job.
As for the DVD I would give that an A. I loved all the extra's on the DVD. From the never seen before footage, behind the scene's documentary, an interactive triva game, Commentary from the cast and filmakers and much much more. I also loved navigating the DVD with the 3D-ish style of a cartoon and with Scooby running back and forth.
All in All the movie would be about a C + - B +
And the DVD Itself: A
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2004
To be honest, I was never the biggest fan of Scooby Doo. I used to watch it as a kid - and liked Daphne's whole look to be honest! (I like purple) But then they brought Scrappy Doo into the whole equasion, and almost booted Scooby out. Scooby or Scrappy? Scooby every time, there's really no contest.
Then this comes out. Some people are never really sure of original cartoon character being put into a computer, and coming out nothing like how they were - for instance, the Garfield movie that is coming out this summer. He TALKS. But I'll still want to see it.
There wasn't that much action in this, so that was quite disappointing. The humour was quite good, especially from the fabulous Matthew Lilliard as Shaggy. How good a choice was he for Shaggy?! Pure genius. The rest of the cast were great for Daphne, Fred & a relatively unknown Linda Cardellini for Velma - who looks totally different!
Maybe I wasn't getting some of this movie, but when all their inner spirits came out and swapped bodies etc, was it just me, or did Velma totally change?! Or was that supposed to be part of the story? Cos suddenly, she was still wearing that orange top, but it changed from a poloneck, into a V-neck, very low cut, and she had a pair to rival Daphne's! And then it changes back. Zoinks indeed!
And Sarah Michelle Gellar is just a tad too old to be playing Daphne. If you look closely in a couple of scenes, she is wearing way too much concealer under her eyes, to cover up any possible bags, which seems almost too light for the rest of her skin, and makes her look really gaunt in the process.
This is a good movie if you're a fan of Scooby Doo. The DVD has lots of extras, if you could work out how to get into them, without getting distracted by Scooby Doo messing about, and if you can get past the fact that Scooby's mouth doesn't match what he's saying (which some reviewers obviously can't), then you can sit back, relax, and enjoy. And maybe get drunk to understand it more.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2007
A fun adventure, every character was casted perfectly, you can see it when the gang is together, it feels like a group of friends. Now that it is in high def you can enjoy the small amount of special effects that Scooby-doo offers. Overall this is great family film for the growing high definition age.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 21, 2002
Scooby-Doo, the live-action movie, opens with the original gang solving one of their typical mysteries, the case of the Luna Ghost. Daphne has been kidnapped, Velma has a plan, Fred is giving orders, and Scooby and Shaggy are playing the fall guys. It's all very familiar, and hilarious to see in live-action, with all the physical gags of the cartoon! But when the case is solved and Fred takes the credit again, everyone (except Scooby and Shaggy) realizes how totally tired they are of the parts they play in Mysteries, Inc. Velma is tired of not getting any credit or attention, Daphne is tired of being the damsel in distress, and Fred is looking to expand his horizons on his favorite subject, himself. So, despite Scooby and Shaggy's protests, the group finally splits up after all these years.
One year later, the gang finds themselves bumping into each other at an airport on their way to an amusement park resort called Spooky Island. It seems they've all been invited by the owner, Mr. Mondavarious, to investigate the strange behavior of the college kids who visit and work there. At first, Velma, Freddie, and Daphne are frustrated about running into their old friends, each one determined to solve this mystery on their own, but in time those old feelings of friendship return as they work together as a team to do what they do best. And Shaggy and Scooby couldn't be happier at the reunion, though Shaggy's attentions are divided as he channels most of his energy into wooing a young lady named Mary Jane. Together, the gang overcomes many obstacles to discover the truth behind the strange goings on at Spooky Island, and what they discover in the end is something few would ever have suspected!
Scooby-Doo is a great movie! I've watched Scooby cartoons all my life, and found this movie to be tons of fun! But it's not for everyone! There are those certain Scooby fans who can't stand it when the supernatural events in a Scooby story turn out to be real instead of just a man in a mask. Well, if you're that type, you may not like this film, but then, maybe you will. See, in this movie the Mystery involves both the Supernatural, AND the villain in a mask routine! Then, believe it or not, there are those out there who are loyal fans of Scrappy-Doo! Well, if you love Scrappy, you will probably hate this movie, as it involves a lot of extreme Scrappy bashing. Yes, he's in this movie, and yes, he plays a major role (though with minimum screen time), but Scrappy is depicted in a very negative light. This was done mostly because so many fans hate Scrappy, but as I said, some people do love him. As for me, I like him okay, loved him as a kid, but I can go both ways on the subject now, and I can easily take a little Scrappy bashing so it didn't bother me. Now, the sets in this film are amazing! Very spooky and funny at the same time! As for the casting; perfect Shaggy, great (though much more attractive than the cartoon) Velma, gorgeous as always Sarah Michelle Gellar makes a perfect Daphne, and her new hubby (grrrr) Freddie Prince, Jr. does a sufficient job with Fred, a character that was never that great to begin with. I probably wouldn't have cast Freddie P. as Fred, since the voice isn't right and he doesn't look that much like him either, but he doesn't hurt the film at all. It's not like Rosie O'Donnel trying to convince us she's Betty Rubble, ruining what otherwise was a great Flintstone movie (oh, and the kids were too old in that one, but that's a whole other review). As for the CGI Scooby and Scrappy-Doo, well, they're obviously CGI, but they're still pretty good once you adjust your eyes and your mind to ignore that aspect. They just needed some better light and shadow work in a lot of their scenes. A lot of fans didn't like the look Scooby had, but I thought it was a great interpretation of Scooby as a "real" dog. I mean, that's a tricky thing to have to do. Overall, this is a FUN movie, that's the key word. Even my dad sat and watched all of this one, which was surprising. Of course, some people will just watch to see Sarah Michelle Gellar I suppose. I should also point out that Rowan Atkinson (Mr. Bean) plays Mr. Mondavarious, and gives one of his usual hilarious performances! The DVD is great by the way, with some nice behind the scenes stuff, and a great CAST commentary! Definitely a must own for fans of Scooby-Doo or cartoon movies in general (By the way, if you like this one be sure to get the Josie and the Pussycats live-action movie)! The deleted scenes on the Scooby-Doo DVD are really great, and most, if not all of them, would have been great to see in the actual film! Especially the wonderful animated opening! They truly should have left that one in! As for the sequels that were talked about so much on the commentary, I'm looking forward to them, but I better see Scooby-Dum in one of them, and please, no Scooby-Dum bashing! I love that guy! Dum dum dum duuummmmmm!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2013
Technically this is not a good movie but I love Scooby Doo and so do my kids (3 and 4). They loved seeing Scooby and the gang as real people. Scooby is still animated which is always strange but I guess there probably aren't many options for him in this kind of film. Really the best actor in this film is Matthew Lillard. He plays Shaggy and he literally IS Shaggy. To see him as Shaggy makes this movie worth it in itself. All and all the kids will love it but don't expect to be blown away.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2002
As a father of five children, many children's movies are very boring to me. This movie has humor for young and old alike. It was funny, entertaining, and held the attention of me and my children alike. Though not a perfect movie (and what movie is), it is simply a good movie especially for Scooby-Doo fans.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2015
OK, it's meant to entertain kids and coerce adults getting enhanced interrogation, and was not a strong contender for the "best movie" Oscar. The leading actors' performances weren't up to their level of the sequel, Scooby-Doo 2, but it was well cast for the Mystery Incorporated gang and there is some fun as the characters realize the stereotypical roles they each have portrayed in the cartoons. It's very loud with too much focus on special effects. Nice to see Rowan Atkinson even in a limited role. If you don't appreciate the animated "Scooby-Doo" character, you'll truly dislike this one as there is an even more annoying animated character called "Scrappy Doo" (you'll wish him a one-way trip to the animal shelter). If you dislike comedy about explosive emissions of bodily gasses, you won't like this one.

If the kids really want to see a Scooby-Doo movie in your presence, I'd recommend you jump over this one and watch "Scooby Doo 2" instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 23, 2013
I don't know why I buy silly movies like this from time to time, but I like the lunacy of Scooby-Doo [Blu-ray] film.

I'm a Buffy fan, so I had to see how Sarah Michelle Gellar handled the silliness. Professionally. Ditto Linda Cardellini, who had a tougher role: a beautiful woman playing an introverted nerd.

Freddie Prinze Jr. and Matthew Lillard, well, I hate them both. One is a doofus, the other a ham.

You decide.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2013
My 4yr old is a huge Scooby-Doo fan, but I believed this one was a little bit too mature for his age. He doesn't like the ghost in the beginning and I think some of the monsters in it may have caused the few nights he woke up and came to mommy & daddy's bed. Special effects were cool but I would recommend for older children.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.