Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good one!
I enjoyed this Scooby Doo. It is fast paced and entertaining. The animation continues to be top notch and there is no better voice cast. Our family enjoyed the Japanese setting and the story line.
However, it is another entry where the "monster" is real, albeit full of fantasy. I wish the makers of the new Scooby movies would stay with the "Pirates Ahoy" and "Loch...
Published on April 17, 2009 by D. Vance

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Witch's Ghost Remake w/ A Kung-Fu Twist
This Scooby film is an alright addition to the movie series, but it just didn't really have the same enjoyable feel as previous films. When you first see the gang in the movie the scene appears awkward due to the 3D backgrounds complimented with normal cartoon characters standing in front of them causing a white outline of the characters for a few minutes...
Published on April 15, 2009 by Chatham6304


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good one!, April 17, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed this Scooby Doo. It is fast paced and entertaining. The animation continues to be top notch and there is no better voice cast. Our family enjoyed the Japanese setting and the story line.
However, it is another entry where the "monster" is real, albeit full of fantasy. I wish the makers of the new Scooby movies would stay with the "Pirates Ahoy" and "Loch Ness" ideas, the traditional type of story where the bad guys are just people. I like the resolution that it gives kids.(No matter how improbable the solutions seem to be for adults!) And it IS what has made the Scooby Doo franchise so successful.
I would rate "Samurai Sword" as way better than the "Goblin King" which we disliked enough to give away, but not nearly as good as "Chill Out"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie for kids!, September 9, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My 3 year old and my 5 year old love this movie. Anything Scooby Doo is great by them! Buy this and you will probably laugh a few times with your kids. My son started Karate, this really gave him a smile when he saw Scooby and Shaggy doing karate like he does.

Won't let you down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scooby Dooby Dooooo, April 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Characters remain constant throughout scooby doo movies and we love seeing them through their scary adventures! I always love watching my son get excited about these tales because I know he wont have nightmares afterwards!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed, March 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My kids love scooby doo and this was a great deal. Great movies. Recommended for any scooby doo moms looking for videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daphne Rocks In This Release, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Daphne continues to evolve through the various incarnations of the Scooby story. I loved it that the live action Daphne in the theater movie Scooby-Doo (2002) showed us she had empowered herself from the early days when she had to be rescued all the time. Daphne in this release continues that development.
George Takei voices Old Man Samurai.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scooby-Doo and the Samuri Sword, May 22, 2009
By 
Gina (new south wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Scooby-doo and the samuri sword is a combination of futuristic technology and olden day legends. Scooby-doo and the gang travel to Japan for Daphane's martial arts competition. But it suddenly turns into a wild mystery, with alot of laughs, thanks to Shaggy, Scooby and the rest of the gang, plus others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Witch's Ghost Remake w/ A Kung-Fu Twist, April 15, 2009
This Scooby film is an alright addition to the movie series, but it just didn't really have the same enjoyable feel as previous films. When you first see the gang in the movie the scene appears awkward due to the 3D backgrounds complimented with normal cartoon characters standing in front of them causing a white outline of the characters for a few minutes.

After the beginning of the movie the gang go on a search for the sword of doom. The search and mystery are short due to the film then taking a similar (but much extended) ending to that of a previous Scooby-Doo film. Then Scooby and Shaggy train to become samurai so they can defeat the monster in a small sword fight. I wouldn't recomend this movie unless you don't really mind repeating plots, different animation techniques, or straight to the point conversations with little amusing side conversations as seen in What's New Scooby Doo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scooby Doo meets 1930's Pulp Fiction, December 25, 2013
Although set in Japan, this one is clearly inspired by the same kind of pulp adventure you'd find in an old Edgar Rice Burroughs story, or for more younger audiences, the Indiana Jones movies. Japan's culture is sort of mish-mashed here with chinese elements. The main villain is reminiscent of Fu Manchu while managing to avoiding the stereotype. It gets really pulpy when they gang goes to find this ancient temple hidden in a jungle which is guarded by a cannibal tribe (played for laughs, nothing scary for children). No they didn't leave Japan to get there either. The natives in that scene are straight out of the Amazon, and the temple is a merger of Mayan, Inca, and Aztec culture. I almost expected them to run into Nazis and dinosaurs (They don't its still a kids movie)! It is a strange anachronism, but clearly someone had a great love for the old adventure serials and decided to put Scooby Doo and the gang into them.

If you ever wondered what Scooby Doo meets Indiana Jones would look like, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scooby is Great, December 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just another addition to my collection of Scooby Doo Movies. The creators are doing a great job on these movies. Can't wait for another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Scooby Doo fun, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Classic Scooby and the gang comedy. My kids absolutely enjoy every single one of the animated Scooby Doo movies out. They don't seem to like the remakes all too much but can watch the animated over and over again. This one in particular is my sons favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Scooby-Doo & The Samurai Sword [Blu-ray]
Scooby-Doo & The Samurai Sword [Blu-ray] by Christopher Berkeley (Blu-ray - 2013)
$14.98 $6.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.