Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Scorpia (Alex Rider)
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eli Paperboy Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 16, 2005
At the end of Eagle Strike, Alex learns something about his father who died when Alex was a baby. He must find out the truth about his father's life and work so he is off to Venice to find a crime syndicate called Scorpia. This time he is on his own without any fancy gadgets or backup. When he meets Julia Rothman, one of the leaders of Scorpia, Alex is drawn into that criminal and terrorist world. He must decide what his future will be and reconcile what he learns about his father. If he joins them can he live with the consquences of the hideous attack Scorpia is planning on the city of London?

I listened to this book instead of reading it so I did not have the luxury of lingering slowly over the last few pages. The end of the book is an absolute shock. Horowitz is definitely writing these books with a bow to Ian Fleming. As a reader of the original Bond books, I was struck by how much the end of this novel echoed the ambiguous endings Fleming often used.

A set of Alex Rider books would make a great gift for a reader in your life.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2004
What a great book. this book had everything that the others had but just a little more. from the exciting start in the venice water ways to the grim, climatic end, this book can suck you into reading for hours at a time. i loved the book because of it's suspencful writting and brilliant action sequences. any fan of the other four novels in the series will be delighted with the quality of this new book. the only possible drawback to this book ( if any) is that it can travel a little slower than the previous ones. But even though it does the writting can still make that interesting.

i only wish that i hadn't read it quite so fast.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2006
This is Horowitz at his best and the story of Alex's life is finally explained. Have you ever wondered what it would be like to be a teenage spy? If you have, then this is the book for you. Alex Rider is a 14 year old boy who never knew his father. His uncle, John Rider, who worked for MI6, told him that his father died in a plane crash and had been training to be a spy all his life only Alex just didn't no it yet. One day, Alex's uncle dies while on a mission and Alex is contacted by MI6. Soon after, Alex is sent on a number of missions by MI6.

In Scorpia, Alex is contacted by an organization named Scorpia. Scorpia is an organization dedicated to the training of assassins. Alex is convinced to join this organization. He is sent to a school for assassins where he trains for missions. Scorpia is a very well written book because Anthony Horowitz describes what is happening very well, and pays attention to details. If you like action and adventure, you should read this book.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2007
Anthony Horowitz once again writes an incredible story and adds another chapter to the Alex Rider series. In this addition, our hero Alex must fight against the world's most powerful criminal organization to stop the murder of thousand of London's children, and himself. The book has many pages of intense action and suspense that makes every reader lose themselves in the book. It is definitely a page turner!

The story is mostly directed at teenage boys, but girls will like it too. The only people who would not like it is kids under the age of 10, since there are some parts that get a little too intense for that age group. If you like action and suspense, this book is just right for you. However, I do recommend reading the books before Scorpia in the series (Stormbreaker, Point Blank, Skeleton Key, and Eagle Strike). If you don't feel like reading all of the others, you wouldn't be too confused. But I highly recommend reading at least Eagle Strike, since a lot of the book is based off things that happen in it.

Overall I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars. The whole series (and Scorpia) are full of page turning action and wide-eyed suspense that will make readers beg for more!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2004
Scorpia starts like a whirlwind and only picks up speed as it spins toward a climax that will leave the reader hanging and begging for more.
Alex Rider travels to Venice on a school trip and discovers the Widow's Palace, Julia Rothman, and the truth about his father, John Rider.
Recruited by Scorpia, Alex must decide whether he wants to follow in his father's footsteps or create a destiny independent of MI6. But when he finds out what Scorpia has planned to unleash upon the schoolchildren of London, Alex knows he has little choice.
Children or adults, newcomers to the Alex Rider books or die-hard fans will absolutely devour this book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2005
The fifth book of the Alex Rider series, "Scorpia," by Anthony Horowitz has Alex Rider traveling to Venice with his friend, Tom, for a vacation. However, Alex also has another purpose for going there. Yassen Gregorovich, an assassin who has tried to kill Alex and supposedly knew Alex's father, told him just before Yassen died in "Eagle Strike" that Alex should "Go to Venice. Find Scorpia. And you will find your destiny." Alex is curious to find out what Scorpia is, so he eagerly accepted Tom's invitation. In Venice he finds his way to one of the leaders of Scorpia's house with a near deadly result. Despite this, Scorpia finds out who Alex is and for numerous reasons wants him to become one of their assassins. This unexpected turn of events begins "Scorpia," where Alex strives to find what Yassen means. Unfortunately, this discovery could very well cost Alex his life.

"Scorpia" was nothing like the Alex Rider Adventures before it. Whereas the other books had very similar plots, the plot in "Scorpia" was unpredictable and exciting. I thought the idea of having Alex join Scorpia made it much different than all of the other books. The climax of the book was breath- taking and after I finished the book, I found myself sweating. The ending was quite tragic if you are an Alex Rider fan, but only until you find out there is a next book in the series.

Reviewed by Seth Cassel for Flamingnet Book Reviews

Preteen and Young Adult Book Reviews

[...]
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2004
This is another alex rider classic. I loved this book. from the exciting start to the grim ending this book will suck you in and you won't be able to stop. it's got great action sequences and also is a bit more thoughtful than the other four books in the series. the only thing that stops me from giving it 5 stars is the ending. i loved the ending but i hated it at the same time. apart from that this book is dinamite. I just wish it had been longer so i could still be reading it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2005
I have always been a fan of action packed, violent books, but this book sent me over the top. Scorpia is about Alex, a fourteen year old spy from England. He lost both of his parents in a "plane crash" when he was very young, and grew up with his uncle, a "banker". His Dad and Banker were actually spies, and Alex followes in their footsteps. He works with M16, and is very precocious in his spying abilities.

After seeing what really killed his father, Alex decides to join a criminal agency called Scorpia, betraying M16. Throughout the book, Alex is incorporated in various important missions, most of them being unilateral. Throughout all of the books, Alex is involved in many missions where he is by himself, saving the world single handedly. I think that this makes the books even more interesting, because Alex has no one backing him up.

If you have already read the books in the series writin before Scorpia, I definetly recommed reading Scorpia, because it explains questions that were going on in my mind throughout all of the books. For all of you action readers, this is the book for you. It's action packed, and a real pager turner. One night I planned to read for thirty minutes and ended up reading for two hours because I couldn't put the book down. So unless you don't like tons of violence, I definetly reccomend reading Anthony Horowitz's Scorpia.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2015
Anthony Horowitz is an absolutely EXCELLENT writer and this book was no exception. I wish that he would have made more movies from this series but unfortunately the actor that played Alex is now too old. I would recommend this writer to both teens and adults!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2007
Scorpia is a very good book from the Alex Rider collection which leads off from the best seller Eagle Strike, but the only way you can possibly like this book is if you like action packed/mystery books.

Alex Rider is the main character of Scorpia. Alex Rider is a teen spy. But when he finds out that that his father is an assassin for a terrorist group Scorpia, Alex's life falls apart. Now Scorpia wants him on their side and Alex doesn't have the will to stop them. Until he learns about Scorpia's newest plot operation "Invisible Sword" that will kill thousands of people. Can Alex stop the killing or will Scorpia prove that terror will rule this world.

The organization of Scorpia was formed in the eighties, at the end of the Cold War that had been fought for decades. Every government in the world had its own spies and assassins... all of them prepared to kill or die for their country. But many of them didn't know that at the end of the Cold war they would be without jobs, a number of them knew that that was exactly what they would do, They weren't needed anymore so they formed Scorpia.

Let me tell you about their client, maybe he is a visionary hoping for world peace or maybe he is crazy. Either way it doesn't matter he offered them a lot of money. To bring together Great Britain and the United States. So that they can work together as world power.

Can Scorpia pull of Invisible Sword or will Alex prove that terror can not rule the world.

NJ
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.