Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome release !
come on people. i dont get what problems you have with the price of this boxset. you get 6 master pieces of cinema history from CRITERION on bluray and DVD here. retail price = 120$ / 6 movies = 20 bucks each. thats what you pay @ B&N in a criterion sale for a single movie. and now you get these 6 movies for 65$ ... something is really wrong with people if you keep...
Published 3 months ago by blah^^

versus
7 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dual Format
It appears the price reflects the number of discs enclosed i.e.. Blu-ray and DVD format which is forcing us to buy both versions and makes the collection bulky to fit in my collection which is running out of space. I prefer the slim boxes and choice or either format rather than both. Criterion should reconsider their market when they package these new releases.
Published 4 months ago by Emmanuel Besa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome release !, December 25, 2013
This review is from: Martin Scorsese's World Cinema Project (Touki Bouki / Redes / A River Called Titas / Dry Summer / Trances / The Housemaid) (Criterion Collection) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
come on people. i dont get what problems you have with the price of this boxset. you get 6 master pieces of cinema history from CRITERION on bluray and DVD here. retail price = 120$ / 6 movies = 20 bucks each. thats what you pay @ B&N in a criterion sale for a single movie. and now you get these 6 movies for 65$ ... something is really wrong with people if you keep complaining about a price like this.

and if you hate the DVDs so much, sell them, give it to a friend that has no bluray player... doh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A worldwide blast, March 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Martin Scorsese's World Cinema Project (Touki Bouki / Redes / A River Called Titas / Dry Summer / Trances / The Housemaid) (Criterion Collection) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Once more m.Martin Scorsese AND criterion made possible to us to discover 6 greats movies that for some we probably never heard of in magnificent hd masters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MARTIN SCORSESE'S WPORLD CINEMA PROJECT, February 23, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Martin Scorsese's World Cinema Project (Touki Bouki / Redes / A River Called Titas / Dry Summer / Trances / The Housemaid) (Criterion Collection) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
What's not to love. Scorsese is a Master Director. He knows great cinema. The films were awesome. I love Criterion anything!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WAIT, THAT SOUNDS FAMILIAR, February 11, 2014
This review is from: Martin Scorsese's World Cinema Project (Touki Bouki / Redes / A River Called Titas / Dry Summer / Trances / The Housemaid) (Criterion Collection) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Below is the description of a Turkish film that, after all is said and done, sounds almost identical to JEAN DE FLORETTE and MANON DU SOURCE. I know that the films were made a few years later, but was DRY SUMMER based on the Pagnol novel? Anyone want to do some detective work for me?

DRY SUMMER Winner of the prestigious Golden Bear at the 1964 Berlin International Film Festival, Metin Erksan’s wallop of a melodrama concerns the machinations of an unrepentantly selfish tobacco farmer who builds a dam to prevent water from flowing downhill to nourish his neighbors’ crops. Alongside this tale of soul-devouring competition is one of overheated desire, as a love triangle develops between the farmer, his more decent brother, and the beautiful villager the latter takes as his bride, resulting in a Cain and Abel–like struggle. A benchmark of Turkish cinema, this is a visceral, innovatively shot and vibrantly acted depiction of the horrors of greed. 1964
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dual Format, December 20, 2013
By 
Emmanuel Besa (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Martin Scorsese's World Cinema Project (Touki Bouki / Redes / A River Called Titas / Dry Summer / Trances / The Housemaid) (Criterion Collection) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
It appears the price reflects the number of discs enclosed i.e.. Blu-ray and DVD format which is forcing us to buy both versions and makes the collection bulky to fit in my collection which is running out of space. I prefer the slim boxes and choice or either format rather than both. Criterion should reconsider their market when they package these new releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 72 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars $125 MSRP, REALLY?, December 11, 2013
This review is from: Martin Scorsese's World Cinema Project (Touki Bouki / Redes / A River Called Titas / Dry Summer / Trances / The Housemaid) (Criterion Collection) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Is not the MSRP a bit high on Martin Scorsese's World Cinema Project @3 BDs for $125? And this is for a set which does not appear to be extra-feature rich == no commentaries, no alternate/earlier films == perhaps (but hopefully not) less context than may be needed to better appreciate the films it contains.

The MSRP of $125 would really seem to want to be no more than $80 to be consistent with every other Criterion BD set, DVD set and the other recently announced combined BD/DVD releases. Here's just some examples...

1) 3 Films by Roberto Rossellini Starring Ingrid Bergman
4 BDs OR
5 DVDs
MSRP $100 ==
$25 / BD OR
$20 / DVD

2) Zatôichi: The Blind Swordsman
9 BDs AND 18 DVDs
MSRP $225
$25 / BD AND $12.50 / DVD

3) Investigation of a Citizen Above Suspicion
1 BD AND 2 DVDs
MSRP $40
$40 / BD AND $20 / DVD

And the same sort of pricing comparisons versus content would apply to every other Criterion release of individual titles or set of BDs and DVDs released or announced .....

So...

Martin Scorsese's World Cinema Project
3 BDs AND 6 DVDs
MSRP $125 just seems overpriced
$41.67 / BD AND $20.83 / DVD

Was this just a mistake? Or a trial balloon? Or were the costs to create the Martin Scorsese's World Cinema Project release unusually high? Criterion owes its loyal consumer base an explanation.

Obviously my rating is ONLY about the MSRP, not the content on the release. I've little doubt the films would rate 5 stars. Who am I to argue with Mr. Scorsese about worthy film choices?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 157 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars why not dvd or blu-ray, October 14, 2013
This review is from: Martin Scorsese's World Cinema Project (Touki Bouki / Redes / A River Called Titas / Dry Summer / Trances / The Housemaid) (Criterion Collection) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
the movies look great (not being realeased for two months). but I request option to buy dvd only or blu-ray only. c'mon criterion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9b4fa98)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.