Customer Reviews


238 Reviews
5 star:
 (162)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The nonpareil of elegance, in tape form
You are a person who cares about details. The normal Scotch® Magic(TM) Tape is fine for the hoi polloi. "Invisible tape" they call it, the deluded fools. But you can see its flaws, how it holds an air bubble, how it calls attention to itself with an ugly matte finish that makes anything below it look slightly washed out, faded like a painting left too long in a sunny...
Published on November 4, 2010 by J. Ott

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great tape, but much less quantity than you think.
I give the tape itself 5 stars -it is fantastic, and is really the best tape to use on wrapping paper, because it does a great job of disappearing. It is MUCH better, in fact, than the typical Scotch tape which can be removed and reused if not put on correctly --and which is not fully see through. Though that tape also does a great job when used for wrapping, the Satin...
Published on November 7, 2010 by Atomicwasteland


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The nonpareil of elegance, in tape form, November 4, 2010
By 
This review is from: Scotch(R) Gift Wrap Tape, 0.75 x 300 Inches, 3 Pack (311) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
You are a person who cares about details. The normal Scotch® Magic(TM) Tape is fine for the hoi polloi. "Invisible tape" they call it, the deluded fools. But you can see its flaws, how it holds an air bubble, how it calls attention to itself with an ugly matte finish that makes anything below it look slightly washed out, faded like a painting left too long in a sunny room.

You are a person who notices details. When you are wrapping a gift -- with wrapping paper that folds just so, without little crinkles -- when you are wrapping a gift you want the smooth lover's touch of satin against your fingers, a shiny surface that light will caress into a soft shine. It calls attention to itself only when the light walks ups to it, makes a graceful bow, and asks it to dance.

You are a person who pays attention to details. You like that this tape is determined "Photo Safe" according to the rigorous ISO Standard 14523. You won't be seeing your fingerprints outlined in dirt and grease, trapped like some ancient insect in amber. Yes, you might be frustrated that the dispenser leaves tiny lines where the tape meets the ledge with the jagged teeth and where it pulls out and away from the tight, perfect coil which 3M has so brilliantly engineered. But you'll figure out this can be managed with skillful snips from a sharp set of scissors.

The details are important to you. Is it Scotch® GiftWrap Tape or Scotch® Giftwrap Tape? The packaging says both. Perhaps 3M should hire you to proofread the names of their products, you think to yourself, with a congratulatory inner voice. You wouldn't let a detail like that slip by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great tape, but much less quantity than you think., November 7, 2010
By 
Atomicwasteland (Rockville, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Scotch(R) Gift Wrap Tape, 0.75 x 300 Inches, 3 Pack (311) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I give the tape itself 5 stars -it is fantastic, and is really the best tape to use on wrapping paper, because it does a great job of disappearing. It is MUCH better, in fact, than the typical Scotch tape which can be removed and reused if not put on correctly --and which is not fully see through. Though that tape also does a great job when used for wrapping, the Satin Finish tape is better.

The only problem I had is that I was really surprised at how little tape came on each of these three rolls; it was ridiculous. I had a "regular" single roll of Scotch Satin Tape and the tape on THAT roll was at LEAST three times the diameter of the tape on each of these 3-pack rolls. So, the bottom line is that these three rolls of tape seem to have less tape than a single roll of the regular sized Scotch Satin Tape. Basically if you like to have more rolls of tape lying around (for example, useful if other people are helping you wrap) AND the three rolls are cheaper, together, than a single roll, then go for the three rolls. If, however, you like having less clutter, less wasting of resources (more plastic going into the garbage), and NOT running out of tape in the middle of wrapping, go for the single roll. (The single roll also has the advantage of having a stronger case -and is sealed on both the front and the back.

You can't go wrong with the quality of this product, just with the amount of waste, and the amount of tape you get for your money.

Recommended as a single roll. Not recommended as a three pack unless multiple people are wrapping at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for product, two stars for value and description of this particular item, November 23, 2010
By 
JB (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scotch(R) Gift Wrap Tape, 0.75 x 300 Inches, 3 Pack (311) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Scotch Gift tape is a great product for its intended purpose - wrapping gifts. The tape is much less noticeable on typical gift wrap than either Scotch Magic Tape (which is a bit too matte for this purpose) or shiny generic tapes.

But I have to mark down this particular product down because the amount of product given is so stingy. Each roll only has 300 inches of tape - compare this to a a Scotch Magic Tape refill that I had sitting in my cabinet that was 1296 inches long. And I dislike the fact that the product description on Amazon says nothing about how much tape is included, so you won't realize the issue until you get your order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly different, October 30, 2010
This review is from: Scotch(R) Gift Wrap Tape, 0.75 x 300 Inches, 3 Pack (311) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The tape - at first I wondered: "How can this be different?". The answer is rather subtle ... the tape has a strong backing with a semi-gloss (satin if you will) finish. For a "tape collector" I guess it is slightly between "magic" and clear tape.

* Not a big deal to me and most people, but hey different strokes for different folks.

Also it is considered "photo safe" I guess that means it won't yellow over time like tape from the 70s does/has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STICKTOITTIVENESS PLUS, November 27, 2010
This review is from: Scotch(R) Gift Wrap Tape, 0.75 x 300 Inches, 3 Pack (311) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
We've long been fans of Scotch brand products - always finding them dependable. The same is true of this Scotch Gift Wrap Tape. It's that time of year again and we've made good use of this already. It holds wrapping securely yet is transparent enough not to spoil the colorful paper.

We also use it to cover addresses on parcels to be mailed, knowing it will protect the ink even if the packages are caught in a wet blizzard.

The holidays aren't the only times this tape comes in handy as we've used it to repair torn pages in a notebook, by doubling it we've used it to attach To-From cards and, believe it or not, in a real hurry it held the torn hem of a skirt.

You never know what it might be used for next - only that you'd better have some on hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does its job, and does it well, November 18, 2010
By 
RedReplicant (Charlottesville, VA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Scotch(R) Gift Wrap Tape, 0.75 x 300 Inches, 3 Pack (311) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
"Invisible" is pretty typical of tape marketing, and I think consumers have come to expect some degree of transparency from tape, but we're still far from the disappearing act suggested by Scotch and other tape brands. That being said, this tape comes as close as I think we can reasonably expect. It's specifically intended for gift wrap, and the "satin" finish matches very closely to the finish on most of my wrapping papers, making it much less jarring and obvious when the present is all taped up and ready to go. As most Scotch brand tapes are, this tape is very sturdy and doesn't tear vertically like some of the cheaper tapes. It feels thick and it's very satisfying to use.

The only thing I don't really like about the tape is the dispenser. It's a standard size, but it feels too small for the thickness of the tape and it was very easy to accidentally pop the tape roll out of the roller. It was also easy to get back in, but I'm not going to refill this dispenser so I'd prefer if the roll stayed put.

All in all a good, dependable product and a welcome addition to the present-wrapping box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The right tape for gift wrap, November 8, 2010
This review is from: Scotch(R) Gift Wrap Tape, 0.75 x 300 Inches, 3 Pack (311) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
While the glossy tape that I use at the office is good for keeping things together, it shows up very easily on gift wrap, being all shiny. The matte or satin finsh on this is perfect for gifts.. doesnt attract or reflect light, so that you see the wrapping paper and not the tape. Very simple and it works.

Con: this type of tape is really for gift wrapping and isnt as attractive for normal everyday use, but it can be used as such. Get both scotch gift tape and scotch regualr tape and you will have the right tape for the right occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Faithful, November 7, 2010
This review is from: Scotch(R) Gift Wrap Tape, 0.75 x 300 Inches, 3 Pack (311) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I'm not real sure what I'm supposed to say about this stuff in a review. I mean, is there anybody in the United States who isn't familiar with Scotch tape? It's the grand daddy of all cellophane tapes, and this gift wrap tape just adds a couple features that make Scotch tape better and better. First, it's a handy three pack, just in time for Christmas and assuring even the biggest of gift givers enough tape to wrap everything. Then, there's the satin finish, which becomes darn near invisible on patterned paper, and pretty close to that on everything else. Finally, it sticks. This is a great product, and I don't see how I couldn't give it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this stuff!, October 28, 2010
By 
csm (The great Midwest!) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Scotch(R) Gift Wrap Tape, 0.75 x 300 Inches, 3 Pack (311) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This stuff is fantastic. If you love wrapping packages that have that "Ooh, how did you do that without the tape showing" look, be SURE to grab this stuff! Been buying it for years and have used it as a professional wrapping staple since it was introduced. Lasts forever, is a great 3/4" wide so it covers those larger package ends. Great quality, MADE IN THE USA!, highly, highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Scotch product, December 18, 2013
This review is from: Scotch(R) Gift Wrap Tape, 0.75 x 300 Inches, 3 Pack (311) (Office Product)
Every single piece rolled back on itself. I have never had such a frustrating experience with tape. Sticking to the regular stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9a6629b4)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.