Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "My name is Renee, and I'm a Scottaholic!!"
Scott Pilgrim vol. 1's biggest problem was that it ended too soon...! Well, here's vol. 2 to help sate your mad little appetites! Now, finally, after all those agonizing months of waiting, we can all clutch a copy of Scott Pilgrim vol. 2 in our grubby little hands!

For all you new readers out there, Scott Pilgrim is a series about Scott, a twentysomething...
Published on July 1, 2005 by Renee

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny but head-scratching!
While I enjoyed the first book better Scott Pilgrim is still funny stuff. I clearly am not the age group for this book, as I didn't get some of the references, but I still enjoyed it. The plot was a little too spacey as opposed to the more straight forward tale in the last book. No matter what, I'm curious as to how Scott deals with all these evil exes.
Published on September 11, 2012 by S. Penrose


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "My name is Renee, and I'm a Scottaholic!!", July 1, 2005
By 
Renee (Arkansas, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 2: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (Paperback)
Scott Pilgrim vol. 1's biggest problem was that it ended too soon...! Well, here's vol. 2 to help sate your mad little appetites! Now, finally, after all those agonizing months of waiting, we can all clutch a copy of Scott Pilgrim vol. 2 in our grubby little hands!

For all you new readers out there, Scott Pilgrim is a series about Scott, a twentysomething slacker-type, and his romantic foibles. Will he be able to defeat his dream girl's seven evil ex-boyfriends and keep his claim on her heart? And what about Scott's high-schooler girlfriend, and the mysterious "Gideon?" Joined by a cast of likable and unique characters, will Scott be able to deal with the burdens of life and lost love and do what's best for his "precious little life?"

Oh BOY, can I be cheesy. But anyway...

This volume starts off with some back story on Scott, and Kim's character is especially given a lot of attention. Learning about Kim's character is one of my favorite parts of the book, and it's great to see that the background characters have as much personality as the title character. Learning more about each of the characters is definitely what I look forward to in each new volume. While the story might be interesting alone in its basic premise (boy fights dream girl's seven evil ex-boyfriends so he can date her), it would totally be easy for it to turn into a major snoozefest if the characters were zilch-o void-type personalities. What a relief that they're not! Each character is so individual from the way they look, dress, and speak... it's an absolute joy!

Another thing that's very notable about this series is the dialog... It's just so fun to read! Fear not the word baloons, reader... you need not skip them over! The whole thing reads so easily, naturally, believably that you can happily dig right into each oncoming page. If you're looking for something different than the outrageously contrived teen-speak seen in too many of today's books and film, you'll be pleasantly surprised by the honesty coming out of these characters' mouths... Every page will glide by so deliciously smoothly, you'll just absolutely devour this book!

More notable praise for this volume:
-easily navigable panel layouts... you won't get lost here!... it's so uncluttered and has great flow and timing!
-deceptively simple linework that provides for an endless spectrum of expression in the characters
-believable, honest emotion... these characters are *feeling*, folks!
-recipe-time! a how-to recipe incorporated right into the story a la "Scary Godmother!" learn how to cook somethin' while you're sittin' on your rump readin' comics? Why, that's absolute INSANITY!
-"fantasy-kung-fu-gamer-drama" -- a fun injection of absurd pop culture elements directly into the lives of the characters that somehow makes their lives seem more real and relatable to the reader

Some of the other major plot points in this volume include Scott's high-schooler girlfriend Knives in a bigger role, the arrival of 2 more of Ramona's evil ex-boyfriends, and more about Scott's mysterious ex. Also, a bunch of new characters are introduced that will definately play larger roles in the future.

And well... as for my biggest gripe about the book... just like the first volume, this second book is over way too soon! So many plot points are hinted at that there's so much to look forward to! It's just absolutely addictive! I can't wait for the next volume!

So, well, if you've been thinking about picking up this book... do it. There's something in it for everyone. Action, romance, comedy, drama, cool guys, cute girls, and chock fulla' crazy, this is definately one new graphic novel series to catch up on! So COME ON! Click on that lil' ol' "Add to Cart" button and snag yourself a copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scottaholics Unite!, September 1, 2006
By 
Andrew "Radaar" (Chicago, IL, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 2: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (Paperback)
The first volume in the Scott Pilgrim series introduced us to one of the most bizarre faux-anime concepts (and casts) ever conceived. Scott Pilgrim is the ultimate slacker: he is 23 years old, is between jobs, plays in a bad band, and was, until recently, dating a high school girl. He left the 17-year-old Knives Chau for the more age-appropriate Ramona Flowers, an Amazon.ca delivery girl. However, Scott soon learned that in order to keep dating Ramona, he would have to fight and defeat her seven evil ex-boyfriends. The fight against the first boyfriend was an over-the-top awesome fest of unrivaled proportions. So the question was, "Would the second volume, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World be as good?" Yes.

Scott and Ramona (who he refers to as "Rammy" sometimes) are still getting to know each other as Scott is forced to fight Lucas Lee, Ramona's second evil ex-boyfriend, who is also a pretty-boy movie star and ex-skater. But things get more complicated when Scott's ex-girlfriend Natalie "Envy" Adams threatens to come back into the picture. Best of all, Knives engages Ramona in a fight for Scott's heart that is even better than the fight against Matthew Patel in the first volume. There are plenty of other humorous moments, especially those involving Wallace, Scott's roommate, as well as a scene that plays like a cooking show.

If you are a fan of video games, anime parody, and sweet fights, you should definitely check out Scott Pilgrim. The humor is top-notch, and the story is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Pilgrim Is Awesome, December 25, 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (New Brighton, MN) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 2: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (Paperback)
It is dork-tastic and kind of stupid, but if you're a gamer, or now gamers or, you know, watch tv and movies, you'll love this comic. This art is a little unrefined, but I think that was sort of the point, and the manga style is spot on for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World = Awesome!, October 28, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 2: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (Paperback)
Once upon a time, a comic artist named Bryan Lee O'Malley did a comic series around a central character named Scott Pilgrim. That comic series got made into a movie called Scott Pilgrim Vs The World. The movie was not bad, but was definitely worth seeing if only because it made me want to read the comic series it was based on. And I'm here now to tell you that O'Malley's original series is awesome. It's also almost impossible to describe, but I'll give it my best shot and say it's original, it's funny, it's way surreal, and it's probably unlike anything you've ever read.

On the surface, the plot arc of the six-volume series is centered around Scott Pilgrim, a twenty-something game-playing slacker in a Canadian garage band, who meets the girl of his dreams (literally) and finds he must defeat her seven evil ex-es if he wants to date her. But like an iceberg, the surface only hints at everything that lies beneath.

Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World is the second volume in the series. The cast of returning characters include:

Scott Pilgrim, a wide-eyed and likeable but perpetually clueless 23-year-old slacker who's in a garage band called Sex Bob-omb. ("I got in a fight. An _awesome_ fight." "Did you win?" "Uhhhh... not really.")

Ramona Flowers, a roller-blading delivery girl for Amazon.ca and the girl of Scott's dreams. ("You're cool, Ramona. I like you." "You're lame, but I like you anyway.")

Knives Chau, his 17-year-old Chinese former sort-of girlfriend ("My name is Knives Chau, and I'm a Scottaholic!")

Wallace Wells, his cool but boy-crazy gay roommate. ("Look, Scott. I'm going to issue an ultimatum." "One of your famous ultimatums?" "It may live in infamy.")

Stephen Stills, lead guitarist in the band. ("So, we're making vegan shepherd's pie." "So who's vegan?" "Uh, none of us.")

Kim Pine, the band's drummer and Scott's ex-girlfriend from high school. ("Scott, you are the salt of the earth." "What?" "Oh, I'm sorry, excuse me. I meant _scum_ of the earth.")

Young Neil Nordegraf, Stephen Still's roommate and the band's biggest fan. ("Chopping vegetables keeps us out of trouble with the law.")

Julie Powers, Stephen Stills' on-again/off-again but always bitchy girlfriend. ("I can't believe you went ahead and asked her out after I _specifically_ told you not to do that!")

Stacey Pilgrim, Scott's younger sister. ("Ramona, are you crazy?? You can't just tear up giant metal art objects like that!")

And in this volume we meet Envy Adams, Scott's former girlfriend (and former bandmate) who's now a huge success. And last but not least, Lucas Lee, former skateboard superstar turned moviestar/sellout, the second of Ramona's evil ex-es to challenge Scott Pilgrim.("Okay, look, give me all your money and I'll let you live. I'll tell Gideon you beat me up." "Wow, you really _are_ a sellout!")

Just read it. You'll be hooked.

I highly recommend this book (and the entire series) to anyone who appreciates a comic series with a unique visual style, engaging characters, the kind of surreal world we only wish we could live in, and just a great fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop reading this review and read Scott Pilgrim!, June 30, 2005
By 
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 2: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (Paperback)
But, seeing as you are obviously still reading this, I'll tell you why Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is such an awesome comic. If you read SP vol.1 then you should already have a pretty good idea what's in store, but new readers can probably pick this up and start reading (though why would you want to? Just read Scott Pilgrim vol.1!).
There's nothing else like Scott Pilgrim being published right now. Bryan Lee O'Malley draws influence from pretty much everything (manga, video games, comics, movies) to make something completely different. The art is cartoony and fun without being simple or complicated. It's fun to read SP just to notice smaller details in the story and art.
The plot has already been outlined in the editor's notes above, and even if it wasn't I'd be hesitant to say much about it. The less you know going into this series the better. Basically the world revolves around Scott Pilgrim a 23-year-old base player in a Toronto. Everything's going fine till he meets Ramona Flowers, an American delivery girl. In volume two Scott is finally going out with Ramona, who doesn't know that he's also dating a high school girl named Knives Chau. This would be bad enough except that Ramona has some troublesome ex-boyfriends who Scott must defeat in mortal combat order to continue dating Ramona.
The first book made it seem like Ramona's past boyfriends would be a big part of the series, but in volume two that doesn't seem to be the case. Scott has fought one ex per book so far, and the fight in volume two wasn't as climatic as the one from book one. The legion of ex-boyfriends is takes backseat to the day-to-day life of Scott and co, which is pretty off-the-wall and biazarre even without the super-powered beings showing up.
But what would a comic with a surreal slice of life/rock star plot and great, unique art be without good characters? Well, actually, it would still be pretty good, but the fact that Scott Pilgrim does have a fantastic cast is what pushes it into greatness territory. The people in this comic are by different degrees selfish, kind, funny, sincere and in Scott's case at least, in over their head. Everyone manages to be cool and interesting while still believable.
I could go on about Scott Pilgrim all day, but I'm hungry and must eat. For anyone looking for original and entertaining, Scott Pilgrim will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Wholesome Fun, July 1, 2005
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 2: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (Paperback)
Rarely can one find a work that has just the right amount of staying power. Often times a piece will be overpowering or leave an unsatisfying aftertaste that sours the memory of it. Yet sometimes we find ourselves captivated by something that is so pure, mere mention of it can bring forth laughter and conversation among any of those lucky enough to have experienced it.

Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World is one of those few gems.

The art and story weave themselves together into such an unbreakable mesh that one finds him/herself drawn into the world of the 23-year-old Canadian bass playing protagonist and his close circle of friends. Where most stories would keep the spotlight on the singular star and never think of feeding the curiosity of the reader concerning the supporting cast, Vol.2 dives into the personalities and desires of those around Pilgrim. We find ourselves not only rooting for Scott, but for the friends that surround him.

In Vol. 2 we learn more of how Sex Bob-Omb came to be, why Kim is so often looking at Scott with a roll of the eye, and just a few details are sprinkled as to why Pilgrim must face Ramona Flower's Seven Evil Ex-Boyfriends. The pacing between action and dialogue is seamless, as there are no jerky transitions that break the mood created by the setting and characters.

Volume 2 succeeds at doing what Volume One left everyone wanting: More. There's more action, more drama, more heartbreak, and more content all around. Whether it was more of a particular character, feeling, or just information. You're given it in Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World.

The characters are the driving force behind the mesmerizing properties. Scott is a loveable fop lost in a world of video game references, rock, and relationships. His friends compliment him by having their own hang-ups and quirks. Floating items and public battle royals aside, the characters feel real, their personalities can be related too and don't require a supporting argument or narrative to explain why they act as they do.

The book is a must own, as it demands re-reads. The witty, original dialogue is a joy to read again and again, coupled with the fact that O'Malley hides references to fellow creator's works (such as the Secret Friend Society) makes the work so much more enjoyable.

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World achieves excellence by being humorous, sad, awkward, and absolutely crazy, but most of all, by being true. It successfully captivates moments of life and dramatizes them into such an entertaining fashion that one is left in gleeful awe for days to come.

Buy the book, buy volume One if you don't own it already, buy copies for your best friend, and then you too can shout from the hilltops:

I am a Scottaholic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Pilgrim. Rating: Awesome., July 1, 2005
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 2: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (Paperback)
Ever pondered the deeper meaning of life, why we're here and what your place in the world is? Well now... you can keep on pondering. Everybody does. You'll get over it. But until then, one sure-fire way to take your mind off the existential malaise is to read Scott Pilgrim. Bryan Lee O'Malley's Toronto exists somewhere between Dragonball Z, the Mushroom Kingdom and Spaced, a wonderfully bizarre amalgam of real life, nostalgia and sheer lunacy. It's packed with references to pop culture, old and new, but its sheer energy and enthusiasm is so joyful and inclusive that it doesn't matter whether you get them all or not. I know I don't, but this is the kind of book that makes me want to go and seek them out and enjoy the story all over again.

Volume 2 picks up pretty much straight after the fantastic "Precious Little Life", and while I'd recommend the first volume both purely on its own excellent merits and as part of the ongoing story, I'm not even sure you'd need to have read it to be swept up by this. Scott's obsessive high-schooler Knives Chau lives up to her name in a hilarious, art-vandalising face-off with Ramona Flowers, Scott faces the second of Ramona's seven evil ex-boyfriends - a sell-out actor who he keeps confusing with Luke Wilson - and his band get the opportunity to move into the big league. The mysteries from Volume 1 - what the hell keeps happening to Ramona's head?! - deepen, while new facets of Scott's life - particularly his own past relationships - are revealed.

The art is fantastic, every page intriguing, and the story is a runaway train of sheer inventiveness. However - and here it reminds me of my favourite graphic novel series, Jeff Smith's `Bone' - none of the wackiness or joyful lunacy ever obscures the heart this comic has, which beats on every page. This is a moving look at the pitfalls and springboards of any new courtship, the trials and worries everyone has to face, the rewards and the sorrow that relationships can entail. Bryan Lee O'Malley is clearly a man who clearly wears his heart on the sleeve of the wackiest, coolest-looking shirt you ever saw.

In summary - buy this book. In fact, buy two copies - one to keep close, and one to share with all the people you care about. Oh, and maybe a third to keep in the kitchen, so you have its recipe for a delicious vegan shepherd's pie handy.

Fun fact: Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is complete and utter genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He is Scott Pilgrim and he is awesome!, June 29, 2005
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 2: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (Paperback)
Scott Pilgrim Volume 2 has it all - dorky hats, gay roommates, skateboarding battles against evil ex-boyfriends, a slightly psychotic teenage girl called Knives out for chopsocky revenge and, if all that has left you tired and hungry, a recipe for vegan shepherds' pie. As you may have gathered, the second instalment of Bryan Lee O'Malley's series of graphic novels is quite unlike anything else on the market. The brilliance of the storytelling lies in the fact that O'Malley is able to deviate from the central storyline, playing with different genres and even breaking the 'fourth wall' to address the reader directly, whilst all the while keeping his eye fixed firmly on advancing the plot, so that these asides and deviances never slow down what is, in effect, a narrative told at breakneck speed. O'Malley's art is joyous and vibrant, but also capable of incredible subtlety, so that Scott and his friends - and, most especially his wronged ex-girlfriend Knives, come across as fully-formed characters whose stories carry real emotional weight. If you have not yet read Scott Pilgrim's adventures, I strongly advise you get in early so that you can follow the excitement of each new volume as it appears!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lover, Fighter, Slacker, Gamer--Love Hurts!, November 2, 2010
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 2: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (Paperback)
"Scott Pilgrim vs. the World," the striking film version of the inspired series by Bryan Lee O'Malley, had a disappointing run this year in terms of box office. Even with surprising critical support, the film fell below expectations from a money making standpoint. Now, as we are poised for the DVD release (11/9/10), I think the world of Scott Pilgrim is about to explode as new fans to the irreverent charm of Scott and company discover the delightfully skewed source material. And I thought, I'd recap the highlights as I've gone back to appreciate the six volumes anew.

Volume Two: Scott Pilgrim vs. The World. The saga continued in 2005 with a chapter that provided numerous flashbacks developing some of Scott's formative relationships. His deepening affection for Ramona serves to unleash the warrior in Knives. Even as the couple deal with Knives' new aggression, Ramona's second evil ex (a movie star, no less!) drops by and must be dealt with. That's no problem, really, when appealing to his pride and machismo--and his demise barely even registers in comparison to Scott's ex Envy reappearing. This is the volume that perfects the blend of fighting and comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Impromanga artist makes it big!, April 14, 2008
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 2: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (Paperback)
There's a select few people who were around for the golden age of Impromanga... but from it a lot of artists exploded onto the scene. One who's talent was always apparent but never appreciated was Mal... who is finally hitting the big time with Scott Pilgrim.

Sure there's the upcoming Edgar Wright (Shaun of the Dead) movie adaptation in the works, but this is one of those books that doesn't need the movie deal to carry it. Fresh, innovative, addictive like pizza to a fat kid... Scott Pilgrim is on his way to conquering the world. You might want to take the time to nab the entire run, and Mal's first manga Lost at Sea, if only to rub your friends faces in their lack of coolness for not getting them first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 2: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World
Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 2: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World by Bryan Lee O'Malley (Paperback - June 15, 2005)
$11.99 $9.50
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.