Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Scott Sedita's Guide to Making It in Hollywood: Three Steps to Success, Three Steps to Failure
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
5 star
94%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
6%
1 star
0%
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 5, 2008
Oh man, I wish I'd had this book when I first moved to Los Angeles. It would've saved me a lot of time, money and frustration.

This highly-anticipated follow up to Sedita's 'The Eight Characters of Comedy,' is a concise, well thought out guide on what to do, and more importantly, what not to do, while building an acting career in Los Angeles.

Scott really knows what he is talking about. He's seen all sides of the business. He's a former agent, manager, casting director, actor, voiceover artist, writer and is currently, Backstage West's 2008 LA acting teacher of the year. Not to mention the star of several reality TV shows.

Bottom line: Save yourself a lot of trouble and read this book. Don't learn the hard way like I did.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2009
When I first ordered this book off Amazon, I was really excited to get it. However I was very let down. I am currently an actor in Tokyo, and was hoping to learn some really good acting techniques from this book; however that is not what this book is about. Instead it goes into some psychoanalysis of actors' childhoods and how their parents upbringing greatly impact ones ability to succeed. If I was interested in that sort of literature, I would have purchased a book by an actual doctor.

The first 100 pages have a really negative undertone as Scott explains that if you don't have talent, you should not be an actor. Of course there is truth in it, however any person interested enough to purchase his book must obviously believe they have some talent. Thus within the first 100pages you start to question your own abilities.

He has 3-4 exercises to practice, which would be great, but all require a group. Thus the reader is forced into creating a group of actors before they can even start to benefit.
The rest of the book analyzes the obvious, and has almost nothing to do with acting, such as don't do drugs, get a part time job, don't worry about what your friends back home say.

There are about 10 pages in this book worth reading, which include getting setup with business cards and headshots, other then that, it's a book about how to live a good life. Ill sum it up, work hard, stay positive, join an acting school, and don't give up.
If you're hoping to learn some great techniques and ways to create characters, this is not that book. If you are an actor, I suggest reading The Secret, a much more intelligent piece of literature on following your dreams. Sorry to say but I wouldn't waste your money on this.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2008
From an actors point of view, this book is an eye opener -- especially reading the 3 steps to failure. You just sit there saying to yourself, "Oh my god... I DO do that!" and you want to put it down and walk away for awhile because you have to accept the reality. It's a nice kick in the behind. Looking for the right road to success? Here's your map. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2008
Three steps are all it takes between stardom and obscurity. "Scott Sedita's Guide to Making it in Hollywood" is a thoroughly 'user friendly' and practical guide for those who have set out for Tinsel town and want to make their mark on show business. Talent, Confidence, and Perseverance are all needed to be successful, and Sedita outlines how to acquire each of them and put them to great use to truly make a great career for oneself. Simply stated, "Making It in Hollywood" is a must to any who seeks superstardom in their theatrical career whether it is in front or behind the cameras.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2016
I am not a very good reader but I am on my third read because I don't want to miss one beat of this remarkable book. This is a remarkable writer.

Ed Connelly

On YouTube "Ed Connelly" an 81 year old actor who spent over 25 years with Sydney Pollack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2008
This inspiring, motivational book tells you a lot of insightful things about what it takes to make it in Hollywood. What's GREAT about this book is, it also tells you what you don't need. The part about failure will make anyone, actor or not, look at themselves a little more closely, and force them to deal with what holds them back. Something anyone who wants to fulfill their dream should be aware of.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2008
Scott wrote a book that I wish I had written!! Down to some of the exact sentences I use with my own clients!! As a Talent Agent I can tell you without reservation this is the only book you need to get started on a career in Hollywood! And if you make it to LA, go check out one of his classes. I recommend them to my clients as well!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2008
Sure there are a lot of "guides" to starting an acting career in Hollywood, but there are none that dig into the physical, psychological and emotional steps an actor needs to take as well as this book. Scott is an absolute master as a teacher (Backstage West just named him 2008 Teacher of the Year in L.A.) and he's more than willing to share everything he's learned from his years of experience as an actor, writer, agent, casting director and coach. This book is full of practical and personal advice to help actors at all levels boost their career as well as warnings about the many obstacles that can stand in an actor's way. Scott breaks all of this down in an inviting, humorous, easy to read book that also includes several success stories from the many famous actors he's worked with. It's a quick, entertaining read with tons of information that will help any actor succeed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2011
This book is absolutely amazing. I recommend it to anyone planning on pursuing the acting life or anyone who just feels they need to brush up on their acting skills. Scott Sedita is definitely one of the most experienced experts when it comes to acting. He has lived it, he still lives it, and is sharing all the best tips and tricks to make sure you have a successful acting career. If you're serious about acting, 'Scott Sedita's Guide to Making It in Hollywood' is a MUST READ! Definnitely 5 stars! **You will definitely use this book more than just one read through!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2014
A fabulous, practical book to read, understand, practice ACTING with love, creativity and as Scott explains so well "talent, self-confidence, perseverance" ! Enjoy Your ART soul and practice ! you'll love this book !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse