Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL reading for aspiring actors
Oh man, I wish I'd had this book when I first moved to Los Angeles. It would've saved me a lot of time, money and frustration.

This highly-anticipated follow up to Sedita's 'The Eight Characters of Comedy,' is a concise, well thought out guide on what to do, and more importantly, what not to do, while building an acting career in Los Angeles.

Scott...
Published on December 5, 2008 by ActingDude

versus
11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
When I first ordered this book off Amazon, I was really excited to get it. However I was very let down. I am currently an actor in Tokyo, and was hoping to learn some really good acting techniques from this book; however that is not what this book is about. Instead it goes into some psychoanalysis of actors' childhoods and how their parents upbringing greatly impact ones...
Published on August 19, 2009 by Kase


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL reading for aspiring actors, December 5, 2008
By 
ActingDude (Hollywood, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scott Sedita's Guide to Making It in Hollywood: Three Steps to Success, Three Steps to Failure (Paperback)
Oh man, I wish I'd had this book when I first moved to Los Angeles. It would've saved me a lot of time, money and frustration.

This highly-anticipated follow up to Sedita's 'The Eight Characters of Comedy,' is a concise, well thought out guide on what to do, and more importantly, what not to do, while building an acting career in Los Angeles.

Scott really knows what he is talking about. He's seen all sides of the business. He's a former agent, manager, casting director, actor, voiceover artist, writer and is currently, Backstage West's 2008 LA acting teacher of the year. Not to mention the star of several reality TV shows.

Bottom line: Save yourself a lot of trouble and read this book. Don't learn the hard way like I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's so true.., September 30, 2008
By 
T. Vargas (Sherman Oaks, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scott Sedita's Guide to Making It in Hollywood: Three Steps to Success, Three Steps to Failure (Paperback)
From an actors point of view, this book is an eye opener -- especially reading the 3 steps to failure. You just sit there saying to yourself, "Oh my god... I DO do that!" and you want to put it down and walk away for awhile because you have to accept the reality. It's a nice kick in the behind. Looking for the right road to success? Here's your map. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must to any who seeks superstardom in their theatrical career, September 3, 2008
This review is from: Scott Sedita's Guide to Making It in Hollywood: Three Steps to Success, Three Steps to Failure (Paperback)
Three steps are all it takes between stardom and obscurity. "Scott Sedita's Guide to Making it in Hollywood" is a thoroughly 'user friendly' and practical guide for those who have set out for Tinsel town and want to make their mark on show business. Talent, Confidence, and Perseverance are all needed to be successful, and Sedita outlines how to acquire each of them and put them to great use to truly make a great career for oneself. Simply stated, "Making It in Hollywood" is a must to any who seeks superstardom in their theatrical career whether it is in front or behind the cameras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a Hollywood Talent Agent I recommend all my clients read this book!, July 14, 2008
By 
This review is from: Scott Sedita's Guide to Making It in Hollywood: Three Steps to Success, Three Steps to Failure (Paperback)
Scott wrote a book that I wish I had written!! Down to some of the exact sentences I use with my own clients!! As a Talent Agent I can tell you without reservation this is the only book you need to get started on a career in Hollywood! And if you make it to LA, go check out one of his classes. I recommend them to my clients as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Steps to Failure, June 11, 2008
By 
A. Rago (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scott Sedita's Guide to Making It in Hollywood: Three Steps to Success, Three Steps to Failure (Paperback)
This inspiring, motivational book tells you a lot of insightful things about what it takes to make it in Hollywood. What's GREAT about this book is, it also tells you what you don't need. The part about failure will make anyone, actor or not, look at themselves a little more closely, and force them to deal with what holds them back. Something anyone who wants to fulfill their dream should be aware of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, August 19, 2009
This review is from: Scott Sedita's Guide to Making It in Hollywood: Three Steps to Success, Three Steps to Failure (Paperback)
When I first ordered this book off Amazon, I was really excited to get it. However I was very let down. I am currently an actor in Tokyo, and was hoping to learn some really good acting techniques from this book; however that is not what this book is about. Instead it goes into some psychoanalysis of actors' childhoods and how their parents upbringing greatly impact ones ability to succeed. If I was interested in that sort of literature, I would have purchased a book by an actual doctor.

The first 100 pages have a really negative undertone as Scott explains that if you don't have talent, you should not be an actor. Of course there is truth in it, however any person interested enough to purchase his book must obviously believe they have some talent. Thus within the first 100pages you start to question your own abilities.

He has 3-4 exercises to practice, which would be great, but all require a group. Thus the reader is forced into creating a group of actors before they can even start to benefit.
The rest of the book analyzes the obvious, and has almost nothing to do with acting, such as don't do drugs, get a part time job, don't worry about what your friends back home say.

There are about 10 pages in this book worth reading, which include getting setup with business cards and headshots, other then that, it's a book about how to live a good life. Ill sum it up, work hard, stay positive, join an acting school, and don't give up.
If you're hoping to learn some great techniques and ways to create characters, this is not that book. If you are an actor, I suggest reading The Secret, a much more intelligent piece of literature on following your dreams. Sorry to say but I wouldn't waste your money on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just for Actors Anymore, June 20, 2008
This review is from: Scott Sedita's Guide to Making It in Hollywood: Three Steps to Success, Three Steps to Failure (Paperback)
Scott Sedita's wonderful book should be read by anyone who is interested in succeeding in life. He offers practical advice to "strivers", and makes it clear that in ways that you can control, success or failure is up to you. Talent, perseverance, confidence; fear, distractions, addictions - these traits are not limited to those in the acting profession. Sedita writes in a straightforward way about the triumphs and the traps which we all experience. His book is an invaluable guide for living a successful life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than your average Hollywood "How To!", May 9, 2008
By 
Jim (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scott Sedita's Guide to Making It in Hollywood: Three Steps to Success, Three Steps to Failure (Paperback)
Sure there are a lot of "guides" to starting an acting career in Hollywood, but there are none that dig into the physical, psychological and emotional steps an actor needs to take as well as this book. Scott is an absolute master as a teacher (Backstage West just named him 2008 Teacher of the Year in L.A.) and he's more than willing to share everything he's learned from his years of experience as an actor, writer, agent, casting director and coach. This book is full of practical and personal advice to help actors at all levels boost their career as well as warnings about the many obstacles that can stand in an actor's way. Scott breaks all of this down in an inviting, humorous, easy to read book that also includes several success stories from the many famous actors he's worked with. It's a quick, entertaining read with tons of information that will help any actor succeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm French and I LOVE IT! SO TRUE!, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scott Sedita's Guide to Making It in Hollywood: Three Steps to Success, Three Steps to Failure (Paperback)
A fabulous, practical book to read, understand, practice ACTING with love, creativity and as Scott explains so well "talent, self-confidence, perseverance" ! Enjoy Your ART soul and practice ! you'll love this book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, October 8, 2012
By 
Richard Haylor (Key Biscayne, FL, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Scott's book is extremely informative, motivational and thought provoking.After reading this book you will ask yourself some important questions,the answers to which will help you to make sensible career choices.Scott covers points that apply to ALL actors regardless of experience level.Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Scott Sedita's Guide to Making It in Hollywood: Three Steps to Success, Three Steps to Failure
$19.95 $15.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.