Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wild, Suspenseful Ride
Mike Dellosso introduced me to Christian suspense/horror with his previous novel, "The Hunted." It wasn't what I normally read at the time, but it opened up a new genre. As I began to explore it, I learned that Dellosso is one of its leading writers.

As much as I enjoyed "The Hunted," I enjoyed "Scream" even more, and it is one wild suspenseful ride of a novel...
Published on February 28, 2009 by Glynn Young

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not as expected
Gives you the impression it's going to be a horror novel, and ends up pounding religion into the reader.
Starts out pretty interesting - mysterious deaths preceded by horrifying screams over the phone (wailing and gnashing of teeth)
The main character has problems with his wife - they're seperated because he was unfaithful, but it turns out being unfaithful is a...
Published on September 11, 2012 by Lance Manyon


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read..., February 23, 2009
This review is from: Scream: A Novel (Paperback)
Once again Mike Dellosso has scored with this book. I didn't think he could top "The Hunted," but he has. Readers who like good, spine-thrilling fiction without profanity and sex will love this! Get it now...and make sure your lights are on as you read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not For The Weak-Hearted..., June 4, 2009
This review is from: Scream: A Novel (Paperback)
In his sophomore novel, Mike Dellosso has created an intriguing, spiritually rich story involving rips in the fabric between Hell and earth. Mark Stone, a man with a broken marriage and a cynical outlook on all things religious, hears an otherworldly scream one night while talking to his friend. Moments later that friend is dead. After a couple more random conversations where he hears the same horrific squeals he puts the details together and contacts a minister who explains the likely scenario.

The creepy and multi-layered plot involves a serial killer, whom I correctly guessed a third of the way in, and the abduction and captivity of women. Along with the Hellish screaming this makes the plot a bit intense. Dog lovers may want to use a bit of caution as there are some disturbing dog moments. Chickens and dog lovers take note of the warning, and those who are offended by Jesus and the discussion of where one goes after death may find offensive material as well.

Well-written and solidly spooky story that may satisfy thriller lovers. The Christian thread is woven throughout and may be just what you're looking for if you want a strong Christian message with some thrills and chills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can you hear the screams?, March 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scream: A Novel (Paperback)
"Everyone has an appointment with death. When will your appointment come due?"
(p. 150)

Mark Stone - the rebellious son of a preacher, struggling with the recent estrangement from his wife - hears something ...screams. Screams of the dead, the dying, the eternally damned. He hears the screams of hell.

Those screams usher death into the lives of his friends, of strangers...of those he loves. By the time he realizes what he is hearing, he realizes a greater truth...even though the religion practiced by his father was harsh, it contained kernels of truth. As snippets of that truth pierce Mark's heart and mind his eyes begin to see the truth. He knows heaven or hell awaits the soul after death, and he knows that no one knows when it's their time to die...except Mark, and the screams...

Beneath the mystery of the screams, there is another sinister layer unfolding within the story...the abduction of innocent women. There is a madman loose in the hills of Maryland, and he is abducting women and keeping them prisoner in an isolated area. His purpose? Justice. His name...Judge. Well, not really, but by the time you figure out who the madman is, all of the characters are in a desperate race to stay alive....and not everyone will survive!

Mike Dellosso's second novel, Scream, is a heart-pounding read that begs the question: what happens to your soul when you die? What if you could hear the cries of those damned to hell and could warn people of their impending, and eternal damnation? Would it make a difference in whether or not you shared Jesus with those around you? Would it cause you to examine your own eternal destiny?

We live in an ever-darkening world, and death is all around us. Within the last two days gunmen have rampaged here in the U.S. and in Germany and more than twenty-five people - unsuspecting people - died. Life is uncertain. Eternity is real. Now is the time to tell those around us that Jesus is the Way, the Truth and the Life. Mike Dellosso has done that as only Mike Dellosso can...do you hear the screams?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scream, March 16, 2009
This review is from: Scream: A Novel (Paperback)
This novel caught me on page on. I'm a big fan of mysteries and this is one of the best I've read.

Scream is fast-moving, twisted, believable and full of thrills novel. The main character, Mark Stone, hears screams and then seconds later his friend is killed in an accident. As Mark continues to hear screams, each time they are followed by a death. When he finds out his wife has been abducted he begins his frantic search to find her before it's too late. How does his lack of faith grow stronger and help him on this journey?

Order your copy now to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One scream of a ride!, June 3, 2009
This review is from: Scream: A Novel (Paperback)
Mike Dellosso stretches his writing wings in his sophomore tale of suspense, Scream. Offering the same intensity and smart pacing as his debut novel, The Hunted, Mike offers even better character studies in both his hero, Mark Stone and Stone's protagonist, aptly named Judge.

Mark Stone is a hero with problems. His marriage is on the rocks and it's his fault. What went wrong is doled out in little slices along the way but the hope of seeing things made right is seems futile almost from the beginning. As though that isn't enough to distract a man, Stone has even bigger problems. On several occasions he is talking to various people on the phone only to have the conversation interrupted by unworldly, you guessed it, screams. When he finds those he was talking with dead, our hero knows he is being plunged into a world he had believed to be behind him.

In spite of his disillusionment with the church Mark Stone is left with nowhere to turn for answers for the hellish screams and resulting deaths except ministers. His conversations with these "men of God" reveal how little some who claim to believe in the spiritual actually do. While Stone is tempted to discount one minister's explanation the stakes are raised when a conversation with his estranged wife is interrupted by similar nightmarish sounds. This sets the stage for his ultimate confrontation with the reality of evil and grace.

Dellosso does an excellent job of painting the portrait of the man we know as Judge. This is no two-dimensional villain but rather a complicated man that has experienced deep tragedy in his own life. His misdirected thirst for justice has prompted him to open the door of his heart to a darkness that offers only one horrible option to satisfy that thirst. Time is taken to thoroughly develop the nature of Judge before he and Mark Stone are brought together.

In typical Dellosso style, the story begins fast and races toward its dramatic conclusion from one chapter to the next. In spite of its weighty subject matter it does it with style and suspense. It's one scream of a ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An intense read from beginning to end, December 19, 2009
This review is from: Scream: A Novel (Paperback)
SCREAM kicks off with nightmarish screams that carry during a phone conversation between Mark Stone and his friend Jeff. Moments later, Jeff dies in a fiery crash. When it happens again and again, and it's apparent the screams are not freak occurrences, Mark is hell bent on trying to save people from dying. Even his father falls victim to the screams. Mark is able to spend a few last hours with him, but his father is terrified of the hell that awaits for having lived in the façade of righteousness but he still dies lost.

Because the book delves into eternal consequences for not committing to the Lord, it can't shake a somewhat preachy tone. But this is mostly overshadowed with a sympathetic kidnapper who's thrown into the mix. The kidnapper longs to make four women pay for the death of his first love. It doesn't matter that they're not THE four. Someone has to pay. And Mark's estranged wife falls into his clutches.

If Mark weren't tortured enough by his wife's refusal to come back home and forgive him for breaking their vows, he's further alarmed when she calls and says she's been kidnapped. When he hears the dreaded screams, he races to try and save her against both an unknown assailant and an eternity of torment. The climax is excellent and gripping, a battle in which not everyone survives. The only big drawback for me was the presence of the screams without a specific reason. I don't mind supernatural elements, but the book never delves into why Mark suddenly began hearing screams. Overall though, this was an intense read from beginning to end. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where do YOU think they come from? I'll just leave it at that!, September 26, 2013
This review is from: Scream: A Novel (Paperback)
This is the 6th book/story of Mike Dellosso's that I have read and each one is unique and just one heck of a fast fun ride, entertaining and thoughtful, especially for the spiritually minded Christian. Well structured, well written and just an all around good story. The author does a great job at making his characters real and people you can sympathize with. I ain't givin' nothing away! I know you read this type of stuff in all reviews, but I really would recommend this book to pretty much anyone I know. I may be bias. I am a big MD fan, but you know what, when it's good writing and fascinating stories, I go for it! Fun fun thriller I recommend, plain and simple. :-)

No cussing that I can remember, and the violence was tastefully done, keeping the story edgy without making it inappropriate. It isn't for children, is what I mean.

Try it on for size!

Oh yeah! and you'll never stroke your chin the same way again! HA! Thanks to Mikey, I'll never stroke mine again without thinking of you-know-who. and NO i'm not talking about Voldemort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Riveting mystery guaranteed to give goosebumps, March 16, 2009
This review is from: Scream: A Novel (Paperback)
Scream by Mike Dellosso is a great addition to the growing genre of Christian horror. Writing in the tradition of Frank Peretti and Dean Koontz, Dellosso offers ups thrills and chills along with a message of faith. Mark Stone is trying to pick up the pieces of his life after his wife left him when he hears some strange screams on the phone when talking to a friend. He is deeply shaken when the friend dies immediately after the screams, and his fear grows when the screams happen again...and again, and every time someone dies. It sends Mark on a quest to discover the source of the screams and the truth about the existence of hell. But when he hears the screams while talking to his estranged wife, his quest becomes deeply personal and urgent. Dellosso taps into the reader's deepest fears and questions about hell and faith without ever preaching. I enjoyed his conversations with different ministers to get their take on hell and faith. It's a book to keep you up late at night and then make you think deeply about your own faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful with a powerful message!, October 9, 2010
By 
Ian Acheson (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scream: A Novel (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this novel.

It rips along at a fast pace with two story lines that eventually intersect. Dellosso introduces a really clever concept with the "screaming from hell" over the phone as a way of presenting a strong Christian message.

The characters were all very believable and yes, perhaps a little plain, but very real in their humanity. Judge, the bad guy, was creepy but with a unusual kindness element which was a pleasant surprise.

I liked Dellosso's use of language, he was very descriptive enabling the reader to visualise his characters and each scene.

For a second novel this was very enjoyable, full of suspense and a good message that we all need to hear. Yes, there is work to do on enhancing his characters but that's a challenge for all inexperienced writers I think.

We need more new Christian writers who can cross-over to the mainstream and I think "Scream" can do that. I'll definitely read his third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Just Have to Scream!, April 17, 2009
This review is from: Scream: A Novel (Paperback)
Mike Dellosso did it again! He wrote another page-turning, well-written suspense novel with fleshed out characters, and he actually surprised me at the end because I was so into the story! The story takes you on a journey with Mark Stone who hears deathly, otherwordly screams over the phone followed by the other person's untimely death. As if that wasn't strange enough, mix in a wacko with a twisted vendetta and warped sense of judgment who is abducting women. I wasn't sure how these two different story lines were going to collide, but they both held my attention and collide they did in a fast paced ending that had me thinking about death and what happens afterward.

Mike's own battle with cancer and confrontation with death and the afterlife is evident in the pages of this book. Though a bit preachy at the end, considering the premise of the book, it is appropriate and does make you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Scream: A Novel
Scream: A Novel by Mike Dellosso
$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.