Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80s style quality horror film
got to see this at the eerie horrorfest in erie pa. in oct 2013 it was a lot of fun to see an 80's style horror film on the 60 foot screen at the warner theater,this will be a part of my collection as soon as it is released,doug Bradley has a small part in the film was a guest at the eerie horrorfest ,it was shot locally in Conneaut lake pa. at Conneaut lake park...
Published 6 months ago by Mike

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HOUSE OF FEAR
The film starts with the opening credits. No prologue as most slasher films have to hint at the identity of the killer. Fright Land is going to shut down due to lack of funds. The film centers on Jennifer ( Wendy Wygant) our token virgin. Blake, her boyfriend of three dates, who hasn't made it to second base is missing. We don't know if he is the killer or victim until 10...
Published 4 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HOUSE OF FEAR, May 4, 2014
This review is from: Scream Park (DVD)
The film starts with the opening credits. No prologue as most slasher films have to hint at the identity of the killer. Fright Land is going to shut down due to lack of funds. The film centers on Jennifer ( Wendy Wygant) our token virgin. Blake, her boyfriend of three dates, who hasn't made it to second base is missing. We don't know if he is the killer or victim until 10 minutes from the end.

The kids decide to throw a party, locked inside the park, although they can climb the fence. One by one the folks disappear by guys in masks. Doug Bradly makes a cameo appearance one hour into the film to supply a motive.

The film lacked the horror build up. The killings were okay and at times bloody, but just didn't have that 80's slasher feel it was attempting to achieve. Will do fine as a Redbox rental. The DVD cover claims 96 minutes. The film is 84 minutes. Blooper reel 6 minutes.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex, nudity (Kailey Marie Harris) $9.96 Walmart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Scream Park Closed, May 11, 2014
This review is from: Scream Park (DVD)
I love all kinds of horror movies, whether it's high budget or low budget and cheesy. Scream Park however, was terrible. I tried twice to watch this all the way through. I was bored with all of it. I made it about 20 minutes or so in and that was it. Acting was terrible. Don't watch this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This movie was pretty bad. The acting of everyone BUT Ogre and ..., July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scream Park (DVD)
This movie was pretty bad. The acting of everyone BUT Ogre and Doug Bradley was beyond B movie status. Certainly did not live up to its potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic For 80's Slasher Flicks? SCREAM PARK Is An Acceptable Vacation, April 20, 2014
This review is from: Scream Park (DVD)
Though it isn’t accurate to say that I came of age in the 80’s, it’s certainly applicable to say that I lived through it. While I’d never consider myself an expert on all things 80’s, I certainly partook of far more flicks theatrically and on home video than most. This isn’t to say I’ve seen ‘em all; rather, it’s only to establish a minimalist’s credibility in evaluating SCREAM PARK, a contemporary creation that’s clearly influenced on the low budget thrillers of yesterday. Is it perfect? No way. Is it fun? Oh, yeah. As one ad campaign for a different property promised, “there will be blood.”

Isn’t that really all you’re looking for?

(NOTE: The following review will contain minor spoilers necessary solely for the discussion of plot and/or characters. If you’re the type of reader who prefers a review entirely spoiler-free, then I’d encourage you to skip down to the last three paragraphs for my final assessment. If, however, you’re accepting of a few modest hints at ‘things to come,’ then read on …)

From the product packaging: “The Fright Land amusement park is on the verge of closing down for good. But the park’s owner, Hyde (Hellraiser’s Doug Bradley), has one last plan to sell more tickets … murder. Hiring two backwoods maniacs to break into the park and hack and slash all his employees, Hyde thinks these killings will create a media sensation, but he has just unleashed a horror that no one can survive. A slasher in the 80’s tradition that also stars Nivek Ogre from Skinny Puppy fame.”

I’ve made the point in debates with fellow film freaks that horror at some point simply got too big for its britches. Studios went all ‘high concept’ at some point in the last two decades, and the end results is that quite a few of the horror flicks felt curiously void of signs of life. Look at this this way: once the big name actors started showing up in horror, then you knew it wasn’t as much about the property as it was the box office … and that’s no way to go about manufacturing some quality horror.

All horror needs to be effective is a solid set-up – such as kids trapped in a theme park – and audiences are off to the races, hoping and praying that the body count will rise as one upstart after another meets his or her respective doom. That simple formula put fuel in the tank of such horror originals as THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE, FRIDAY THE 13TH, and the ELM STREET series not even thirty years back; yet those properties’ reboots just lack the simple gritty feel of the originals.

Despite all of its obvious blemishes (and despite what you read elsewhere there are plenty), SCREAM PARK tries to slim the fright back down its fighting weight; and, for the most part, it’s fairly effective. The plot is necessarily light on character moments but heavy on nuance. The killings are accomplished without all of the narrative set-ups required in the SAW or PARANORMAL ACTIVITY franchises, proving once again all you need is a man in a mask wielding a knife to bring a teenage girl to scream. And, thankfully, there’s no subtext in sight! The only thing that matters here is surviving from one kill to the next, leaving the options limited as the final fade-to-black approaches.

For my accomplished tastes, it works pretty well, though I honestly found its running surprising bloated at 85 minutes. What SCREAM PARK does best is serve up characters befitting their respective fates – they’re victims existentially pining for more who are about to come face-to-face with a manmade Grim Reaper – and everything else is best left to other flicks. Honestly, this would’ve been a near-perfect slash film had it clocked in a 60 minutes and been part of some anthology project. Independently? It works, but only works as well as you accept its basic premise … that being we’re all bound to suffer some cruel fate if we’re locked inside a theme park after dark.

Lastly, I’d be remiss in my duties if I failed to point out that SCREAM PARK served as an Official Selection of the 2013 Texas Frightmare Weekend, the 2013 Eerie Horror Film Festival, and the 2013 Horror Realm. That’s no small honor, and perhaps it only piques one’s interest a bit more in taking this homage to the ‘80’s a spin in your DVD player.

SCREAM PARK (2012) is produced by ProtoMedia. DVD distribution is being handled by Wild Eye Releasing. As for the technical specifications? Keep in mind this is a low budget film, and then it’s easy forgive some of the lesser bells and whistles on display here; let’s just say that the audio track is a bit murky in a few sequences, so the film could benefit from a better mix. Lastly, if it’s special features you’re looking for, then you have the theatrical trailer, some bloopers (not all that funny), and a commentary track to anticipate. Have fun with ‘em!

RECOMMENDED. Is SCREAM PARK the perfect 80’s flick? No, but ‘no’ for a few reasons. First, it wasn’t made in the 80’s, so that’ll always keep it chasing the title. Second, its story is a bit to modern-day derivative to truly ‘feel’ like it was representative of the 80’s mentality. And for what writer/director mashed into its 85 minutes it felt a tad too long for my tastes. But its back-to-basics approach was refreshing. It’s a low budget thriller made with more heart and inspiration than half of the big budget chillers made in the last decade, and that’s saying something to an audience that appreciates legitimate scares of this variety.

In the interests of fairness, I’m pleased to disclose that the fine folks at Wild Eye Releasing provided me with a DVD copy of SCREAM PARK by request for the expressed purposes of completing this review; and that contribution in no way, shape or form influenced this opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Night at the Park Gone Wrong, April 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scream Park (DVD)
I was pretty excited about this movie. It looked very interesting from the trailer that I saw online. I came into this movie expected a unique plot about a theme park killer, but I came out of the movie barely awake.

This movie did have some interesting aspects. The theme park was pretty cool, for the 10 minutes that was shown of rides operating. It reminded me of one that I visited as a child. Also some of the cast members were very easy on the eyes, with one young lady in particular that we get to see in the flesh for a quick moment ;)

Overall this movie did not have very much action. It seemed to run long even at its measly 1:25 running length. This is the type of movie that will probably end up in a $5 horror movie pack at Wal-Mart in not too short of time.

In conclusion this movie was mildly entertaining, had some hot chicks, but did not deliver the full package of Gore and action. Decent low budget flick, but had the possibility for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars meh, June 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scream Park (DVD)
It was a throwback to 80s horror..but it didn't do anything for me. It's worth a rental but I paid full price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I'm really not certain how many stars to give this ..., August 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scream Park (DVD)
I'm really not certain how many stars to give this. I picked this up with points because my friend's previous band (RBD) is featured in the film, so it's a neat piece of their short-lived history to have. Other than that, the acting, writing, cinematography and overall production are atrocious. However, my friend and I did laugh our asses off because of those things, so for that (and the band memorabilia it is for us) I give it three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars If you really still want to see this, DO NOT READ THE BACK OF THE CASE, September 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scream Park (DVD)
This was your pretty standard slasher movie. The problem is that whoever wrote the blurb on the back of the package decided to give away the twist ending. There is NO EXCUSE for something like that. And for fans of Doug Bradley - he's hardly even in it. Don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80s style quality horror film, March 1, 2014
By 
Mike (Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scream Park (DVD)
got to see this at the eerie horrorfest in erie pa. in oct 2013 it was a lot of fun to see an 80's style horror film on the 60 foot screen at the warner theater,this will be a part of my collection as soon as it is released,doug Bradley has a small part in the film was a guest at the eerie horrorfest ,it was shot locally in Conneaut lake pa. at Conneaut lake park except for doug bradleys scenes,any horror fans who have not been to the eerie horrorfest I highly recommend it,its usually the 3rd week in October and is always a good time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is good to see a film that pays homage to the ..., July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scream Park (DVD)
It is good to see a film that pays homage to the slasher genre that is so close to my heart. I'm also a huge fan of Conneaut Lake Park where this was filmes. It was really fun to see all the places i recognize in the park. This film is every bit as campy as the genre is well known for. Trully makese feel like I'm back in the 80s which to me is the golden age of horror flicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Scream Park
Scream Park by Nivek Ogre, Nicole Beattie, Kailey Marie Harris, Doug Bradley (DVD - 2014)
$14.95 $6.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.