Customer Reviews


251 Reviews
5 star:
 (204)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 star not for songs,but for sound quality.
why do record companies have to hard limit and increase volume on cds to make them sound louder.all your doing is destroying the sound.tinny highs,flat bass.dont get me wrong i love this album but im sick of epic and sony destroying sound.i guess they like distorsion and no dynamic range.for the album i give it 5 stars.for sound quality i give it zero.time to get back...
Published on February 3, 2006 by Scotty

versus
20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Judas priest album, Horrible overcompressed remaster sound quality (buy the 1990 CD release)
This is a great Judas Priest record, but the sound quality of the remaster is too loud and overcompressed. The rerelease is a victim of the loudness war. Look for the 1990 CD release. The quality is much better on the original CD release (more dynamics)
Published on May 1, 2009 by Maria K. Lulek


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 star not for songs,but for sound quality., February 3, 2006
This review is from: Screaming for Vengeance (Audio CD)
why do record companies have to hard limit and increase volume on cds to make them sound louder.all your doing is destroying the sound.tinny highs,flat bass.dont get me wrong i love this album but im sick of epic and sony destroying sound.i guess they like distorsion and no dynamic range.for the album i give it 5 stars.for sound quality i give it zero.time to get back into vinyl.crisp highs and deep warm bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The '83 US Festival show is Judas Priest at their FINEST!, September 7, 2012
By 
guitarwarrior (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Screaming For Vengeance - Special 30th Anniversary Edition (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
Yes, this 30th anniversary release of SFV is possibly just another ploy for the music companies to extract our hard earned $$$ by remixing/repackaging a CLASSIC like this 1982 Judas Priest release. But don't dismiss it so quickly. The bonus DVD is worth every penny on it's own.

All the guys, but especially Rob Halford are at the top of their game. He hits those high notes and vocal nuances with relative ease, and brings us back to those good ol' metal days. I've seen Rob Halford and the boys recently on HD-NET, and I simply can't bear to watch them now. It makes me cringe to see poor Rob struggle on vocals as his days of engaging the crowd and charismatic on-stage persona have long passed.

Fortunately, this US Festival show (presented in it's entirety, stereo PCM, 4:3 aspect ratio) brings back all the fond and impressive memories and once again reinforces why Judas Priest was one of the top metal bands in the 80's. Their performance is tight, polished yet simplistic and stripped of any fancy stage effects. Basically, it's enjoyably reduced to just 5 guys at the pinnacle of their career doing what they do best. It's hard to believe its been 30 years. Their music still holds up incredibly well. "Classics" in the truest sense. I say buy it. In it there's a fortune waiting to be had, if you let it go - You're mad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jackhammer-Style Priest, and their Best Ever!!, March 3, 2002
This review is from: Screaming for Vengeance (Audio CD)
The first Priest song I ever heard was "You've Got Another Thing Comin'" back in 1982 when it came out. Oh, man...what an introduction to Judas Priest!! At this stage, I was going on 15, and just beginning to open my mind and my ears to heavy metal. I had previously just assumed that Judas Priest and Black Sabbath were total noise, without even hearing anything by them; such was my prejudice.

The first time I heard "YGATC," I was quite surprised at how melodic it was, at well as being heavy. It sure didn't sound like noise to me! My mind slowly started opening, and eventually, I bought the album on vinyl. Now that I have SCREAMING FOR VENGEANCE (REMASTERED) on CD, I want to share how I feel about each song on it:
"The Hellion" is a nice slow electric (and instumental) buildup to the fast, smokin' "Electric Eye." Rob Halford growls the song out menacingly, his voice going thru a voice synthesizer for an 'electric' feel. "Ridin' On The Wind" is a total blazing, speed-of-light experience which gets your heart beating FAST; it's the precursor to "Freewheel Burning." Glenn Tipton and K.K. Downing trade off Stratocaster leads that are sharp enough to cut through marble. One of Priest's fastest songs ever! "Bloodstone" is THE perfect follow-up to "Ridin' On The Wind." It starts with a great slow, but intricate, electric guitar intro which melds into a catchy groove...and then the bass of Ian Hill and the drums of Dave Holland kick in. It's a great mid-tempo metal tune. "(Take These) Chains" is the one slow song on this album; it's a power ballad that existed even before the term first got into use (with Dokken's "Alone Again"). Written by the talented-yet-much-maligned songwriter Bob Halligan, Jr, it has been unfairly criticized by many Priest fans as being boring and trite. I say just the opposite: It is the perfect slow number, placed in just the right spot on the album, which provides a nice respite from the faster, heavier tracks before it and the ones to come after. "Pain and Pleasure" is a pumped-up mid-tempo song with some coy allusions to S&M. But then it's the title song, "Screaming For Vengeance" which is an ultra-blistering, ultra-screaming, ultra-muscular, ultra-speed-metal workout. It screams, shrieks, and skids right into "You've Got Another Another Thing Comin'" which is one of the greatest driving songs ever, and still one of Judas Priest's greatest tunes ever. The guitar solo is to die for. I've heard this song at least a thousand times in my life by now, and I never get sick of it. Next comes "Fever", which starts off soft (and is slower-paced in general) but it eventually turns into another great song to listen to while driving. "Devil's Child" is really cool, with a great Strat lead guitar solo and a catchy chorus ("I believe you're The Devil/I believe you're The Devil's child"). It provided a great end to this album when it was released back in '82.
But wait! Now there's more: We now get a previously unreleased song recorded in 1985 during the TURBO sessions, the seven-minute-plus epic love song "Prisoner of Your Eyes." Uncharacteristically for a Priest song, it begins with slow, swirling keyboards, and builds gradually into a rare Priest epic (that contains one hell of a beautiful extended guitar solo). Then we get a blistering live version of "Devil's Child" to finish things off.
Putting it simply, SCREAMING FOR VENGEANCE is one of the 10 greatest heavy metal albums EVER made. I wish that I could give the Remastered version TEN stars! MOST RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Judas priest album, Horrible overcompressed remaster sound quality (buy the 1990 CD release), May 1, 2009
By 
This review is from: Screaming for Vengeance (Audio CD)
This is a great Judas Priest record, but the sound quality of the remaster is too loud and overcompressed. The rerelease is a victim of the loudness war. Look for the 1990 CD release. The quality is much better on the original CD release (more dynamics)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mega Monster Metal Masterpiece!, April 27, 2010
By 
Rock~N~Rolla (Detroit Rock City, Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screaming for Vengeance (Audio CD)
Screaming for Vengeance is without a doubt one of the world's greatest Heavy Metal albums ever created, proving once again that the mighty Judas Priest are the Metal Gods of Heavy Metal. I don't know how they did it but the Priest just kept cranking out great album after great album over the years, and this one may just be their greatest ever.

The musical onslaught starts out strong with The Hellion/Electric Eye which assaults you with a blast of those amazing trademark twin guitars and monster beats accompanied by Halford's amazing vocals singing "Up here in space, I'm looking down on you, My lasers trace, Everything you do." This song is one of Judas Priest's most popular songs and a known concert staple, but that is only the beginning.

The next song is Riding on the Wind, an epic song just made for blaring loud while riding a Harley down the Highway. The cool mechanical bird on the album's cover (The Hellion) also comes to mind here as well.

Next is Bloodstone which is another great song, (Take these) Chains, Pain and Pleasure, and the superb title song, Screaming for Vengeance. And scream Halford does like a banshee. I just love it when he hits those high notes in this song, "Screeeaaaminnnnnnng for vengeance!" It gives me chills every time I hear it. And those amazing killer guitar riffs from Glenn Tipton, K.K. Downing and Ian Hill are unmatched excellence.

And just when you think it can't get any better, it does with the mega hit song, You've Got Another Thing Comin'. This is one of Judas Priest's most popular songs ever recorded. I can still remember back in the Hey Day of MTV in the early Eighties when this album was first released and viewing the video for this song which was played over and over again. It was always a highlight for me and my friends when it was shown, as all eyes were always glued to the screen when it would air, without fail.

The album comes to an end with yet even two more great tunes, the fantastic Fever, and the awesome closer, Devil's Child. Damn, this album is literally a greatest hits compilation! There is no filler here, folks. Every song is a winner. In my review for Judas Priest's British Steel album, I title it Judas Priest's Greatest Hits Volume 1. Well, this one may as well be called Judas Priest's Greatest Hits Volume 2. It's that good.

I know it's been said to the point of redundancy, but it's the truth...Judas Priest are the reigning Metal Gods of Heavy Metal and this album proves it once again.

Standout Tracks are : ALL OF THEM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second or number one? Can't decide..., December 8, 2008
By 
Six (Hell Centro, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screaming for Vengeance (Audio CD)
Well up until purchasing this gem, PAINKILLER was my go to Priest album... I picked this up at Wally world (sorry Amazon) for a ridiculous $6.88... remastered with bonus tracks, this is most likely Priests finest album from start to finish... While "Painkiller" wax's and wanes between hard(er) rock and heavy Metal, "Screaming" is Hard Rock Cranked to "15"... Both will tear your face off, so I guess bottom line, for those about to rock to "Painkiller" you need to own this as well, as it is no doubt, truly essential JUDAS PRIEST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "My tearless retina takes pictures that can prove...", June 7, 2007
By 
This review is from: Screaming for Vengeance (Audio CD)
Oh man, this is THE metal album! 5 stars all the way. Few may know that 'The Priest that is the Beast" was already pushing , what... seven years of metal already?!? This was the album that finally broke the American membrane, and unleashed them in the West. True die-hards knew of 'British Steel', but for the most part, we only knew of the MTV video of "Another Thing Comin'"

Every song on the album is real... searing... 'Priest' (except for the melodical 'Take These Chains') but listen to it with your metal babe, and I think you won't care to much. Don't worry, they bring it right back with 'Devil's Child' which is one of the greastest 'fillers' I've ever heard.

This album is essential Metal 101 for the collector of the 'Fine Heavy Arts'. Buy it, put it in, and offer your faith to the 'True Metal Gods'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One life, I'm gonna live it up!, May 4, 2007
This review is from: Screaming for Vengeance (Audio CD)
...the first words of the incredible, "You've Got Another Thing Coming". Words that everybody can relate to. And, of course, the rest of "Screaming for Vengeance" is just as great. This was one of the first heavy metal CDs I can remember buying, so it makes sense to me at least that I should share with the world my adoration for the classic, the timeless, "Screaming for Vengeance".

Throughout their years, Judas Priest has experimented with progressive metal (which they practically invented with the early classic "Victim of Changes"), speed metal, power metal, NWOBHM, and guitar-synth hair metal (Turbo was virtually as good as Van Halen at their magnum opus!). It's no wonder that with all of this under their belt, and their seniority (KK Downing and Ian Hill founded Priest in '68 or '69), Judas Priest laid the groundwork for countless heavy metal hopefuls to follow. That, and the fact that the first ever dual-lead guitar factor of KK Downing and Glenn Tipton, along with Rob Halford's marvelous vocals (he's up there with Ozzy Osbourne, Bruce Dickinson and Ronnie James Dio as one of the greatest frontmen in heavy metal), these guys are in a class of their own.

Now I will review my favorite tracks of "SFV". The first, four tracks are great enough as it is, and I'll get to that right now.

"The Hellion": A slow yet powerful introduction with a great riff. It has a kind of progressive energy that gets you ready for an excellent rocker.

"Electric Eye": A speedy, epic tune with a great vocal performance by Rob Halford and some blindingly amazing guitar work by KK and Gleen. The quick change at the bridge shows that progressive-styled music played a role in the band.

"Riding on the Wind": Love the energetic drum opening, followed by a fiery and lush guitar riff, along with Rob Halford's unstoppable falsetto wails. More great guitar soloing and this makes for a great cruising tune.

"Bloodstone": Great followup to "Riding on the Wind". The opening guitar riff is very New Wave of British Heavy Metal-styled. After that, the second lead guitar comes in and a funk-metal masterpiece is created. Of course, more soaring guitar soloing and Rob Halford's passionate vocal performance.

"Screaming For Vengeance": Very energetic song, with more soaring falsetto wails and a bit of noticeable progressive styling around the three-minute mark. Ends with a drone that goes into...

"You've Got Another Thing Coming": The single off the album, which makes for a great, driving song. Rob Halford gives a dramatic, vocal performance and the guitar solo is very inspired.

The rest of the songs are great, too, but like I previously stated, it's worth your money even for the first, four songs. I would probably put this as one of the ten greatest heavy metal albums, IMO. The selection is great and if you want an inspired, wonderfully-crafted and energetic heavy metal album, I'm almost certain you're gonna dig this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best metal albums EVER, April 13, 2007
By 
Chris Mooney (Pittsburgh , Pa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Screaming for Vengeance (Audio CD)
Forget all the negative stuff you have ever read about this album. This is the most commercially successful Priest album ever. 30 years later it still holds it's own. This album stands, like a sentry, at the gates of metal's golden era. When this first came out the local hard rock radio stations played this entire album, which was very unusual. The number of colossal cuts on here start with The Helion/Electric Eye, followed by Riding On The Wind, Devils Child and You've Got Another Thing Commin', which got major air time on every rock station. The rest of this release is also very good. If you like metal, you simply must own this piece of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The true definition of 80's metal!!, March 12, 2007
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Screaming for Vengeance (Audio CD)
This album captures an era in heavy metal before the genre was broken up into sub genres.This was metal the way it used to be before spandex and eyeliner started ruining everything.This album is fantastic.It's not pantywaist pop metal like Ratt and Poison and it's not hardcore thrash like Metallica and Slayer.It's a great example of early 80's metal.Every song is a winner.You won't find a bad song on here.

I have always considered Screaming For Vengeance to be Judas Priest's best recording and showcases the band at the top of their game.The opening instrumental"The Hellion" will hook you right away and it does'nt let go until the end of the album."Electric Eye" is always an instant classic."You've Got Another Thing Comin" was a huge radio hit.The title track just plain rocks along with "Devil's Child".Another one that stood out was "Fever" because I liked the way it started slow and built up steam."Riding On the Wind" was great because of the famous drum roll at the beginning and "Bloodstone" has those Black Sabbath like evil guitar riffs at the beginning of the song and was my favorite on here.Rob Halford gives his best vocal performance on this album as well.

This album is an enduring classic for all time and has really stood the test of time since its 1982 release.The last great Judas Priest recording at least for a while.No synths,no electric drum kits,no power ballads,just good old fashioned old school traditional heavy metal the way it was intended to be.Every 80's metal fan should own this album.If you don't have it,get it today!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.