Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Marketing Secrets
A great read and reference. If you want to better your screenwriting craft, get this book. I did and I learned.
Published 20 months ago by Gary W. Towner

versus
28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quirky book
Some excerpts from the book:
- A selection of remarks about God and quotes from the Bible in the front matter. Not a bad thing, just a bit unexpected in a book about marketing for the screen and stage.
- Half of the next page is about where to buy this book. If you're holding the book, the odds are good you don't need that information by then.
- Under...
Published on January 29, 2003 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quirky book, January 29, 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Screen & Stage Marketing Secrets (Paperback)
Some excerpts from the book:
- A selection of remarks about God and quotes from the Bible in the front matter. Not a bad thing, just a bit unexpected in a book about marketing for the screen and stage.
- Half of the next page is about where to buy this book. If you're holding the book, the odds are good you don't need that information by then.
- Under 'Author Biography' on the first page: "No recognition is desired by the author. Displaying credentials serves no purpose." Well, yes it does. It tells you what experience the author has, his level of 'authority' on the subject matter, what point of view he's writing from - a studio exec will have a different point of view than a script reader.
- "No Chapter 13" (yet there's a page number for it)
- "Chapter 14 - Introduction to Trap Shooting" and "Trap Shooting Writing Opportunities." No, I am not kidding. The author is sure that you'll meet people here. You just might, but how many of them are Hollywood types who can or will actually do anything for you is questionable. It doesn't matter because this section isn't about shmoozing; it instead extolls the virtues of trap shooting as an obsession.
The author also names 5 "must-see" movies - which are actually six. Three are classics: "The Terminator" (which he calls "Terminator 1") and "Terminator 2" (which is actually titled "Terminator 2: Judgment Day"), and "It's a Wonderful Life." No, I'm not being picky. If you're going to write about screenwriting, it's lazy not to bother to get the titles right.
He includes "The Cormorant," and "England Made Me," which he "believe[s] were filmed by British prodcos." Shouldn't an author have done his research for a book on this topic? (The sixth one is "The Last Shout," a TV-movie made from a British comedy series. Draw your own conclusions on that one.)
- "The 7-Day Plan To Be A Better Christian!" (Not a chapter, just a page, but not relevant to the subject either.)
I'm not faulting the author for his obsessions, but the book needs better focus on the topic at hand. One doesn't pay [$$$] for a hodge-podge of script marketing, Christian prosletyzing, and how to get into trap shooting.
It's also surprisingly amateurishly formatted for the price. The entire thing is in Courier font with an extra space between chapters. The book has few charts or lists (learn to use bullets!), and no index. It needs better formatting, an index, and someone besides the author to edit it.
The quality of the book overall (poor formatting, mediocre editing, fuzzy focus, lack of credentials, sloppy research, lazy writing, and lack of accuracy in something as ordinary as a film title) make me question the value and credibility of the overall content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Presented, October 1, 2008
By 
Jabberwock (Southern California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screen & Stage Marketing Secrets (Paperback)
I've been selling playscripts for forty years, and taught scriptwriting for thirty. My first successful play (and later, film) submissions happened when I used The Writer's Digest rules. Everything a playwright or screenwriter needs to know is in that book. (And please, always buy the current year!)

Assuming everyone knows about The Writer's Digest and its excellent reputation, here are a few words about "Screen & Stage Marketing Secrets." Those words are: Disorganized, poorly laid-out, drifting, unnecessary, confusing, and overpriced.

If you feel the need the spend money on what I would have titled "Some Adequate Ideas About Screenplay Submission and Christian Trap Shooting," also consider another scriptwriter's book. It will absolutely improve your scriptwriting skills. It's entitled "A (Screen Or Stage) Play In A Day," and is available here at Amazon. You can also download it right now at lulu dot com.

But please . . . consider sticking with the tried and true formatting and submission information laid out by The Writer's Digest. This book just isn't necessary for anyone with common sense and basic English skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marketing Secrets, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Screen & Stage Marketing Secrets (Paperback)
A great read and reference. If you want to better your screenwriting craft, get this book. I did and I learned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Warning! Horrified to find Utterly Wrong Info!, October 30, 2010
This review is from: Screen & Stage Marketing Secrets (Paperback)
I have no need for such a book by such an amateur, and didn't have to buy it to find errors while doing an internet search of my own firm. I was horrified to find my company (established 1997 listed in this sloppy self-published stack of errors (without permission) my (wrong) firm name and my (wrong) address and my (wrong) phone number -- and worst of all -- the utter lie that we charge a reading fee of 15%! This confidential consultancy doesn't charge ANY percentage for anything, period. He may not understand the difference between a consultant and an agency. Be warned.

If this Russell character can get so much wrong in one sentence, how could you trust the rest of his pages? Ugh. You get what you pay for. If you need marketing help, find a pro. We're out there (but not as listed in this sorry pile of paper. Good luck...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the basics of selling and marketing a script, December 5, 2005
This review is from: Screen & Stage Marketing Secrets (Paperback)
Learn all the basics of selling and marketing a script through the practical marketing guide Screen & Stage Marketing Secrets: Everything You Need To Know To Market Your Screenplay, TV Or Stage Play Script. This goes beyond advice on how to produce a script to focus on the nuts and bolts of how to market and protect one, from contacting production companies and increasing the possibility of a response to accessing the TV market. You don't have to have an agent to do it right - but you do have to have industry savvy, which Screen & Stage Marketing Secrets will provide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended Reading!, October 26, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Screen & Stage Marketing Secrets (Paperback)
"I have read many books about screenwriting including The Screenwriters Bible. Screen & Stage Marketing Secrets has so much information you need to study it. It's a great tool. Anyone who plans to write screenplays should read this book." - Frank Webb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Screen & Stage Marketing Secrets
Screen & Stage Marketing Secrets by James Russell (Paperback - January 1, 1998)
$34.95 $28.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.