Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


127 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything that you need to know to get started
If you are new to the scene and want to become familiar with the majority of the techniques that you may wish to try then this book is an excellent guide. To begin, it walks through the terminology, the basic mental and emotional elements in SM play, an overview of "scene" and how S&M relationships can be negotiated. Once the book has prepared you with the basic...
Published on December 30, 2000 by SH in Tampa

versus
67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Annoying
The reviews for this book are extensive, with most recommending this book for beginners, which I agree with. The book seems especially appropriate for people who may otherwise think SM is a bizarre and scary activity that appeals only to deviants. I think it would be an excellent way of introduction for a vanilla partner. What's good about this book-for me at least-was...
Published on December 11, 2001


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

127 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything that you need to know to get started, December 30, 2000
This review is from: Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns: The Romance and Sexual Sorcery of Sadomasochism (Paperback)
If you are new to the scene and want to become familiar with the majority of the techniques that you may wish to try then this book is an excellent guide. To begin, it walks through the terminology, the basic mental and emotional elements in SM play, an overview of "scene" and how S&M relationships can be negotiated. Once the book has prepared you with the basic elements of how to enjoy S&M play, it moves into actual techniques: a safety overview, waxing, bondage, flogging, spanking and humiliation. It finishes with a discussion of how to build, transport and hide your dungeon "toys".
Even if you are an experienced scene player, it is unlikely that you are conversant with every possible type of play, so this book serves as a helpful reminder of the basic techniques. While it does not cover the more extreme types of play - water sports, blood sports or mummification, it is comprehensive in it's coverage of the most standard types of play.
Although this book is written by a hetero male dominant and a female submissive, the words of wisdom contained are applicable to everyone. I personally found that having both partner's perspective was very helpful when trying to construct my own session.
If you are looking to get into S&M, this book is a great start to begin play at home. Miss's Abernathy's Concise Guide to Slave Training is an excellent next step. And once you are feeling confident in your private relationship, SM 101 by Jay Wiseman will give you enough credibility to feel comfortable in visiting "public" scene events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No contest ...best of its class, October 10, 2000
By 
Amazon Customer (London, Greater london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns: The Romance and Sexual Sorcery of Sadomasochism (Paperback)
With 25 five star reviews another is hardly necessary. But this book is everything it should be. its funny, its informative, its approachable and its fun! Easily the best "how to" book on D/s SM ever written.
"Screw the roses" covers most topics in SM play: bondage, spanking, humilation, flogging, types of whips, gear, contact groups, medical issues, safety issues, post-scene comforting and mental aspects. It goes into details on all of the less extreme practices. It treats the more extreme things such as breath play or cutting much more briefly, pretty much warning people off them.
It is full of practical advice and good safety tips. These are punctuated with amusing and erotic personal anecdotes that help keep the reading fun and light. One of the things I most admire about "Roses" is that safety is practically a mantra repeated through out the book. Overall a must have book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Annoying, December 11, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns: The Romance and Sexual Sorcery of Sadomasochism (Paperback)
The reviews for this book are extensive, with most recommending this book for beginners, which I agree with. The book seems especially appropriate for people who may otherwise think SM is a bizarre and scary activity that appeals only to deviants. I think it would be an excellent way of introduction for a vanilla partner. What's good about this book-for me at least-was almost completely overshadowed by the cutesy, juvenile attempts at humor that are found thoughout the book. Perhaps it "lightens up" the subject matter, but I found these attempts at humor tedious. Also, the illustrations and B&W photography is dreadful. They look like 3rd generation copies. The illustrations of knots and bondage-among other things-are pretty much useless since they're so unclear they can't be followed. While whether one appreciates the writing style is a subjective matter, there's no excuse for poor quality illustrations and photographs in a how-to book. Unfortunately, these are major flaws in what would otherwise be a good intro. to SM. I would expect better quality for a book in this price range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 88 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what you may have heard., November 13, 2001
By 
TammyJo Eckhart "TammyJo Eckhart" (Bloomington, Indiana United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns: The Romance and Sexual Sorcery of Sadomasochism (Paperback)
This is a good introductory guide on BDSM for heterosexual, male dominant and female submissive couples and for others who view BDSM as a form of sexual and romantic play. It is not, as some reviewers both on the book itself and elsewhere, claim the most complete BDSM guide today -- it never claims to be that either. It is simply what it claims, one couples' view of BDSM that may click well with others of a similar bent. However, the tone is a bit sarcastic at times and a bit "in scene" at other times and this may confuse very new people so I recommend other books such as the "Topping Book" and the "Bottoming Book" by Greenery Press first and if you can find a copy, Pat Califia's "Sensuous Magic" as a basic intro to the activities of SM. In 1,000 words there is little time to go into all the good and bad points about this book but I hope this can aid in deciding whether or not to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Information guideline for novices, January 8, 2000
By 
Katy "Rambling Woman" (AUSTIN, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns: The Romance and Sexual Sorcery of Sadomasochism (Paperback)
I have just recently entered this alternative lifestyle and wanted more information. Rather then badger my freinds with questions, I picked up this book. I devoured it. It disspelled any fiction that I had and gave me the cold hard facts.
Answered all questions I had, alleviate any fears and left me with nothnig but anticipation to put forth my newly acquired knowledge.
I would recomennd this book to anyone who was also looking to delve into this lifestyle or even for the passing curiosity people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns, August 20, 2001
By 
This review is from: Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns: The Romance and Sexual Sorcery of Sadomasochism (Paperback)
When I was first learning about SM, I was full of the usual stereotypes and misinformation about it. IMHO, to understand and appreciate SM, it is essential for one to realize that SM turns everything on its head. 'Nothing is what it seems', so to speak. Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns does that better than any other book I've read on the subject, and it does so with abundant love. After reading a few pages of Molly Devon and Philip Miller's book, my unfounded fears about what SM was began to melt away. The book is written with so much love and playfulness that one cannot help but see and feel it. And once the fear from all those inaccurate myths is dispelled, there is room for the *delicious* fears with which safe, sane, and consensual SM abounds. And the loving playfulness is contagious! For these reasons (in addition to those discussed by other reviewers), I highly recommend this book, *especially* for all novices. It is my very favorite! Read, learn, and enjoy.....yummmmm!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book was a "classic" for BDSM right away!, December 22, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns: The Romance and Sexual Sorcery of Sadomasochism (Paperback)
"Screw The Roses; Send Me The Thorns" is a fantastic book from two active members of the scene. The late Philip Miller, and his submissive Molly Devon wrote this *must* have book. They are familiar with eachother and the scene, with a twist of sardonic humor yet with a sensitive manner. They approach the issues at hand in a humoristic and warm way. Never does a person feel as if they are being "talked down to."
For those that are new/novice, to those that are senior members - this book provides a constant stream of information that is constantly updated. The book takes the basics, and gives the reader those definitions and explanations that will enable them to learn. Next, more information is then given for those that want to continue to explore. A fantastic reference book for those that are interested in gaining accurate information!
Fantastic series of resource listings in the back of the book! [re: BBS's, Periodicals, Groups & Organizations, Leather Resources [stores], Leather Resources [support], etc.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable book, May 11, 2000
By 
Todd Hawley (San Francisco CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns: The Romance and Sexual Sorcery of Sadomasochism (Paperback)
The deeper I got into this book, the more often I found myself saying "YES!" in agreement with Philip and Molly's philosophies about doing SM. This, along with SM 101 by Jay Wiseman is truly a "must have" book if you're serious about wanting to learn what SM is all about.
The book covers virtually every facet of play from descriptions of what each "type" of SM players are, looking out for the "wannabes," negotiation before playing, bondage techniques, flogging, spanking, and even humiliation.
Illustrations and photos are sprinkled liberally throughout the text and help to make the information that much more easy to understand and follow.
Since this book is now a few years old (I understand an update is forthcoming), the resource section is a bit outdated. Otherwise, this book is outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Screw the Roses is a fun & practical "how-to" on BDSM, July 8, 2002
By 
MarianLH (Somewhere OH, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns: The Romance and Sexual Sorcery of Sadomasochism (Paperback)
i don't know Mistress Prima Donna's problem is; this is a wonderful book. "Different Loving" is a valuable overview of the history and culture of the Scene, but it won't tell you how to tie someone up or what parts of the body are safe to whip, and its dry, textbook approach would put most newcomers off.
"Screw the Roses" is warm, witty, engaging, and fun, and it's loaded with practical "how-to" information. Phillip and Molly demystify and explain BDSM with an engaging enthusiasm and droll humour that would put almost anyone at ease. Between these pages the stereotype of "S&M" as a dark and shameful activity practised by perverted weirdos is transformed into a cheerful and friendly community populated by real human beings.
i'm on the Board of the Columbus chapter of the National Leather Association, and i often work with newcomers to the Scene. When they ask about books, i recommend this one first. There's more to learn about flogging, or bondage, or submission, or the other things we do, but "Screw the Roses" is the perfect beginner's book, with all the information (especially about safety) you need to get started, packed into a fun, unthreatening package. i can't say enough good things about this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, wonderfully insightful and a kick to read, February 28, 2001
This review is from: Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns: The Romance and Sexual Sorcery of Sadomasochism (Paperback)
"Screw the Roses..." is the answer to a thousand curiosities the uninitiated might have about the psychology of the world of SM and of its citizens. In addition to the thorough exposition on the mindset of SM people, it offers buckets of practical tips and advice for all, from beginner to experienced player/participant. The humor begins with the title and the disclaimer just inside, and extends all the way to the end, making "Screw the Roses..." probably the most amusing book available on psycho-sexuality. It is written from the authors' perspective of male dominant/female submissive, and though the rationale for doing so is presented respectfully and tastefully, it occasionally takes a bit of mental effort to apply an appropriate transposition. The pages on the basic psychology alone make this a worthy purchase; the coverage of so many other topics (tips & techniques, furnishing your dungeon/playroom, etc.) make this a book not to be missed if you have even the lightest interest or curiosity in SM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns: The Romance and Sexual Sorcery of Sadomasochism
$24.95 $20.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.