Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely delicious book!
As a calligrapher & lettering designer, I'm a glutton for letterforms. I own quite a few books on the subject, but this one really stands out. It offers an enormous variety of script styles & formats--from typefaces to handwriting to neon signs & more-- organized by country & covering a wide time-frame. The design of each page is a beautifully crafted visual treat. I find...
Published on September 2, 2011 by Curious Art

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
The insides aren't anything like the cover. Was hoping for more ideas similar to the cover
Published 1 day ago by Debbie Short


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely delicious book!, September 2, 2011
As a calligrapher & lettering designer, I'm a glutton for letterforms. I own quite a few books on the subject, but this one really stands out. It offers an enormous variety of script styles & formats--from typefaces to handwriting to neon signs & more-- organized by country & covering a wide time-frame. The design of each page is a beautifully crafted visual treat. I find myself browsing often for sheer pleasure, & it has already been an extremely valuable source of inspiration for my work. Anyone with an interest in lettering, type or design will find something to love about this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and inspiring!, May 17, 2011
By 
Trish Marie (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thank you Steven and Louise for sharing from your personal collection that I'm sure has taken a great deal of time to collect. The examples are grouped by country of origin (France, Britain, Germany, Italy and America) and each chapter provides a large assortment of examples. Anyone interested in typography and looking for inspiration for their own hand lettering projects with love this book, I do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unerring Eye, May 10, 2011
By 
S.Webb (NYC, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Since the kindle and the iPad I seldom purchase a hard cover book...this was the excellent exception.
This is an extraordinary collection of the everyday advertising that elevates signage and print into an art form.
Fili has an unerring eye for form and her collection covers the sophisticated to garish.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pictures of ideas, December 30, 2011
I guess the reason I find ephemera so fascinating is that it freezes ideas in time. Advertisements, specimen sheets, instruction guides, product labels, and other forms of printed matter that were never meant to outlive their immediate purpose, provide a snapshot of the producer's intent and reveal a designer's approach to solving a problem.

If you know the work of Fili and Heller, you might expect they'd have amassed a rather substantial collection of ephemera over the years. Heller, a former art director for the New York Times and well-known lecturer on the history of graphic design, has authored over 100 books on design and popular culture. Louise Fili, formerly a designer for Herb Lubalin and art director for Pantheon Books, has authored another twenty titles, many of them in collaboration with Heller (they are husband and wife).

Fili is among my favorite designers. If you have no idea why you'd want a book of this type, take a look at her portfolio of work. Though she offers a fresh and modern approach, you can't help but see the influences of 19th and early 20th century graphic design and typography.

Discovering, digesting, and deconstructing the work of others -- finding the essence of how disparate elements are arranged in order -- is part of the design mind's blessing/curse. Whether it's a conscious effort or gut-level assimilation, you can't help but absorb the layouts, typefaces, colors, and imagery that pass through your vision each day and mentally store them away. The beauty of this book is that it captures some of the best of what these two experienced designers have found and distills it in a form we can easily access.

The book is virtually all images -- there are brief introductions to each section and footnotes, but just enough to supply the necessary orientation. The wonderful cover design was created by Louise Fili and John Passafiume. (I'm told that another favorite of mine, Jessica Hische, worked on the early stages of the interior design.)

I have hundreds of design books on the shelves around me. And, though I love digital, I love print too. I get some indescribable sense of satisfaction knowing that the thoughts of so many good designers and tens of thousands of their designs are by my side.

Here is my review complete with photographs >[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book with historical context., October 20, 2011
By 
Jeffrey C. Devey (Twin Falls, ID, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an excellent book for anyone interested in hand lettering and the history of the script. It's easy to be inundated by the sheer number of images in the book (in a good way), which makes it a reference book I'll come back to again and again. The images are from both American and European sources, most of which date to the first half of the twentieth century. There is a brief historical introduction at the beginning of each section which provides a context for the images that follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Collection of Found Letters, December 27, 2012
By 
This review is from: Scripts: Elegant Lettering from Design's Golden Age (Paperback)
This book is really a great compilation of old lettering. There's not any real substance or instruction to it, but it will give you a good amount of ideas for projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Letterforms Overdose!!, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scripts: Elegant Lettering from Design's Golden Age (Paperback)
This is a awesome book if you're looking for lettering references from all over europe, it has alot of letter forms its amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, February 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scripts: Elegant Lettering from Design's Golden Age (Paperback)
This is an excellent reference book showing historic photos and scans of signs and print material. It served very useful when researching a project requiring an authentic Italian script that was not too fussy. There was enough variety of styles featured to give me a good sense of where we needed the type to be.

This book is a type history mini-course in a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful guide, March 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scripts: Elegant Lettering from Design's Golden Age (Paperback)
I ordered this for my daughter in college who is majoring in Illustration. She uses it to help her learn different types of script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good material, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scripts: Elegant Lettering from Design's Golden Age (Paperback)
Nice big book filled with beautiful letterings from different countries.
I great collection book for people who love typography, calligraphy or lettering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Scripts: Elegant Lettering from Design's Golden Age
Scripts: Elegant Lettering from Design's Golden Age by Steven Heller (Paperback - November 12, 2012)
$29.95 $19.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.