Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good defense agaist Catholicism, but the debate has moved on
As the title implies, Scripture Alone is a book which seeks to explain and defend the Protestant doctrine of Sola Scriptura. White focuses primary on the doctrine of the sufficiency of Scripture, which he defines as follows:

The Scriptures are not in need of any supplement; their authority comes from their nature as God-breathed revelation; their authority is...
Published on August 24, 2005 by Bryce Hales

versus
8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Canon is the Weak Link
On the positive side, I learned some new challenges to the Catholic canon of Scripture, specifically the confusion surrounding the "Esdras" books and also regarding the vote at the Council of Trent on the Old Testament.

On the negative side, the Esdras argument that White makes doesn't work because the situation is quite ambiguous as to which "Esdras" book was...
Published on May 12, 2010 by Devin Rose


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Biblically sound defense of Scripture, February 28, 2013
This review is from: Scripture Alone: Exploring the Bible's Accuracy, Authority and Authenticity (Paperback)
James White gives the biblical explanation for scripture to be the sole source for Christian living. He walks readers through key biblical passages that explain how both Old Testament and New Testament scripture is to be THE authority in Christianity and how that leads Christians to follow the Bible in their faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!, January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scripture Alone: Exploring the Bible's Accuracy, Authority and Authenticity (Paperback)
Great work on Sola Scriptura! James White examines the issue thoroughly and biblically. The format of the work is interesting as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scripture Alone: Exploring the Bible's Accuracy, Authority and Authenticity (Paperback)
Like the other works of James R. White, this is Scripturally solid and provides great reasoning. A must read for Christians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enlightening and a great defense of this essential doctrine, April 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scripture Alone: Exploring the Bible's Accuracy, Authority and Authenticity (Paperback)
James White continues to remain faithful to the Scriptures and provides a clear, understandable, and thorough analysis of the doctrine of Sola Scriptura, and presents why it is necessary and why it is the truth. I definitely recommend it to anyone and everyone. Thank you James!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy to understand as he does with the profound truths ..., November 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
James White is clear, easy to understand as he does with the profound truths revealed in Scripture. As a former Catholic, Pentacostal, Arminian Fundamentalist, James White in this book and in Alpha and Omega videos has helped me deepen my understanding of Reformed theology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Canon is the Weak Link, May 12, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scripture Alone: Exploring the Bible's Accuracy, Authority and Authenticity (Paperback)
On the positive side, I learned some new challenges to the Catholic canon of Scripture, specifically the confusion surrounding the "Esdras" books and also regarding the vote at the Council of Trent on the Old Testament.

On the negative side, the Esdras argument that White makes doesn't work because the situation is quite ambiguous as to which "Esdras" book was meant in some old canonical lists; White portrays it as open and shut and doesn't reveal that it is unclear with the evidence weighing more toward the Catholic side.

I was looking most forward to the canon of Scripture arguments, and I was disappointed in his handling of it, essentially a regurgitation of Calvin's "God's Word is self-attesting" claim, where the way we know it is self-attesting is through the Holy Spirit in the heart of the believer. The problem with this idea is its subjectivity, borne out by the fact that, Catholics, Orthodox, and Protestants all have different canons of Scripture, and that the canon was discerned by the early Church over a time period of 300 years, and that even in the 1500s, the canon was still open enough to be challenged by Luther: both the 4 books of the New Testament that he rejected and the 7 Old Testament books which the rest of the Reformers ultimately agreed with him on.

If God intended us to know the canon by the Holy Spirit teaching us in our hearts, it is odd that 1) it took so long for the early Church to discern the canon, and that 2) the early Church and the "Churches" from 400 - 1500 AD got the canon wrong.

The reality is that either God protected the Church from error in her discernment of the canon or he didn't. Protestants do not believe that he did, so they cannot have conscience-binding certainty in their canon. In fact, given Protestantism's position on it, no Christian can have conscience-binding certainty on their canon, which fatally undermines the doctrine of sola Scriptura (since we do not even know which books make up our Scripture).

White comes across as arrogant and bombastic in the book, but I expected that from reading his other works. I was simultaneously reading books by Cardinal Ratzinger (now Pope Benedict) and Anglican theologian N.T. Wright, and Mr. White's writing seems sophomoric and shallow compared with theirs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scripture Alonr, August 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dr. White brings a fresh look into sola scriptura. It is also a great tool for those of us self proclaimed apologists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love God more with every page I turn, October 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scripture Alone: Exploring the Bible's Accuracy, Authority and Authenticity (Paperback)
Dr. James White is way smarter than I am! I love God more with every page I turn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, February 25, 2005
This review is from: Scripture Alone: Exploring the Bible's Accuracy, Authority and Authenticity (Paperback)
It is clear that this book puts forth a clear understanding and fair review of the topic at hand. Dr. James White spends time giving us exactly what we need to decipher truth from error. It is a shame that others have misrepresented Dr. White using blatant false claims. Those such as Dr. Art Sippo apparently did not even read the book. He simply had an agenda against Dr. White, and used this posting to commence his activities. This book is an excellent resource for any student of Scripture, whether Catholic, Protestant, or other. It is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White at his best., March 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scripture Alone: Exploring the Bible's Accuracy, Authority and Authenticity (Paperback)
Loved it.

The following quotations prove that the Fathers considered the Scriptures as both sufficient and the highest authority in the church.

Irenaeus, Against Heresies, Book III.

We have learned from none others the plan of our salvation, than from those through whom the Gospel has come down to us, which they did at one time proclaim in public, and, at a later period, by the will of God, handed down to us in the Scriptures, to be the ground and pillar of our faith.

Athanasius; Against the Heathen, I:3.

The holy and inspired Scriptures are fully sufficient for the proclamation of the truth.

Athanasius, De Synodis.

Vainly then do they run about with the pretext that they have demanded Councils for the faith's sake; for divine Scripture is sufficient above all things; but if a Council be needed on the point, there are the proceedings of the Fathers, for the Nicene Bishops did not neglect this matter, but stated the doctrine so exactly, that persons reading their words honestly, cannot but be reminded by them of the religion towards Christ announced in divine Scripture.

John Chrysostom, Homily 8 On Repentance and the Church, p. 118, vol. 96 TFOTC.

Regarding the things I say, I should supply even the proofs, so I will not seem to rely on my own opinions, but rather, prove them with Scripture, so that the matter will remain certain and steadfast.

Gregory of Nyssa, On the Holy Trinity.

For if custom is to avail for proof of soundness, we too, surely, may advance our prevailing custom; and if they reject this, we are surely not bound to follow theirs. Let the inspired Scripture, then, be our umpire, and the vote of truth will surely be given to those whose dogmas are found to agree with the Divine words.

Gregory of Nyssa, On the Soul and the Resurrection.

We are not entitled to such licence, I mean that of affirming what we please; we make the Holy Scriptures the rule and the measure of every tenet; we necessarily fix our eyes upon that, and approve that alone which may be made to harmonize with the intention of those writings.

Basil, The Morals, p. 204, vol 9 TFOTC

What is the mark of a faithful soul? To be in these dispositions of full acceptance on the authority of the words of Scripture, not venturing to reject anything nor making additions. For, if `all that is not of faith is sin' as the Apostle says, and `faith cometh by hearing and hearing by the Word of God,' everything outside Holy Scripture, not being of faith, is sin.

Basil, On the Holy Spirit, 7.

We are not content simply because this is the tradition of the Fathers. What is important is that the Fathers followed the meaning of the Scripture.

Basil, Moralia, 72:1.

The hearers taught in the Scriptures ought to test what is said by teachers and accept that which agrees with the Scriptures but reject that which is foreign.

Augustine, Contra litteras Petiliani, Bk 3, ch. 6.

If anyone preaches either concerning Christ or concerning His church or concerning any other matter which pertains to our faith and life; I will not say, if we, but what Paul adds, if an angel from heaven should preach to you anything besides what you have received in the Scriptures of the Law and of the Gospels, let him be anathema.

Cyril of Jerusalem, Catechetical Lectures, IV:17.

For concerning the divine and holy mysteries of the Faith, not even a casual statement must be delivered without the Holy Scriptures; nor must we be drawn aside by mere plausibility and artifices of speech. Even to me, who tell you these things, give not absolute credence, unless you receive the proof of the things which I announce from the Divine Scriptures. For this salvation which we believe depends not on ingenious reasoning, but on demonstration of the Holy Scriptures.

Augustine, De Unitate Ecclesiae, 10.

Neither dare one agree with catholic bishops if by chance they err in anything, but the result that their opinion is against the canonical Scriptures of God.

Augustine, De Unitate Ecclesiae, 3.

Whatever they may adduce, and wherever they may quote from, let us rather, if we are His sheep, hear the voice of our Shepherd. Therefore let us search for the church in the sacred canonical Scriptures.

Augustine, On Christian Doctrine, II, 9.

For among the things that are plainly laid down in Scripture are to be found all matters that concern faith and the manner of life.

Augustine, De Bono Viduitatis.

What more shall I teach you than what we read in the apostles? For Holy Scripture fixes the rule for our doctrine, lest we dare be wiser than we ought. Therefore I should not teach you anything else except to expound to you the words of the Teacher.

Hippolytus, Against the Heresy of One Noetus, 9.

There is, brethren, one God, the knowledge of whom we gain from the Holy Scriptures, and from no other source... so all of us who wish to practise piety will be unable to learn its practice from any other quarter than the oracles of God. Whatever things, then, the Holy Scriptures declare, at these let us look; and whatever things they teach, these let us learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Scripture Alone: Exploring the Bible's Accuracy, Authority and Authenticity
$16.00 $14.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.