Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 3 overview
Season 3 of Scrubs is one of the best seasons on TV. This season we get to see Michael J. Fox and Scott foley, among others. here is a complete overview.

47. My American Girl, (10/2/03)

A run-in with her old flame Sean and an accident in her new car leads Elliot to the realization that nothing good has happened to her in the three years that she has...
Published on February 9, 2006 by P. Burgos

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE THIS SHOW
I got a used set so I can't really complain but its missing a disk. Other than that its one of my favorite shows if you don't get my humor you probably don't watch this show. :) SOUP SHOWER!!!
Published on January 30, 2013 by mommacupcake


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

103 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 3 overview, February 9, 2006
Season 3 of Scrubs is one of the best seasons on TV. This season we get to see Michael J. Fox and Scott foley, among others. here is a complete overview.

47. My American Girl, (10/2/03)

A run-in with her old flame Sean and an accident in her new car leads Elliot to the realization that nothing good has happened to her in the three years that she has been at Sacred Heart. This realization drives her to take drastic measures, including a complete makeover, both inside and out, in an attempt to change her luck. Meanwhile, JD gets stuck with a patient whose diagnosis he can't quite pin down, and when Dr. Cox denies him any assistance, he looks to Carla and Turk to help him out. While Dr. Cox is busy not helping J.D., he takes the time to make amends with Dr. Kelso.

48. My Journey (10/10/03)

J.D. is feeling left out of his friendship with Turk, and gets hurt when Turk is scared of opening up to him. Meanwhile, Carla is driven crazy over an unidentified urine sample and Elliot tries to balance Sean and her career, so that one doesn't end up getting in the way of the other.

49. My White Whale (10/23/03)

Finding difficulties training his interns, J.D. asks to Elliot for some help. She tells J.D about Sean, who gave Elliot great tips based on his dolphin training that fit perfectly for her interns. Dr. Cox finds the ideal pediatrician for his son: Dr. Norris, who acts and looks just like him. However, Dr. Cox is quick to find a problem with him once Jack develops a cough that scares both him and Jordan.

50. My Lucky Night (10/30/03)

Sean is a bit surprised and disturbed to learn about Elliot and JD's history together, but it turns out his anger is really a cover up for the fact that his six months long trip and he doesn't want Elliot to explode. Dr. Cox. is forced to swallow his pride and actually ask for help when he decides to throw his hat in the ring for the Residency Director position at the hospital. Carla picks up an extra shift as a surgical nurse, which allows her to spend the day working alongside with Turk, to his great annoyance.

51. My Brother, Where Art thou? (11/6/03)

Dan decides to stay with J.D. for a while after their mom's new fiancé kicks him out, but after spending some quality time with him at the hospital, Dan isn't sure if he likes the cynical person his little brother has become. Elliot tries to deal with her own problems of a long-distance relationship and decides to try moonlighting as a pet examiner with Carla to save up money.

52. My Advice to you (11/13/03)

A chance meeting in the elevator sparks a new friendship between J.D. and the mysterious Danni whose ongoing dialogue about her ex forces J.D. to talk about his feelings for Elliot. Carla's brother Marco comes to visit, but he still hasn't forgiven Turk for mistaking him for a valet at their mother's funeral. Unfortunately, Turk can't even apologize because Marco can't speak anything but Spanish. At the hospital, Dr. Cox relishes his new job promotion but is surprised when J.D. doesn't follow his lead in contradicting Dr. Kelso's orders.

53. My Fifteen Seconds (11/20/03)

As J.D.'s relationship with Danni progresses, he and Dr. Cox are forced to spend more time together outside of the hospital, to Perry's great chagrin.Meanwhile, as they each deal with problems in their own relationships, Carla and Elliot work to find their own balance between their personal and professional relationships. Dr. Kelso accidentally punctures his eardrums giving the hospital staff an opportunity to tell him how they truly feel about him.

54. My Friend The Doctor (12/4/03)

Turk is happy that he finally makes it through a solo surgery without the assistance of an attending surgeon. Dr. Cox dreads the fact that he is getting older. JD also makes a discovery as he finds out that many of the hospital staff don't know the Janitor as JD does.

55. My Dirty Secret (12/11/03)

Elliot's feeling uncomfortable using clinical terms for her patient's private parts - a result of a repressed childhood and an accidental orgasm she inflicted on a patient during a pelvic exam - so Carla tries to teach her how to say "vagina" and "penis" without blushing. Meanwhile, Dr. Cox crashes at J.D. and Turk's after taking bad advice from J.D. Carla suggests no more sex until the wedding and Turk only comes to terms with it after learning the real meaning of romance from a patient with prostate cancer. Ultimately Carla backs down on her own idea when she has a stressful day at work finally letting people make fun of her.

56. My Rule of Thumb (1/22/04)

Carla and Elliot try to help a patient, Maggie, lose her virginity as she prepares to die. Walking in on her sister and Dr. Cox prompts Danni to move in with J.D. Dr. Cox attempts to convince Turk to do a kidney transplant for a patient he has "moved up" the list. But a personal grudge seems to stand in the way and may decide whether the patient lives or dies.

57. My Clean Break (2/3/04)

J.D. tries to break-up with Danni, but she beats him to it when she realizes that she will always be second place to Elliot in his heart. Dr. Cox suddenly becomes a nice guy and Elliot changes back to her old self after Dr. Kelso criticizes her new look.

58. My Catalyst (2/10/04)

J.D. believes he may have finally found a mentor in Dr. Kevin Casey, a surgeon with obsessive-compulsive disorder, and it turns out that Dr. Cox has always been jealous of the guy. Meanwhile, Janitor and his new assistant help Kelso out with a garbage problem.

59. My Porcelain God (2/17/04)

Elliot finds herself perplexed over a simple procedure that leaves her questioning her career path. She goes to seek Dr. Kevin Casey's advice but becomes frustrated when she learns that the epiphany toilet, which the Janitor secretly installed on the roof, is getting more attention than she is. Meanwhile, Turk asks JD to be his best man at his wedding, which sends JD into sheer bliss momentarily until he hears a phone message that makes him question his friendship with Turk.

60. My Screw Up (2/24/04)

Jordan's brother and sister return but Dr. Cox learns his brother-in-law Ben hasn't visited a doctor about his cancer in the 2 years he has been gone traveling the world.

61. My Tormented Mentor (3/2/04)

Jordan's friends Allison and Maddie come to town to provide moral support for Jordan after her brother's death - however, their constant presence does not provide any relief to Dr. Cox. Meanwhile, Turk tries to impress the new female surgeon, Dr. Miller, but his first encounter serves only to leave him baffled by the opposite sex yet again. Attempting to reinforce the policy on sexual harassment at Sacred Heart, Carla is forced to teach a course where Dr. Kelso is the number-one student.

62. My Butterfly (3/16/04)

An ever present butterfly prompts the question on what could have happened different as Turk looks for his lucky do-rag for surgery, and Elliot tries to find a lost stuffed animal for a child needing a bone marrow transplant.

63. My Moment of Un-Truth (3/30/04)

JD must keep a secret when Carla's "what-if" guy asks her out on a date. Meanwhile, on the other side of the argument, Carla hounds Turk for checking out other women. Elliot is also on the spot as Dr. Cox and Dr. Kelso both advise her not to give her patient drugs as they suspect he is an addict faking pain.

64. His Story II (4/6/04)

Turk has to confront a young patient of his when he accidentally cuts a nerve and the boy (who happens to be a concert pianist) loses use of one of his hands. Meanwhile, one of Elliot's patients unintentionally teaches her a lesson about her relationship with J.D.

65. My Choosiest Choice of All (4/20/04)

JD hooks up with Danni again after Sean returns, but he can't forget about his passionate night with Elliot. Meanwhile, Perry realizes he might actually have a crush on the one doctor he loathes.

66. My Fault (4/22/04)

Elliot asks Sean to move in with her, which only adds to JD's problems. Turk is unsure why Dr. Miller's attitude towards him has changed, until he finds out Carla un-invited her from their wedding. Kelso outrages Dr. Cox when he announces that Sacred Heart will begin doing full body scans, starting with an ever present hypocondriac patient who wants any freebies he can get.

67. My Self-Examination (4/27/04)

JD is unsure what to do when realizes he made a mistake telling Elliot he loved her. The Janitor squares off against Dr. Cox after he loses the election of the janitors to Randall. Carla's brother Marc constantly puts Turk in a tough situation when Turk forgets to write his wedding vows.

68. My Best Friends Wedding (5/4/04)

The big day for Turk and Carla has finally arrived but a patient holds up Turk. With Elliot still angry at him, JD attempts to reconcile her with Sean as a way to make every thing right again in their friendship.

Look for Season 4 and 5 to come out within the next year!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better and better, February 1, 2006
By 
Marinergirl (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Unlike most other shows out there, Scrubs just gets better and better as it goes on. Even now, five years later, the storylines are still fresh and original (although some of the slapstick aspects get reduced, reused, and recycled over and over again, like the hospital barbershop quartet). Scrubs is so different than other plastic sitcoms out there with their fake laugh tracks and completely unfunny storylines. This show still has a modest viewership, but it deserves more as it is intellectually and comedically superior to most of the other stuff out there.

Season 3 keeps rolling right along, with some great stories as well as some heartbreaking ones. I'm really looking to season 4, when Tom Cavanaugh guest stars as JD's brother and spends an entire episode in the bathtub. But, it looks like these sets are being released every six months, so we can look forward to a season 4 release in November.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the Finest Season yet???..........., March 2, 2006
So....your thinking of buying the third series of Scrubs, and the question you probably want to know is "Is this worth the $29 dollars that retailers are selling it for??

Well...the answer is made much easier if you're an existing fan of the series. But there is certainly a progression in the series, that will make it harder for those of you that have missed the majority of the first two seasons. The cast all return for the third season, which makes the show seem consistent with the previous seasons, and means that there are no missing central characters that are solely missed (or even ignored for the third season).

What has changed ever so slightly for Scrubs, is the reluctance to completely rely on slapstick or physical humour that was so prevalent in the first series. And the writers have taken the bold step of padding out episodes with much more in the way of witty dialogue and situation scenarios, and fleshing out the development of the more minor characters in the show (the Janitor has a much bigger role, this time around), plus the relationships of the characters within the show are central/reoccurring themes throughout this season: (Dr Cox/Jordan & Turk/Carla's relationship's feature heavily throughout), and although "J.D." is still the pivotal character of the show, a larger percentage of the running time is now allocated to some of the other central characters, such as: Elliot, Dr Cox & Turk.

I'll admit that as much as I loved the second series (and still do), it took a little while longer for me to dial into the second season, than the first season, as the pacing of the second seasons first couple of episodes seemed a little slower and a little more serious in tone. The trademark offbeat humour still remained, but it wasn't as prominent as it was in the first series. But as the series continued, it gained more momentum and retained all the superb aspects of the show that we all enjoy. And going back and watching the second series several times, reveals a series that seemed more of a transitional series and probably added a little bit more in the way of substance than the first series. (although I slightly preferred the knockabout/goofy approach of the first series).

The third series manages to strike a fine balance between the previous two series, with less of the difficulty in the transition from farcical and truly bizarre jokes of the first series, against some of the more downbeat, dramatic and emotionally charged episodes of the second series. But the third season skilfully mixes between the two styles and successfully maintains the momentum without any real drops or dips in grabbing the viewers attention. In fact some of the humour in this season is arguably some the finest so far, with easily as many `laugh out loud' moments in this series, as any of the previous two seasons. And manages to beautifully avoid the dreaded case of 'Diminishing returns', that some sitcoms are prone to.

But probably the most impressive thing, that writers have done is create episodes with a strong message, poignant moods, serious themes, or heartfelt emotions and construct/devise episodes that have some of the most memorable emotion impact in the entire series. A lot has been mentioned of the episode: "My Screw Up", and it is definitely...if not the most emotionally and intelligently written episode of the entire shows existence, than it almost certainly is considered in most peoples `Top three' favourite/most memorable episodes. And it truly deserves to be seen, and highlights the show writers truly hitting their stride.

But thankfully this series manages to pack in some truly superb episodes with "My Catalyst" (with a fantastic performance from "Michael J Fox"), "My Lucky night", "My friend the Doctor" all being a couple of my personal favourites & "My Butterfly" being an particularly innovate episode. And something else that you will notice about this season is that the guest appearances has slightly increased, with the shows popularity...with more high profile stars making successful appearances.

If you're an existing Scrubs fan and you`re unsure as to whether or not to fork out for this season, than rest assured that buying Season 3 is a complete no-brainer. With the quality of the show yet to highlight any obvious dips in quality. And the humour still as incredibly surreal and razor-sharp as it's always been. If anything, this could possibly be...overall in terms of entertaining, most memorable and lasting episodes, the best season so far!! But for those of you that are fairly new to Scrubs or have only watched a handful of episodes, than as much as it pains me to say this, you should consider getting the 1st season first, and start working your way towards the 3rd season. I tried getting my girlfriend into Scrubs by showing her some of the 3rd season, and although she enjoyed it...she still wasn't entirely convinced. But after showing her the First season....and allowing the continuity of the show , and the development of the characters personalities and relationships with each other, begin to take hold and make sense of the branching plotlines, her enjoyment of the show increased immensely. Either way....you will eventually need to own this, as it some of the funniest and repeatedly watchable shows I've seen in a loooong time, absolutely Essential!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, Season Three of one of TVs finest shows, February 12, 2006
Why it is taking so long to bring out this great show on DVD is a mystery to me, but thank god they are finally doing it. Let's just hope that they don't dawdle on Seasons Four and Five.

Although SCRUBS was a quality show from the very beginning, Season Three stands out for the quality both of the individual episodes and the manner in which they developed the various story arcs. All the nutty and frequently surreal humor is still there and the show doesn't skimp at all on laughs, but it does an increasingly good job of going into issues surrounding understanding the behavior of central characters. Although the focus on one level is the impending marriage of Turk and Carla, much time is spent on the pathology of JD's relationships, not exclusively but primarily the one between him and Elliot. The result of this is that all the characters are far less one dimensional and cartoonish than in most comedies.

More and more various shows rely on prominent guest stars during sweeps and few shows can top SCRUBS in this regard. Scott Foley plays Elliot's Season Three boyfriend. Though he was in an earlier season, we didn't learn then that he is a marine biologist, and their relationship is put on hold for most of the year when he goes to New Zealand for a research project. Not to be outdone, the show provides for many episodes a girlfriend in the person of the lovely Tara Reid. Brendan Frasier reprises his role as Jordan's happy-go-lucky brother Ben, while Michael J. Fox has a wonderful appearance as a brilliant doctor/surgeon with severe OCD. And how about that priest who looks like George Takei, Mr. Sulu from STAR TREK? Played, of course, by George Takei.

And then there is JD and Elliot. It really is difficult to over praise the job that Zach Braff does in this series. He has to strike the right balance between being a nerdy loser and puppy dog who dotes on every word and token of praise by his mentor Dr. Cox, while still managing to be convincing as a competent doctor. Fortunately he almost always hits the right tone. Sarah Chalke as Elliot is adorable as can be, despite being a complete hottie managing to project a nerdy girl with confidence issues. In Season Three she decides to become more her own person, and takes on a somewhat aggressive new look, with a hair-do that is just a bit over-the-top, with hair falling over her heavily rouged eyes. To be honest, it isn't a look that becomes her, but the extremity was intentional, one that she tones down slightly after a run in with Kelso. Although having a boyfriend (Scott Foley's Sean) keeps her unavailable most of the season, there is still a reprisal of things with JD at the end of the season. This is, perhaps, the lone false note of the season. It is a dilemma widely known as the David and Maddie syndrome. Though MOONLIGHTING had a long tease between the two lead characters that fans adored through the show's first three seasons, once they got together, most of the tension dissipated and the ratings crashed. Since then, all shows, whether comedies or dramas, have striven to keep potential romantic partners apart than have them get together. Although JD and Elliot have had several sexual encounters, in the first two seasons they were convinced that although close friends and great sexual partners, they didn't have the right make up to be romantically involved. The end of Season Three sees JD declaring his love for Elliot, Elliot dumping her boyfriend to be with JD, and then JD instantly losing interest in her romantically as soon as she comes to him. My own feeling is that they had at this point milked this too often. I would have liked to see the two be a couple and have Bill Lawrence and his writers work to overcome the curse of David and Maddie. There are, of course, more seasons to come, but this seemed to me the right place to deal with the issue.

Nonetheless, this was a great season indeed. Everything is clicking from new variations in JD's battle with The Janitor (who he discovers once had a small part in THE FUGITIVE, Neil Flynn, who plays The Janitor, having been in that film as a cop) to a new assertiveness by staff legal advisor Ted to a host of new ways to high-five by the Todd. The great news is that Seasons Four and Five are also great. If only they will get around to bringing them out in a timely fashion. This is a great show, but frankly studios do their shows a disservice by not having all previous seasons out on DVD. Fans can create new fans by sharing DVDs. I'm always sharing my copies of ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT and VERONICA MARS and BUFFY and FARSCAPE to people who are about to become of those shows. Right now it is harder to do that with SCRUBS with so few seasons available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrubs, A Show That Is Funny & Emotionally Moving. Truly One Of The Best Shows On Television Right Now, May 8, 2006
By 
Kaya Savas (Studio City, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
REVIEW: Scrubs is one of my favorite shows on television. I knew it was something special from the very first episode. It has a certain charisma that is rarely found in any other television show. Each of the characters are unique with completely different personalities that counter each other to create perfect comedic situations. You have J.D and Dr. Cox, J.D and Janitor, Dr. Cox and Dr. Kelso, Dr. Kelso and Ted, Elliot and Carla, Carla and Dr. Cox, Dr. Cox and Jordan, I mean the list goes on. All these characters balance and counter each other perfectly. They play off each other, and it also helps that the show's writing is absolutely perfect. In my opinion, Season 3 is the best season of the show thus far, though the current season right now is rivaling it. In Season 3 the characters come into full bloom, and the actors are all comfortable playing them. The set comes with all 22 episodes spread on 3 discs. The writing is more involving, you have tons of storylines between each of them. Every episode feels fresh. The reason why Scrubs is so special is that the lessons learned by the characters in the show relate to real life experiences that we all have had. The audience has so much to relate to, and can identify with at least one character if not two. We all know a Dr. Cox in our life, we've all had insecure friends like Elliot. The characters are fleshed out to perfection. The season also had some amazing guest stars. The best being Michael J. Fox's appearance on two episodes in the season, which are two more examples of episodes being emotionally involving. The show is also the only show I know that can switch tone from comedy to drama instantly and still work. I am not ashamed to say that there have been several Scrubs episodes that were so moving that they brought me to tears. Season 3 has one of my favorite episodes of the series, and that is the one guest starring Brendan Fraser. Not only was it laugh out funny, but extremely touching and sad. Scrubs is the best comedy on television right now, and I was appalled at how NBC just shoved it aside this past season. They pulled it from the fall schedule and moved it to be a mid-season filler incase any other new shows failed to make it. Hopefully, in the case that Scrubs doesn't make it with NBC then ABC will take it since it is a Disney show.

VIDEO: If you own the first two seasons then you probably know what to expect. Scrubs is one of the few shows that is still shot in the 4:3 aspect ratio and not in high definition or widescreen. The picture is good though, but not as sharp as other shows that are on right now. It's no different than watching when it's on TV.

AUDIO: The Season 1 DVD had a 2.0 mix, and they brought 5.1 with the second season. Season 3 has a Dolby Digital 5.1 mix that is greatly appreciated, not so much for the dialogue but for the great music used at the ends of most episodes. Since the show is dialogue based, it doesn't really utilize the surround speakers. However, the 5.1 mix is good for spreading around hospital noises like machines that are whirring, beeps, typing, and all other typical ambient noises.

SPECIAL FEATURES: Those who bought the first two seasons know that the Scrubs seasons are plentiful when it comes to entertaining bonus features. Buena Vista as a whole is great when it comes to TV series on DVD. I own the first season of LOST and that too had great bonus features, Scrubs Season 3 is no different. We have a smorgasbord of great featurettes and hilarious deleted scenes and out-takes. The thing is that with every season so far all the bonus features are fresh and original. No repeat of the same kind of featurette over and over through the seasons. On this set you'll find some great stuff behind Elliot and The Todd, and a look at the guest stars of the season. You also have two commentaries, which are pretty fun to listen to.

BOTTOM LINE: A great DVD for a great season of a great show. Scrubs remains to be that breath of fresh air that I look forward to every week. Hopefully we will get a few more seasons before the show decides to end, because as of now it show's no signs of running out of steam. Every episode is refreshing and original, chock-full of great dialogue and great acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Season, February 1, 2006
A Kid's Review
To me, i personally think Season 3 is the best season of all 4, excluding season 5 since i live in the UK and i havn't seen it yet. Plus, season 5 hasn't finished yet.

Season 3 is the best because it holds some of the greates episodes ever created including My Screw Up, My Butterfly, His Story II. Also it includes some of the good, old "Supersized" Episodes such as My Lucky Night, My Catalyst & My Porcelain God.

Plus, a great number of guest stars including Brendan Fraiser, Scott Foley and the very lovely Tara Reid.

One thing i have to say, i'm not rubbing it in but, I'M GLAD, (...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Seasons iI, Scrubs Still Impresses, July 17, 2006
It's hard to choose what to say when reviewing "Scrubs". If you've seen the first two seasons, or enjoyed the fourth and fifth season on TV, there's nothing I can say to you. You know how good the show is, now get this item. The third season improves on the first two in every conceivable way. The humor is ratcheted up, mixing witty banter that rivals the best of "Seinfeld" with bizzare fantasy asides that recall "Family Guy" but hit their mark with much more frequency. I'm sure you've heard it before: "offbeat" and "quirky" humor, "funniest show on TV" - it's all true. The dialogue in every episode is sparkling and the jokes come fast and furious in every episode.

The dramatic element has also been honed to near perfection. JD and Elliot's tumultuous relationship figures heavily, Dr. Cox struggles with parenthood and maturity, Carla and Turk are getting closer to marriage - and the actors have only gotten better at converying these emotional struggles. But it's not just the same character struggles you've been through in the last seasons. "Scrubs" uses it's dramatic hand to push past a stumbling block of many sit-coms: too many static characters. In this season, Dr. Cox and Elliot both undergo major personality changes. They aren't drastic or contrived though: they are natural developments that have real emotional weight. "Scrubs" is still a comedy first and foremost, but aside from being the funniest show on TV, it's also the show that takes its characters most seriously.

Best of all, the show's writers have blended their comedic and dramtic skills even more adeptly then they did in the first and second season. Even the lightest episodes can turn deadly serious or somber on a dime. And the weightier episodes always have plenty of quirky comic relief. The best example of this skill is "My Screw Up". The episodes is silly throughout, but uses an ingenious narrative trick that allows it to pull out a jab-in-the-stomach of a surprise ending that left me shocked and choking back tears.

If you're new to the show - it's a little more complicated. I think the show has progressively gotten better. Taken as a whole, the second season is even better than the excellent first, and the third season manages to top the second pretty quickly. So I can honestly say you'll get the best Scrubs episodes currently available by buying the third season. That being said, Scrubs is a hilarious show, often because of it's offbeat and absurd humor, but it's not "Family Guy". The character's matter in Scrubs, and the dramatic parts are just as well-written as the comedy. The point is, humor is humor. You can come into any episode and, so long as you pay attention (the writers masterfully call back jokes from earlier in the episode for bigger laughs later on), you'll get all of the jokes. But the drama is only compelling if you care about the characters. Which is easy to do, because they're great characters, but I can honestly tell you you'll care more if you've seen the series from the beginning. Which is why I'd strongly reccomend starting with the first season and knowing that the best is yet to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comic Genius, September 28, 2006
The truly great have to deal with the same resources, situations, and expectations as the mediocre contend with, but they always manage to find a way to outshine their comtemporaries.

Take Scrubs for instance. Nearly every sitcom that has an unattached male character and an unattached female character fights with the "will they, won't they" paradigm in one form or another. Most choose one of two paths: they either yank us along painfully, by our nose hairs, until they hook the two together, as their uninspired fanbase heaves a harmonious sigh of relief, or they throw them together too early and offer their unimpressed following another 22.5 minutes of clichés once a week.

The creators of Scrubs chose a third approach - they designed the personalities of the two characters in such a brilliant fashion, that it's virtually impossible to picture JD and Elliot ever, in any way, shape, or form, enjoying an actual, romantic relationship.

They have had an occasional tryst, but each risqué rendezvous was sabotaged by the end of the episode in which it was formed. So, instead of the usual, blasé helping of predictable, relationship-based mishaps, we are entertained by the richness of well-developed characters parading along well-designed story lines.

So, if you are tired of tired plots and bored with boring stories, check out any season of Scrubs and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best season!, March 14, 2007
By 
ADRIENNE MILLER (Murfreesboro, TN.) - See all my reviews
Scrubs- The Compelete Third Season is my absolute favorite season of this laugh-out-laughed show. I love the two part wedding episode at the end of the season where Carla and Turk finally get hitched. Some great guest stars in that season, Tara Reid, Michael J. Fox, Scott Foley, Tom Cavanagh, and Freddy Rodriguez who is funny as hell as Carla's When Harry Met Sally obsessed brother. Scrubs is still going strong in its six season, I am so glad this show never get pulled, I am sure this show has a lot of loyal fans. Brilliantly created by Bill Lawrence, Scrubs will keep you laughing for hours. I love the weird relationship between J.D. and Elliott, will they or won't they become a committed couple was finally answered in the final episode of the season. Get this comic gem today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrubs matures as a sitcom yet maintains its high quality, January 10, 2007
In season three, the show has become very comfortable with itself, sporting its unique brand of comedy that includes sight gags, one-liners, slapstick comedy, and of course J.D.'s daydreams, like a well-known trademark. The entire effort comes together to make it one of the finest comedies on the air today. This year, the show makes more room for subplots that focus on the members of the cast other than J.D. This season, Turk and Carla are planning their wedding, Dr. Cox is trying to figure out if it is love or disdain or a combination of both that he feels for his family, and Elliot has begun to truly grow as a person since her father pulled the monetary rug out from underneath her the previous season. She increasingly stands on her own two feet this season without needing an emotional crutch of any kind.

Although dramatic episodes are present in this season, the atmosphere of the show is lighter with more outrageous buffoonery such as the janitor's roof-top toilet that he uses as a thinking cap, if you'll pardon the mixed metaphors. Thus, when you do hit upon a serious dramatic show during this season, it hits hard due to the contrast with what is an overall mischievous mood. For example, in "My Fifteen Seconds", whose title comes from the average time that a doctor spends with a patient in a hospital, J.D.and Cox are focused on the medical issue of a young woman who has been poisoned, not really listening to the sad personal details of her life that she has been telling them. They finally give up and say they don't know how it happened, but tell her she will recover. Only as they leave the hospital together does it hit them - the woman has poisoned herself. They then go back in to give her the attention she obviously has been clamoring for.

"My Screw Up" is another serious episode, and one in which you are likely to be totally confused until the end. Jordan's brother Ben - a two year cancer survivor - comes for a visit. On top of being his brother-in-law, Ben is a close friend of Dr. Cox, which is a club with few members. Apparently, an elderly patient that Cox leaves in J.D.'s care unexpectedly goes into cardiac arrest and dies. Inexplicably, Cox rides J.D about this death for the rest of the episode. Then Cox refuses to leave the hospital because "when he's not here people die" - apparently referring to J.D.s patient. Only at the end do we discover the meaning behind Cox's strange behavior. This episode features perhaps McGinley's finest performance on Scrubs, and there are many to choose from. Although J.D. plays a minor role in this episode, the way he asks one key question to Cox at the end - "Where do you think we are?" is worthy of a supporting role award in itself. This episode just doesn't just break your heart, it rips the still-beating organ from your chest.

As with almost all of the "Spin City" alumni, Michael J. Fox finally puts in an appearance. But rather than just give him a placeholder role, the writers dare to have Fox's character parallel his own life struggle as he portrays a doctor who is suffering from a chronic condition - obsessive-compulsive disorder - that interferes with his career. Although he is able to upstage Cox at every turn with his knowledge of medicine, the simple act of prepping for surgery is his biggest challenge because he just can't stop washing his hands. Great performance by Fox on playing a role that had to hit close to home on so many levels. This is truly another great and highly recommended season of "Scrubs".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Scrubs Season 3
Scrubs Season 3 by Zach Braff
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.