Start reading Sea Change on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
OR
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Sea Change [Kindle Edition]

Paul Strathern

Kindle Price: $3.99
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

As Low as $9: All Access Magazines (Save Up to 87% Off Newsstand)
Find best-selling print + digital magazines including Cosmopolitan, Popular Mechanics, Good Housekeeping, and Food Network. Learn more

Book Description

Peter Hunter joins the SS Circe, an old cargo boat, and attempts to plunge himself into the harsh realities of life at sea.

Unhappy with himself and his identity he finds it hard to fit in with the rest of the crew.

But when he finds himself locked up after a drunken accident he befriends Stores, the aging alcoholic engine-room storekeeper.

And when Den the ‘leader’ of the men on board becomes aggressive he finds himself forced, almost against his will, to defend the victimised steward, Primrose.

As the ship follows its apparently random course around the globe, the motivations and destinies of the crew members are gradually revealed.

Against a background of waterfront dives, drunken brawls and the squalid conditions of life on board, Peter, too, finds that he is committed to work out his own survival in the same terms as those around him.

But can he remain true to what he has discovered of his own nature?

‘Sea Change’ is a moving and philosophical work of fiction, perfect for fans of Joseph Conrad and William Boyd.

Praise for Paul Strathern:

"Strathern has done his research thoroughly, and tells a good story well" (Sunday Telegraph)

"Fascinating. A readable and delightful book." (Herald)

"An ambitious and wonderfully detailed saga" (Financial Times)

Paul Strathern is a British writer and academic. He was born in London, and studied at Trinity College, Dublin, after which he served in the Merchant Navy over a period of two years. His best-selling history books include ‘The Medici: Godfathers of the Renaissance’, ‘Napoleon in Egypt’, and ‘The Artist, the Philosopher and the Warrior: Leonardo, Machiavelli and Borgia - a fateful collusion’.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • File Size: 2195 KB
  • Print Length: 230 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd. (July 13, 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00LT5VFW2
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #760,676 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?.


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category