Industrial-Sized Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Disturbed Fire TV Stick Grocery Shop Popular Services tmnt tmnt tmnt  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage GNO Shop Now Deal of the Day
Kindle Price: $3.83

Save $5.15 (57%)

Read this title for free. Learn more

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Sea Cutter: Book I in The Chronicles of Nathaniel Childe Kindle Edition

39 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$3.83

Length: 139 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Matchbook Price: $0.00 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.
  • Similar books to Sea Cutter: Book I in The Chronicles of Nathaniel Childe

Goodbye Stranger by Rebecca Stead
Goodbye Stranger
Check out one of this month’s featured new releases in Children's Books, by Rebecca Stead. Learn more | See related books

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Tim Davis got into trouble at age 12 for reading Treasure Island under his blankets by flashlight when he was supposed to be sleeping. When he grew up, he pursued his love of children's literature by earning a PhD in English and teaching Children's Literature at university. He left academia in order to move to the San Francisco Bay Area and teach elementary school under an emergency program that let college graduates teach if they worked in the inner city. Tim Davis still lives in the Bay Area with his family, and recently began writing a series of children's books that he hopes will get some other kids in trouble for reading under the blankets with a flashlight.

Product Details

  • File Size: 303 KB
  • Print Length: 139 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Amazon Digital Services; 3 edition (July 4, 2011)
  • Publication Date: July 4, 2011
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005AII8GK
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #352,328 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Tim Davis got into trouble at age 12 for reading Treasure Island under his blankets by flashlight when he was supposed to be sleeping. When he grew up, he pursued his love of children's literature by earning a PhD in English and teaching Children's Literature at University. He left academia in order to move to the San Francisco Bay Area and teach elementary school under an emergency program that let college graduates teach if they worked in the inner city. Tim Davis still lives in the Bay Area and recently began writing a series of children's books that he hopes will get some other kids in trouble for reading under the blankets with a flashlight.

Sea Cutter won first place in the 2012 International Digital Awards for Short YA fiction.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful By Homeschooling 3 on November 23, 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Earlier this year I met author Timothy Davis through Twitter. I was intrigued with his award winning book Sea Cutter Book I: The Chronicles of Nathaniel Childe. So much so, I bought the digital copy from Amazon and began reading that very night. I read until my eyelids just couldn't stay open any longer. I finished this great suspense filled sea adventure the next night.

Mr. Davis' Sea Cutter is the First Place winner of 2012 International Digital Awards for Short YA Fiction.

I had originally thought this might be a perfect read aloud for my own children, although this book is geared more towards late elementary and middle school children. So I decided to pre-read Sea Cutter before deciding whether or not to use it as a read aloud for my children. They are 4, 6 and 8. After that first reading a few months ago, I decided it might be too intense for them.

Fast forward a few months, Mr. Davis' book was released in paperback with a beautifully illustrated front cover. Ironically at the same time, I had decided the kids just might be ready for Sea Cutter and planned to begin reading our digital copy in only a matter of days! Mr. Davis and I had continued our online friendship over the months and he offered to send a copy of his beautiful paperback to us as a gift! ~ I do want to make clear that Mr. Davis has never asked for a review. I am doing this because we love Sea Cutter so much! I want to spread the word about this wonderful book.

Our copy arrived on Saturday; the kids opened the package with great excitement! We immediately sat down on the couch and assumed the read aloud snuggle position.

As each chapter drew to a close the children would say read more! After about forty-five minutes had passed I asked if anyone was ready for a break.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful A Kid's Review on September 10, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
From This Kid Reviews Books
Two years after Nathaniel's father died in a shipwreck, a package arrived from him. There was a mysterious treasure inside and a note from Nat's father which made Nat believe, even more, that his father did not die! The letter and the treasure were clues about where to find his father, but how could a fourteen year-old boy navigate the seas alone, especially when no one in the village believes his father survived. Nat tricks a family friend (Wayland) into sailing his ship, the Sea Cutter, into the waters of the Atlantic Ocean in hopes of finding his father. Unfortunately an evil stowaway sneaks onto the Sea Cutter and uses Nat to hatch his own plan of getting what he wants. Can Nat and Wayland survive the stormy ocean, a whale attack, starvation, Nat deceiving Wayland and the murderous stowaway hidden on board?

Sea Cutter is the first ebook in the Chronicles of Nathaniel Childe. Mr. Davis' second ebook in the series is titled "Red Stone" and I already have my copy and am looking forward to reading it! Mr. Davis says on his website that he is currently writing a third ebook in the series. Sea Cutter is a historical adventure book and I tend to really like a book like that. This book was VERY thrilling! I think the book would be good for readers aged 9+. There were some tense moments and fighting but nothing that is inappropriate for kids. There were a couple of parts in the book that were predictable but there were also some great surprises to the plot too. My favorite character is Paulo, an orphan that Wayland and Nat meet along their journey. Paulo is kind and an experienced sailor. I really didn't like how Nat was lying all the time, it made me not like him as much as I would have liked to.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Bradford Gottschalk on September 3, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I loved the book it was a really good sea story. My favorite thing about the book was all the ship stuff and going to an island called Pearles Grandes. It was a lot of fun to read and it was very fast-paced.

By: Henry Gottschalk

Note: This review was written by my son, Henry, who is 11. He really liked the book, but sometimes has trouble articulating why. Read it for yourself, you'll like it, too.
Brad
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Bert Olton on July 10, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Sea Cutter is a fast moving tale about a young man swept from drudgery and loss into high adventure and a wonderful quest. Set in the early 1700s, the action moves from the sea port of New Bedford, to the high seas, to an exotic island and ultimately, home. To an adult reader the characters are strong and clearly delineated archetypes in the tradition of Kidnapped, Mobey Dick and The Odyssey. To a young reader, the action and the people will be memorable. The author underpins his terrific sea story, but doesn't overwhelm it, with a fine moral theme. Outstanding! Very much looking forward to BookII.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Ron on July 8, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I must admit although this is a young adult or pre-teen book, I was captivated. It must be the kid in me. Excellent book for anyone who likes plots containing adventures at sea. The adventure isn't the only subject matter that grabs you, it's the internal conflict of the main character that does. As you read on, you can relate to the moral of the story. That's what I liked about it. There are so many books for younger readers that do not express life's simple lessons; I was glad to find that the Sea Cutter does. This book creates a fantastic adventure with an internal conflict most young readers will relate to. There's a subtle lesson learned along with page turning excitement, suspense, gentle kindness along with humor. I would have to put the Sea Cutter in my top 10 for entertaining younger readers.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions