Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 3, 2016
Purchased from Amazon June 2012 - failed on July 2016.
This was in my HP, Microsoft Home Server, so it was spinning 24x7 all that time.
Home Server saved my data via a RAID-like replication, so I'm breathing again.
Can't remember why I bought it, but waiting for an Amazon WD replacement.
Again, this was Server duty, so if you power down your PC like most PC's, my 4 years could be your forever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 19, 2016
Seagate quality is terrible and is getting worse. Several things support this trend.
.
1. Barracuda drives use to have a five year warranty - activated on the date of sale. Through the years, the warranty has gone down to three and then to two years - beginning on the date of manufacture. According to one study, manufacturing, shipping, distribution, sale often take six months. If my math is correct, the typical warranty is really 1.5 years at best. If Seagate is so confident of its products and their reliability, why has it reduced hard drive warranty by 333%?
.
2. From personal experience, I purchased six SATA 2TB Barracudas in the past two years. All died within one month to 1.1 years of usage. Two were OEMs from Asus CM1831 computer systems. Four were retail purchases from Frys Electronics. Because of premature deaths, two were sent back factory for replacements. So, I technically experienced eight 2TB Seagate Barracuda failures in a very short time.
.
My experience was not a rare aberration or bad luck. If you just check the Amazon user reviews, one popular hard drive models registers a 20% total dissatisfaction rating - two stars and lower. The typical complaints are DOA and short life. Of the millions of computer users who use Seagates, this percentage extrapolates to a huge number of defective merchandise. . . . Poor quality seems to be the normal.
.
3. Scientific and empirical research supports my experiences. On April 10, 2015, EXTREMTECH reported a BackBlaze study. The research took 41,000 hard drives from all the major manufacturers and ran them 24/7 until they failed. For the record, there were 15,528 Seagates, 22,902 Hitachies, 1,174 Western Digitals, and 47 Toshibas. They consisted of almost all the various products: consumer, NAS, and enterprise server units. The researchers tallied the score. Seagates had a 40% failure rate - 2,857% worse than HGST, a WD subsidiary.
.
The research was updated on December 11, 2015. BackBlaze detailed the failure rate among hard drives purchased on three years. Seagate had the highest. Among 1TB hard drives, this brand had the following failure rates: 2013 - 129.88%, 2014 - 66.01%, and 2015 - 222.77%. Among 2TB drives, the failure rates were better: 2013 - 43.08%, 2014 - 30.94%, and 2015 - 28.46%.
.
As a comparison, the highest failure rate for its 1TB competitors is much lower. Western Digital Green had the following: 2013 - 4.29%, 2014 - 3.90%, and 2015 - 9.91%. Toshiba claimed the record for competing 2TB drives: 2013 - 6.93%, 2014 - 3.68%, and 2015 - 2.80%.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2015
One drive failed after exactly 3 years. Seagate says out of warranty. Vendor says out of warranty. Replaced with a WD 2TB drive with 5 year warranty. Use the drives in a ReadyNas Pro 4.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2015
OK, THANKS VERY WELL
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2015
great hard drive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2015
1 of 3 failed 4 months after warranty expired.
Have them installed in a DS411 NAS which has low to moderate usage.
Very happy I chose to use the Synology SHR simple raid setup for folks like me.
Am currently backing the whole RAID up to another drive via the USB port on the DS411 just to be certain we have everything doubly redundant, will then swap out the failed drive, with something not made by Seagate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2015
Lasted 2 years before sudden shut offs and disk noise problems
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2015
Installed two ST2000DL003-9VT166 in October 2013. One of the drives failed totally, with no SMART warning, in July 2015, thus, after less than two years of service. Total abrupt failure, so probably an issue with the controller. I replaced both, not just the one that failed, after seeing the reviews on this series. The drives were monitored and were never over 38 C. The server is on a UPS with power conditioning. This is the shortest lifespan I've experienced.

Good thing I was running RAID and had a current (enough) backup.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2015
For the price, these are hard to beat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2015
Bought two of these for a network storage device in 2011. One of them crashed almost 3 years to the day of going in service. SURE glad I had them in mirror configuration!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.