Robin non-member

Buy New

Includes FREE MP3
version
of this album.
or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Like New See details
$4.49 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Sold by SourceMedia.

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Seal IV
 
See larger image
 

Seal IV

SealAudio CD
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (222 customer reviews)

Price: $9.27 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
 : Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
   Provided by Amazon Digital Services, Inc. Terms and Conditions. Does not apply to gift orders.
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Want it Friday, Aug. 1? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Complete your purchase to save the MP3 version to music library.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 12 Songs, 2010 $9.49  
Audio CD, 2003 $9.27  
DVD Audio, 2004 --  

Amazon's Seal Store

Music

Image of album by Seal

Photos

Image of Seal

Videos

Seal 6: Commitment

Biography

Over the course of a remarkable career that spans more than two decades, Seal has sold more than 15 million albums worldwide and enjoyed success across numerous genres of music. His emotional, romantic love songs such as “Prayer For the Dying,” the Grammy Award-winning “Kiss From A Rose,” and “Don’t Cry,” (all from 1994’s Seal II), and ... Read more in Amazon's Seal Store

Visit Amazon's Seal Store
for 87 albums, 6 photos, videos, discussions, and more.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Includes FREE MP3 version of this album Here's how (restrictions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

Seal IV + Seal + Human Being
Price for all three: $22.27

Buy the selected items together
  • Seal $4.00
  • Human Being $9.00

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Audio CD (September 9, 2003)
  • Original Release Date: 2003
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Warner Bros.
  • ASIN: B0000AA489
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (222 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #74,785 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Let Me Roll
2. Get It Together
3. Love's Divine
4. Waiting For You
5. My Vision
6. Don't Make Me Wait
7. Touch
8. Where There's Gold
9. Loneliest Star
10. Heavenly...(Good Feeling)
11. Tinsel Town

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

After five years and one do-over later, Seal presents a fourth album that finds the singer growing with his audience. The disc’s opener, "Get It Together," melds a quiet "live" moment into a horn-and-string disco number, setting the stage for the rest of the disc, which is largely a nod to Detroit- and Philly-R&B. The British-born musician pulls it off. His rasp and emotive, positive vocals are well suited for the retro stylings he attempts. "Waiting for You" will flood the dance floor, and he’s unafraid to dig deep for the ballads--Marvin Gaye would approve. The funk is real, but saddled with a pop safety net, and the upbeat tracks need a helping hand from a good remixer before they are as compelling as his seminal singles "Killer" and "Crazy." Seal never goes all out in any direction and this coolness, combined with Trevor Horn’s perfectionist production, plants the album inescapably in the realm of adult contemporary (although this is as good as adult contemporary gets). On "Let Me Roll" Seal salutes the album’s influences by proclaiming he’s "not too proud to beg." If that were actually true, the songs would have been that much better for it. --Beth Massa

Product Description


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seal.....Smooth moves November 15, 2003
By halax64
Format:Audio CD
Seal IV is growing on me. When I read that Trevor Horn and Seal would be working together again, I waited with anticipation, and had hoped of the same magic wrought from Seal's landmark debut. Seal I was/is one of my top 5 works of all time. Unlike some others, I love the rich textured danceable production often found on Trevor Horn produced tracts.
Which brings us to the present. The rich textures are definitely in effect on Seal IV, but the sound has matured. At first I was hoping for the energy of "Crazy" (My personal theme song if I decide to become a super hero), or the raw power of "Killer," but then it dawned on me that I have aged and so has Seal. The sound, the words, and the music have aged in a graceful soulness that slowly seeps into your musical psyche as you listen to this CD. I no longer want to just groove to Seal, I am now listening. Instead of pumping this through my tower speaks, I'm grabbing my headphones, dimming the lights, and sipping something smooth and mellow.
Cuts that I'm looping over and over again are: "Loneliest Star" (my favorite cut), "Heavenly...(Good Feeling)", "Tinsel Town", "Touch", and "Love's Divine." Not to say the other songs aren't impressive, but these five touch me deeper than the other cuts. I'm sure we all have songs that move us in a way, and these are mine. Seal fans will be happy with this one. New Seal fans will want to explore some of his previous works after listening to this new production. Add Seal IV to your collection.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back September 24, 2003
Format:Audio CD
Let's be honest: Seal could sing the phonebook and we'd all still listen. His voice is soulful, distinctive, and a welcome breath on the radio from the usual vocal gymnastics and overblown production. True, Seal IV isn't as complete as his first two CDs or as moody yet atmospheric as Human Beings. But this is still great Seal. The Motown sound suits his smoky vocals well. The 1-2-3 punch of Get It Together, Love's Divine, and Waiting For You is a promising beginning. The CD does seem to lag toward the middle, while remaining enjoyable. Luckily, Heavenly is reminiscient of Violet (one of my favorite Seal tracks) and Tinsel Town ends the CD on a smooth note. Not innovative Seal. But well worth the wait, like an old friend coming home.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seal of approval February 7, 2004
Format:Audio CD
Like millions of others, I was seduced by "Kiss From a Rose", but otherwise had not been a follower of Seal's career until hearing this CD, and wow! These songs just boil with sweat and conviction. None of them have the melodic complexity of "Rose", with its Beethovenesque shifting of major and minor, but many are equally memorable and may prove more durable. The songs of "Seal IV" range from tough and gritty ("Waiting for You", "Let Me Roll"), to exquisitely romantic ("Touch", "Love's Divine", "Tinsel Town"). Seal draws from the American R&B tradition ("Get It Together"), and also from reggae ("Where There's Gold") but some songs are impossible to classify, and seem to just well up from inside him, like "My Vision" and "Heavenly". My two favorites are almost polar opposites of each other, the soul-shouting "Let Me Roll" and the delicate, aching "Touch", tracks 6 and 7. Although Seal IV is expertly mastered, wrapping Seal's sound with polished competence, Seal himself is hot, sizzling right through his packaging to emerge as a passionate performer who puts his brains, heart and guts into every song. I'm not sure who Seal's core audience is, but this is a major achievement and I hope it gets the recognition it deserves.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great overall October 1, 2003
By A Customer
Format:Audio CD
I have been a Seal fan since the first album. I will say that upon my first listen of Seal IV I was a bit disappointed. I guess after waiting for 5 years for this new release I was expecting something different. After listening to this disc over and over in the car and on headphones it has grown on me to the point that I just love it. I enjoy almost every track (except #5- it just has yet to grab me -thats why I give 4 1/2 star rating). Especially outstanding and now one of my all time fave Seal tunes is track#10 'Heavenly'. I do also love to listen to Seal on headphones to capture the crisp and clear production and subtle nuances of Trevor Horn. I don't know why some have given such negative reviews but to each his /her own. Overall if you like Seal I recommend getting this CD. He still has that voice
we all love. Just give it several listens and let it grow on you if at first you have mixed feelings.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless and Divine...Seal Never Fails! September 12, 2003
Format:Audio CD
After a 5 year hiatus, at long last the one and only Seal returns and to form with the melodically alluring and captivating "Seal IV". To begin, this seems to be his most diversified and eclectic collection of songs yet. Seal maintains his hallmark orignality and engages in some musical experimentation...all to good results. He gets points for his uplifting, lucid, and spiritually genuine lyricism alone. As with previous releases from him, this is truly a collection that just ripens with repeated listenings. Not a bad one in the bunch though the standouts from my vantage point are the funk inflected "Get It Together", the enchanting "Love's Divine" and "Touch", the forlorn and subdued "Lonliest Star", the smooth pop punch of "Waiting for You" and "My Vision"(there is another version of this tune featuring a singer named Jakatta that is more dance oriented), and the absolutely heavenly and hypnotic "Heavenly(Good Feeling)". The aforementioned tune is worth the price of admission alone, with Seal in his element and in full force with his vocal stylings juxtaposed against an atmospheric synthesized cacophony of sonic delight. An unbeatable combination of meticulously produced tunesmithing with an evocative soulful vocal delivery...Seal is second to none. In the dozen years I've listened to him, he has yet to disappoint. A true diamond in a field of present day musical mediocrity, don't deny yourself another minute of missing out on this most unique and legitimately gifted performer.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Love Seal
Published 3 days ago by Michael R. Hiatt
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving Seal
Never was a seal fan until I listen to this CD , it won me . I am now and official Seal Fan
Published 1 month ago by B. Williams-motley
3.0 out of 5 stars cd
No were as good as 1 and 2 seems like he lost something after those 2 they just dont hit you like 1 and 2. Read more
Published 6 months ago by paul k powell
1.0 out of 5 stars Not that good
Felt he just slapped this CD together to just get some music out and make money. Usually his CD are very good, don't waste your money.
Published 6 months ago by cathy smith
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked the cd
The songs on this CD is nice the whole cd soulds good I think most people will like it you will like it too I think
Published 6 months ago by carita smith
5.0 out of 5 stars Seal IV
I absolutely love this cd. Everyone that realizes I have it, wants a copy. I tested every cd that Seal
has, to find this one song, TOUCH. It is on this cd. Read more
Published 8 months ago by Barbara D. Hart
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
I Love this cd. All the songs are great! Seal really sounds good on this cd. I play this cd all day.
Published 9 months ago by Anastasia Senette
5.0 out of 5 stars Seal IV
Purchased this for a friends mom who wanted the song Touch, and she loves it. Thank you! Seal has an amazing voice! I think I'll order another copy for myself!
Published 18 months ago by MissK
5.0 out of 5 stars Love every Track...
If you choose any cd...this is the one. not a light track on this one...not a big fan of Seal.....but this changed my mind. "Closer"...my favorite track.RDC/KC
Published 20 months ago by Randy Capps
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent,
Seal always delivers, Seal IV is no exception. Will not dissapoint. If you are a Seal fan this should be part of your collection.
Published on April 17, 2012 by Always Bklyn
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category