Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A look at the life of a remarkable spiritual mystic.
The spiritual autobiography, "Sealed Orders" by Agnes Sanford takes the reader on a journey from China to California. Sanford's parents were missionaries yet Agnes reveals that in the midst of religious activity, "I did not know Him yet," She certainly did come to know God, eventually, and became a pastor's wife. Her creative spirituality...
Published on November 26, 1998

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad
In my opinion, Agnes Sanford was a quake. She believed in ejecting her healing thought into another, that he thought healed.
Published 14 months ago by Mary Moser


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A look at the life of a remarkable spiritual mystic., November 26, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Sealed Orders (Paperback)
The spiritual autobiography, "Sealed Orders" by Agnes Sanford takes the reader on a journey from China to California. Sanford's parents were missionaries yet Agnes reveals that in the midst of religious activity, "I did not know Him yet," She certainly did come to know God, eventually, and became a pastor's wife. Her creative spirituality manifests during this phase with the dramatic church productions with which she took part: "The whole church was filled with an emanation, a radiation, of a spiritual power. No wonder people were moved to tears." Mrs. Sanford's travelling ministry flourished upon her move, with her husband, to a church in New England. She was on a "mission" to proclaim to the world that Jesus is alive, and his power is available for physical and inner healing. Agnes Sanford's story is certainly not a saccharine rendering of her life. Instead, one description summarizes the book this way, "A spiritual giant of this century finally tells her own story--unvarnished and transparent, exactly as the Lord would have it." Of course, for those reading the book because of interest in the "literary" Agnes Sanford, there is much to please you. Sealed Orders is a wonderful account of a fascinating woman who just set out to do a specialized work of God (healing), a work that she felt had been neglected. I find the closing words of the book to be mystically compelling: "And yesterday morning for the first time, as I looked out to the misty hills (for though I am too high for smog, there is often a fog from the ocean), I could see the light around the trees. I do not know what this light is. But I cannot imagine it or dream it into reality...for it testifies to my spirit of the Spirit of God permeating all the universe. So may the light shine until the very creature--the earth itself--its ugliness turned into beauty, becomes indeed the kingdom of our God and of His Christ."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Timeless Gospel, July 1, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sealed Orders (Paperback)
Agnes Sanford has written many books, but none as eloquent and polished as this one. Her life spanned an incredible time in the world -- she was a college student during WW1, a young housewife during the depression, getting started on her career at the start of WW2, and of course witnessed the cold war and social upheaval of the 60s and 70s. Reading the autobiography, one sees that she arose from the need of the turbulent times she lived in. From a "charismatic" Christian viewpoint, certain aspects of her life are incredible as her work was blessed in the framework of mainline conservative Christianity, not pentecostalism, although her works were of the kind claimed mostly by the latter. Even if you found her style in other books old-fashioned, you will find this book incredibly sophisticated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sealed Orders is astounding., March 1, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sealed Orders (Paperback)
If you want to read a great autobiography, especially if you are interested in the spiritual, this is one of the best you'll find. Agnes shares her upbringing in China, and move to the United States, all the while being perfectly candid about depression and other personal issues. Through truth seeking, study and work, Agnes blossoms into a spiritual leader of great stature. She is especially interesting in healing, and becomes incredibly successful to this end. Inspiring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEALED ORDERS, by Agnes Sanford--Awesome!, August 24, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sealed Orders (Paperback)
This spiritual autobiography resonated uniquely with my own journey, though it took place in the beginning and middle of the last century. Agnes Sanford writes completely from her heart, sharing her experiences, and even sometimes speaking directly to what the reader might be thinking. There are no false pretenses of who she is, but only the truth of the person Agnes, and of her life experiences and tremendous faith. SEALED ORDERS contains both the author's challenges and joys and everything in between, as well as educating on her experience with the culture of China and how it related to her whole life, spiritually, economically, and sensually (meaning senses).

I love this book and highly recommend it to anyone who is being called to the ministry of healing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational life, September 15, 2011
By 
Melissa N. (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sealed Orders (Paperback)
Sanford's life is an inspiration to all who read her story. I highly recommend all of her publications. A great addition to her other works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEALED ORDERS, June 8, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i recommend this book, it is a great book. it came to me in perfect condition and fast. this book changed my life, that's how good this book is. but of course you don't have to take my word for it. this woman when through a very tough time in her life, and she made it with this awsome gift she has with people. the most powerful book i've read yet.Madeleine H.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sealed Orders (Paperback)
Inspiring book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sealed orders, February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sealed Orders (Paperback)
A good read. Agnes Sanford lived a super life and I think anyone would enjoy reading about her life and works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sealed Orders, November 28, 2013
This review is from: Sealed Orders (Paperback)
Thank you for the quick delivery of the book. This book is in an excellent condition, and it is simply my pleasure to read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some good information, but bad printing, October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sealed Orders (Paperback)
I ordered and read this book because I wanted some insight into how a person actually and practically works with the Holy Spirit in the ordinary details of their everyday life.

How does the Holy Spirit work?

How can we know when it is the Holy Spirit, and not just our own selfish desires speaking to us?

Although this book doesn't give quite as much information about this as I had hoped, it does touch on it from time to time, and I enjoyed that.

One distraction is the printing. Its spacing is weird, stopping in the middle of one sentence, and starting a new paragraphy from the continuation of that sentence. There are also hyphens in the middle of a line instead of at the end of a line, which makes it clear that this text was printed as is without much editing. There are also spelling errors that could have come from someone hastily typing Agnes Sanford's words without carefully reading it -- an "ni" becoming an "m" in the printing, for example -- and all of this is distracting.

However, if you are interested in seeing how God guided Agnes Sanford through her life, and can put up with the poor printing, then I would recommend this to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sealed Orders
Sealed Orders by Agnes Sanford (Paperback - December 1, 1972)
$15.99 $11.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.