Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shaken, not stirred...
First, the good; there's no Bond like Sean and these transfers are stunning. The color is a little over saturated, but probably true to the Technicolor palette of the early 1960's. The crisp images with a total lack "fly specking" are remarkable. They advertise these as state of the art restorations and if these first three are any indication, they've broken the code on...
Published on January 30, 2011 by J. Janssen

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shop Around
This is an excellent product, however I advise everyone to shop around. I picked up the 6 disk versions of volume 1 and 2 at Wal-mart today for $9.99 each.
Published 21 months ago by Tangedahl


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shaken, not stirred..., January 30, 2011
By 
J. Janssen (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sean Connery 007 Collection Volume 1 (DVD)
First, the good; there's no Bond like Sean and these transfers are stunning. The color is a little over saturated, but probably true to the Technicolor palette of the early 1960's. The crisp images with a total lack "fly specking" are remarkable. They advertise these as state of the art restorations and if these first three are any indication, they've broken the code on how to transfer older film onto digital media. Now, the bad news; there's only three films on 6 discs, one for each movie and one for the "extras" for each movie. Additionally, they've gooberd up the intros with a whole batch of adverts and way too many alternates before you get to the start. However, once the opening credits end you're transported back to a pre Vietnam 1962 where everybody assumed spies traveled the world knocking off bad guys and no one gave a whit about any perceived moral implications. I might add in defense of the "intro" extravaganza that the 1960's were the film birthing of the iconic opening credits for a great many films; the Pink Panther* series is cited as just one example.

The first two Bond films weren't considered campy by the standards of the day and many people assumed this stuff actually happened. Ian Fleming's first Bond book, "Casino Royale", had been out since 1952 and the literary fiction of the day was rife with spy stories of all stripes. But by 1964's "Goldfinger" they were off and running on a 6 decade romp that would test the believability of even the most die hard fan. No matter, the audience loved this stuff and the producer's set out to make each new film as fantastic as possible. The public was conditioned to accept the "spy superman" as a cold war hero and found the more restrained literary Bond as credible as one might find one of Scott Turow's lawyerly protagonists today. This set up a certain discontinuity between Fleming's Bond and the screen version. It's was widely rumored that Fleming had issues with the film adaptations of his novels but fell ill and the issue became moot when he passed away a short time later.

The three films are "Dr. No", "From Russia With Love", and "Goldfinger" which are the first three MGM movies in chronological order. One can only hope for "Vol. 2" to be out shortly starting with the fourth film, "Thunderball". I say hope only because these properties have been subject to more litigation than you can shake a stick at. In my opinion the first seven are the best of the bunch as the ones that followed attempted to top each previous film to the point of silliness. Ironically, the best film of the entire series is generally thought to be the 6th, "On Her Majesty's Secret Service"**, released in 1969 with 007 played by unknown George Lazenby. Sean Connery was let out (or quit depending on who's version you believe) of his contract for that one film as the producers knew he was tiring of the role and wanted to work on another project. His only other non Bond film during that time had been 1965's critically acclaimed "The Hill" along with a couple small guest roles (including a rather good remake of "Murder on the Orient Express" in 1962) and he was anxious to expand his career with more challenging material. Connery reprised his 007 in 1971's "Diamonds Are Forever", the seventh film in the series, but then severed his ties with the producers for good. When asked at the time of his departure why he was leaving he famously said he didn't want to become typecast as a comedic actor; an acceptance that the social turmoil of the late 1960's had forever altered the public's simplistic perception of spy craft and that the only way forward was by producing a more bloated pastiche of the original films, which is exactly what producer Albert Broccoli did during the Roger Moore era. Compounding the public's growing skepticism, Michael Caine hit it big in the "Ipcress File" shortly after "Goldfinger" was released and the public began to turn from Ian Flemming to new writers such as Len Deighton, Frederick Forsyth, and John Le Carre who brought more perceived realism to the genre. Flemming died in 1964, the same year "Goldfinger" was produced, and although books bearing his name continued to be published, they were ghost written and largely derivative of the earlier novels. Connery returned for one last go in 1983's "Never Say Never Again", but with different producers and somewhat disappointing results.

So, 3 films rather than the first 6, that you might have hoped for given the disc count (the amazon description at the time of the pre-release was totally silent on the content) and sloppy intros and adverts versus visually stunning transfers of the first 3 films in a legendary series still equals 5 stars in my book.... can't wait for volume 2!

* If you watch Goldfinger closely you'll see another 007/Pink Panther tie in; Burt Kwouk (Clouseau's houseboy, Cato) plays the totally forgettable Mr. Ling.

** Ian Flemming is frequently misquoted as having once said that "On Her Majesty's Secret Service" was his favorite Bond film, which would have been rather difficult since it wasn't produced until 5 years after his death. What he actually said was that the novel best captured the Bond character as he envisioned him, and that the book was his favorite. No matter what you may think of George Lazenby vs. Sean Connery, the screenplay is certainly one of the best and, not co-incidentaly, relies less on high tech gizmos than any of the others. While still clearly a Bond film, it has a Hitchcock/Cary Grant feel to it; with Diana Rigg playing a suitably Grace Kelley like Bond girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Volume of the Best Bond Actor of All Time!, February 26, 2011
By 
Krishna Jaipersad "slyjai" (Port of spain Trinidad and Tobago) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sean Connery 007 Collection Volume 1 (DVD)
Undeniably, though some will argue the point, Sean Connery is the best Bond of all time. Countless polls continue to rank him as number one! He was the orginator of the role when the late Albert Brocolli & his then partner, the late Harry Saltzman started producing the Bond films almost 50 years ago! How time flies!
This volume set contains in chronological release order Dr. No, From Russia With Love & Goldfinger. It is a 6 disc set which mirrors the ultimate editions which were released on dvd years ago. Therefore, the Special Features should be identical without the inclusion or deletion of any previously released material.
For those of us on a budget this year & must scale down the amount of purchases, this is of great value. Also it gives the potential buyer the option to buy exactly what he or she wishes, without buying every volume scheduled for release.
Highly recommended for any & all Bond fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Bond and Sean Connery as always, May 31, 2011
By 
Richard McDonald (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sean Connery 007 Collection Volume 1 (DVD)
How can you go wrong with the original James Bond? This is a collection of the finest beginning movies that Sean Connery did. Dr. No, From Russia,with Love and Goldfinger. I bought this to add to my already existing collection so that I could watch these movies when I'm feeling nostalgic. Most of the time I am feeling this way because now I am retired, living alone and need the diversion of some really great entertainment. You won't go wrong ordering this DVD Movie collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shocking. Positively shocking., March 10, 2012
By 
M. Ram (San Jose, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sean Connery 007 Collection Volume 1 (DVD)
I don't usually review DVD sets, but thought I'd mention a few things. First off, yes, you're getting the 2-disc Ultimate Edition version of each movie, which is great. The arrangement is a little strange though, with the first and last discs snapped to the front and back of the case (respectively) and the rest in a hinged flipper thing in the middle. I find that to fully reattach the first and last discs, I have to press on the outside of the case, which tends to leave a mark on the outer sleeve. Finally, there's no booklet included, so you won't know what the chapters are or what's on each disc until you pop them in.

Don't let this dissuade you from buying these sets. This is the first (possibly only) time you'll be able to get the Connery Bond movies by themselves, in attractive packaging to boot. And the transfers are amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A steal, September 24, 2011
This review is from: Sean Connery 007 Collection Volume 1 (DVD)
Back in the 1960's when I was a young film buff and James Bond fanatic, you could not legally own a movie, except for those excerpts of about 12 minutes in length produced by companies like Castle Films whose selections were pretty good, but primarily limited to films from the '30s and '40s. Bond movies were never available in that format, and until 1964's "Goldfinger" made its world television premiere on The ABC Sunday Night Movie in September 1972, the only way to see 007 was in the theater when the films were re-released in double feature packages. Even now, more than 30 years after the home video revolution, I'm amazed that I can now own these movies. It's far more mind-boggling than anything to come out of Q's laboratory. This particular set, collecting the first three Bond films starring Sean Connery, is a steal.

"Dr. No," "From Russia With Love," and "Goldfinger" are all presented in beautifully remastered editions. The movies are a bargain at this price, but you get even more: each movie has an additional disc of special features, the highlight being an excellent documentary by John Cork that takes you "Inside" the film in question. These docs are worth the price on their own and give you the history of each film from pre-production to release. There are also trailers, including those for the various reissues, TV spots, documentaries made while the films were in production, and poster galleries. At this price - six discs for only 20 bucks - you simply can't beat it.

Brian W. Fairbanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early James Bond, February 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sean Connery 007 Collection Volume 1 (DVD)
The first three Bond adventures starring the best Bond of them all, Sean Connery. Dr No starts the series with a bang and sets the formula for all future adventures. Jack Lord is the best Felix Leiter. From Russia With Love is the purest spy adventure of the whole series. Goldfinger is the gold standard of all the films. A perfect mix of fantasy and humor. The climax with Bond locked in a vault, handcuffed to an atomic bomb and pursued by the deadly Odd Job is pure escapist fun. What the early films lack in big budget they more than make up for in creativity. Picture and sound are crystal clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bond, James Bond, January 3, 2013
By 
The Counselor "Tom" (New Philadelphia, Ohio) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sean Connery 007 Collection Volume 1 (DVD)
Sean Connery the coolest, baddest Bond ever. Retro cool. Can you dig it! And so much is now true in our modern society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sean Connery 007 Colection Vol. 1, April 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sean Connery 007 Collection Volume 1 (DVD)
Sean Connery was always the best James Bond. These three films were his first films as Bond. I like the special feature DVD with each movie that explains how they were filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the one and only, February 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sean Connery 007 Collection Volume 1 (DVD)
We all know there are other's, but NONE COMPARE with SEAN !!!!! He will always be James, James Bond.!!!!!! I am so glad to have all
of Sean's 007.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best 007, February 4, 2012
By 
MR "compugirl" (Rocky Mount, NC USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sean Connery 007 Collection Volume 1 (DVD)
As many other viewers, I only like Sean Connery as 007. Style, class, don't need subtitles to understand what he says. They do not make movies like this anymore. Great collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sean Connery 007 Collection Volume 1
Sean Connery 007 Collection Volume 1 by Sean Connery 007 Collection (DVD - 2011)
$24.98 $22.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.