Start reading Season of the Witch on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Season of the Witch [Kindle Edition]

Mariah Fredericks
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $16.99
Kindle Price: $7.99
You Save: $9.00 (53%)
Sold by: Random House LLC

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $7.99  
Hardcover $13.23  
Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged $0.00 Free with your Audible trial
Holiday Deals in Books
Holiday Deals in Books
Find deals for every reader in the Holiday Deals in Books store, featuring savings of up to 50% on cookbooks, children's books, literature & fiction, and more.

Book Description

Like Fredericks's The Girl in the Park, here is a page-turner that perfectly captures the world of New York City private schools, as it explores the notion of power among teenage girls. Publisher's Weekly, in a starred review, raves, "Fredericks again proves her gift for conveying the intensity of adolescence, while exploring the ways girls’ sexuality is used against them and asking why 'we all have to be predators and prey.'"

Queen Bee Chloe is going to make Toni suffer for whatever transpired between Toni and Chloe's boyfriend, Oliver, over the summer. From day one of eleventh grade, she has Toni branded as a super slut, and it isn't long before things get so ugly that Toni fears for her safety. What's a scared, powerless, and fed-up teenager to do? Guided by Cassandra—a girl with some serious problems of her own—Toni decides to stop playing the victim and take control. Cassandra has been experimenting with witchcraft, and together they cast a spell on Chloe that may actually cause her death. Could Toni have really made such an awful thing happen?


From the Hardcover edition.


Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up–High school junior Toni is completely ready to forget her ill-fated summer fling with Oliver, but unfortunately, his girlfriend, Chloe, has other plans, marshalling her minions to make Toni's life miserable. Like Laura with her glass menagerie, self-conscious Toni indulges in a bit of magical thinking, arranging and rearranging her glass figurines at home for the luckiest configuration to help her get through the school day. Toni's overweight best friend, Ella, returns from her summer at “fat camp” with shocking news–her cousin Cassandra is transferring to their school after the death of her autistic younger brother. Cassandra soon befriends Toni with the promise of exacting revenge on Chloe using witchcraft. Interestingly, the possibility of witchcraft or psychic ability is left open; while in all probability the girls simply imagine themselves to have special abilities, readers never really know for sure. This darkly honest look at bullying, high school cliques, and teen drama amid family tragedy will have readers glued to the page for every last unexpected plot twist and turn.–Madigan McGillicuddy, Atlanta-Fulton Public Library, Atlanta, GAα(c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

From Booklist

All is not well at New York’s elite DeKalb Community School. Toni’s bête noire, Chloe, is on a rampage, seeking revenge for Toni’s having dated her hapless boyfriend, Oliver. Tired of being bullied, Toni turns to her mysterious new friend, Cassandra, for help. Consulting her Book of Shadows, Cassandra offers that help in an unlikely form: a witch’s spell targeting Oliver, who—having failed to speak up in Toni’s defense—is rendered mute for a week. Pleased by their success, the two girls decide to cast a more powerful spell against the vengeful Chloe, but this time, the results are tragic. Toni is left riddled with guilt and horrified when Cassandra then decides to turn her destructive talents toward others. Can Toni stop her? Is Cassandra a witch? Does she have evil powers? Fredericks’ reader-pleasing new novel is a page-turning, well-realized horror story of revenge gone awry and the possibility of finding redemption in the power of goodness. Grades 7-12. --Michael Cart

Product Details

  • File Size: 1306 KB
  • Print Length: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Schwartz & Wade (October 8, 2013)
  • Sold by: Random House LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00CCPIJ86
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #871,386 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?.


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Format:Hardcover
There have been a lot of books about bullying lately. And that's a good thing -- bullying is a real issue that we need books about. And, man, mean girls are mean. In SEASON OF THE WITCH, high school junior Toni is about to face the brunt of the consequences that come with hooking up with queen bee Chloe's boyfriend over the summer. And it's going to get ugly.

What I love about SEASON OF THE WITCH is that it straddles the line between reality and fantasy while still completely capturing the feelings of helplessness that come with being a target and the power that comes with fighting back. Of course, neither of these things feels like it's truly in your control when it's happening, and that's almost as frightening as bringing witchcraft into the picture.

When Toni finds an unlikely ally in Cassandra, her best friend Ella's cousin, Cassandra also brings Toni into a world of ritual, of spells that can keep Chloe and her bobble head friends from hurting her. Cassandra also brings Toni into her world of secrets and lies, and into a friendship that might be just as toxic as revenge.

SEASON OF THE WITCH is a brilliant novel, lovely and complex, with characters who are both likable and deeply flawed. Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, Sara Zarr, and Lauren Myracle are sure to find a new favorite in Mariah Fredericks. I can't wait to see what this author writes next.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What happens when the bullies push too far? January 19, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
What happens during summer should stay in summer.
Toni had a bit of a wild summer and now that school is starting she's going to have to face her actions head on. She didn't realize what she was getting herself into at the time. She's not the only one to blame, but she's the only one getting the blame. Oliver has gotten back together with his girlfriend Chloe, but Chloe is out for blood. Who knew a kiss could be so dangerous? Toni doesn't know what to do to get Chloe and her friends to stop harassing her, but Cassandra does. Cassandra says there's a better way to get even, a bit of hocus pocus. Toni's not sure she really believes in this stuff, but when it works she starts to change gears. Cassandra doesn't know how far is too far though and things get out of hand fast. Toni is going to have to help Cassandra with her own dark secrets before more people get hurt.

I was pretty excited to read this book. The description had this nice Carrie vibe about it and I saw Toni standing in the middle of a burning down school with a small grin. This book wasn't Carrie, but it wasn't bad either.

One of the things I had an issue with was Toni. She complains about how terrible Chloe is and the bullying and everything, but Toni isn't a nice person. Take this abbreviated excerpt:
"....'I would like us all to rise and join hands, please. We will now recite the school civility pledge.'....I take Ella's hand and offer my other to Bill 'Pigman' Pullman on my right. He grins maniacally, like I've offered him some other body part to touch. I say, 'Drooling's not pretty, Bill.'....'I pledge to be civil and caring to my fellow students. To create a welcoming environment free of hostility and prejudice.' I pray that Chloe is listening.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary, funny, completely engrossing November 15, 2013
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
This is an extraordinarily moving novel that takes fairly usual situations in teenage life -- love triangles, jealousy, revenge fantasies -- and takes them to powerfully dramatic levels. It's kind of like real life mythologized in the middle of New York City, and then made real again, with redemption a possibility at the end. Scary and funny and consistently great to read. I read it and my 14 year old daughter is now reading it and loving it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

More About the Author

Sorry,this is coming. I've just experienced a bout of amnesia and have forgotten everything about myself.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category