Buy Used
$3.82
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Season of the Witch Paperback – March 4, 2008


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$0.95 $0.01

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica
Discover an addictive, suspenseful debut thriller filled with twists and turns that will keep you engrossed from start to finish. Learn more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: NAL Trade; Reprint edition (March 4, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451223357
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451223357
  • Product Dimensions: 0.9 x 5.2 x 8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,838,696 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Starred Review. This spellbinding tale of magic and seduction from Mostert (Windwalker) shows that the unfettered pursuit of arcane enlightenment can sometimes come at too high a price. William Whittington, a terminally ill London investment banker, hires Gabriel Blackstone, a rakish "information broker," to find Robert, his missing 21-year-old son. Whittington's wife, who happens to be Blackstone's ex-girlfriend, knows Blackstone once belonged to an organization, Eyestorm, that used psychic methods to find missing objects and persons. When Blackstone draws on his remote viewing powers ("slamming the ride"), he discovers that Robert was murdered by one of two sisters—raven-haired Morrighan or flame-haired Minnaloushe Monk, direct descendants of Elizabethan occultist John Dee, who dabble in alchemy and the "Art of Memory." As Blackstone woos the suspects to discover which one is guilty, he falls desperately in love. Mostert, a South African writer now living in London, has produced a feverish tale that's goth SF at its finest. (Apr.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Booklist

In the early pages of Mostert's intriguing gothic thriller, crafty London computer hacker Gabriel Blackstone agrees to help track down a millionaire's missing stepson. His search leads him to two beautiful--and literally bewitching--sisters, Minnaloushe and Morrighan Monk. (Their ancient Irish names are but a hint of their eccentric natures.) The sexy siblings (all pale skin, dark and flowing hair, and light, haunting eyes) are immersed in the occult, and it's not long before at least one of them has climbed inside Gabriel's mind. But Gabriel, it turns out, is a clairvoyant himself. Can he tap into the sisters' secrets before becoming forever entangled in their web? Mostert (Windwalker, 2005) renders suspense, an atmosphere fraught with eroticism, and compelling characters (the comely sisters display a killer combination of femininity and guile). Fans of Anne Rice and Joyce Carol Oates should appreciate Mostert's take on mysticism, magic, and the ancient art of memory, while others may find the author's premise a bit too "woo-woo" for their tastes. Allison Block
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
See all 10 customer reviews
Yep, it was a good read.
junassicpark
As a fussy gourmand of mystery writing, I heartily recommend this mysterious and spicy offering.
Reader-Writer
It will stay with me for a long time.
Mrs. C. Colbert

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Reader-Writer on August 9, 2009
Format: Paperback
As a fussy gourmand of mystery writing, I heartily recommend this mysterious and spicy offering. Not only does Mostert know how to create create multi-dimensional characters, but she also knows how to weave them into a compelling tale and teach us something about arcane practices to boot. I'm delighted she enhanced my summer with such a creative read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
Season of the Witch is a book that you either love or hate. It's full of magic, mysticism, murder, mayhem, sexual tension and I loved it!

Gabriel is a remote viewer which means that he can see through people's eyes, see what they see, feel what they feel. When he is asked to find his ex-girlfriend's stepson he discovers something that scares and fascinates him when he scans his mind - the young man is slowly being drowned in a pool after he's been through 'The House of a Million Doors'.

Gabriel's search takes him to an old rambling house called Monk House which has a swimming pool:

"Monk House was the only Victorian house in an entire street of elegant Georgian buildings. It sat bulkily on the corner: square, brooding and defiant in its otherness. The brickwork was deep orange and there was more than a hint of Gothic in the pointed gable and the oriel window bulging from the house's flank. It was late afternoon and the sun glinted redly off the tiny leaded panes, creating an impression that inside a fire was burning."

The inhabitants of this house were the two beautiful Monk sisters, solar witches, red-haired Minnaloushe, an academic in Maths and Philosophy, the thinker: dark-haired Morrighan, an environmentalist, an eco-warrior, the do-er.

As Gabriel gets drawn deeper into their world he is confronted with obsession, high magic, mystic symbols, the ancient Art of Memory, Memory Palaces, alchemy and the frightening 'House of a Million Doors' (where each different room is full of weird images such as hundreds of clocks, broken violins, carnivorous plants, a blind monk). But what and where is it?
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By RayGun on May 19, 2013
Format: Paperback
What I loved most about this book is I actually learned something... you gotta hand it to a book filled with psychics and solar witches to actually teach someone a real talent that truly was invented by the ancient Greeks and used successfully...

While Gabriel's ability to see into the future and to `hack' information from other people's minds is an incredibly cool idea... and the `witches' abilities to access the worlds endless information and even allow people into their `memory rooms' makes this probably one of the most interesting and unique adventures I've ever read about... I have to say learning about the Art of Memory was my favorite part of this book... because though it does stretch it to mythic proportions it is a real technique that if I didn't have such a short attention span I would truly love to give a try... sadly I'm too lazy...

Back to the book though... I have never read another book like this... it's amazing and has a lot of twists and turns... and their use of the Art of Memory is pretty trippy... And Gabriel's ability to see the past or future and to even access certain memories is a nice twist on being a hacker of the information age... this may seem like a girly book by the cover but I honestly think anyone could enjoy this story... and though there is a romantic angle that is a main part of the tale it doesn't overshadow it or take away from the main point... and the ending is rather bittersweet but I think it's the perfect ending for such a story...
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Amazon Customer on February 11, 2013
Format: Paperback
Actually I felt like giving the book three stars when I got to the last two chapters. Don't get me wrong. I loved the story. It is well constructed, the characters are charming and they crawl under your skin. I grew fond of Isidore, I fancied Gabriel and I was truly charmed by the sisters. The story is magic, because it's about magic, but it's modern as well because it involves computers, hackers and data flow. It's present meets myth. It's soul meets knowledge. It's fantasy meets science. Anyway... a page turner it is! You long to finish the book, to know how it ends. Then you come to the last two chapters and everything looks so "obvious". It's quite disappointing. You read as though you would already know the end. BUT then bam! There it is! What? Of course I'm not telling you! Do you think I'm a spoilsport of a reader? I only tell you that it earned my four stars and maybe you'll agree with me after reading it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By willofthewisp on October 12, 2011
Format: Paperback
Slow, purposeless beginning, intriguing middle, disappointing ending. It just seems like the author just didn't have enough to make a novel-length story and added a bunch of filler. We get to know Gabriel quite a bit, but nothing of depth, and it only hints at his "dark" past. Also, once you read it all the way through, it really doesn't matter how Gabriel knows Frankie, the woman who brings the plot to him, or the nature of their previous relationship. All we really needed to know was that a young man has died mysteriously and his step-mother thinks the two weird women (not quite old enough to be cougars) killed him...I think that's written on the back of the book.

The sisters themselves are actually pretty fascinating, I thought. They differ from each other, but this cat-and-mouse they have with Gabriel makes for an addictive read. Who will seduce who first? And not just physical seduction, but that into alchemy, the art of memory, and some of the oldest aspects of the occult. Most of the diary entries capture one's interest, too. Someone in another review mentioned things like Gabriel not having time to work bothered them, but I saw that as evidence as to how far gone he was and how enticing the sisters and their...hobbies, for lack of a better word...are.

But then the story presents a twist of sorts, and it's kind of predictable. I can't reveal too much, but once this twist is revealed, the book just meanders, and yet, it seems rushed. There are some deaths, some dangerous situations, and a really, really weird resolution that doesn't seem to fit in with the rest of the book as far as tone goes.

What makes the book memorable and worth a read is the exposition of the art of memory and believe it or not, the book's website is actually a lot more interesting.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?