Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Second Seduction of a Lady~
Eleanor Hardwick lives her life the way she wants and thanks to an inheritance from her late mother, she can. If she wants to spend money of fancy bonnets, she will. If she wants to travel, she can. Yet, being the only child of a recluse father is very lonely so her travels often involve visiting her relatives and trying to help in any way she can, welcome or not...
Published on October 16, 2012 by Lisa Wolff

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable historical romance novella
The Second Seduction of a Lady is a historical novella that introduces a new series by Miranda Neville, The Wild Quartet. Eleanor is a woman firmly "on the shelf" and against the institution of marriage. She occupies her time by visiting relatives and helping out her many cousins. While visiting one of these cousins, Eleanor runs into the man who managed to seduce her...
Published on October 21, 2012 by Heather BookSavvyBabe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable historical romance novella, October 21, 2012
The Second Seduction of a Lady is a historical novella that introduces a new series by Miranda Neville, The Wild Quartet. Eleanor is a woman firmly "on the shelf" and against the institution of marriage. She occupies her time by visiting relatives and helping out her many cousins. While visiting one of these cousins, Eleanor runs into the man who managed to seduce her and use her years before. Max knew he made mistakes with Eleanor, but he has never gotten over her and he is determined to make the most of his second chance, which proves to be more difficult than he could have anticipated.

I really enjoyed Eleanor's character, I understood her negative feelings about marriage (even though I didn't necessarily agree) and I like that she is an independent woman. She manages to do what she pleases and still be part of society. Neither Eleanor or Max are high up in the Ton, they are people who are easy to relate to. Max proved to be very dedicated to winning Eleanor over and I always love it when a man has to work to win his lady.

The Second Seduction of a Lady is a quick read, but the antics of Eleanor's cousin and Max's attempts to win Eleanor are amusing and enjoyable to read. I did not have any issues with the story, but at the same time it did not amaze me. The story is simple, yet enjoyable and provides a nice prelude to an upcoming series. I enjoyed the writing, the characters, and the story and will likely read book 1 in The Wild Quartet Series, The Importance of Being Wicked, when it debuts in late November.

*I received this book in exchange for an honest review*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Second Seduction of a Lady~, October 16, 2012
Eleanor Hardwick lives her life the way she wants and thanks to an inheritance from her late mother, she can. If she wants to spend money of fancy bonnets, she will. If she wants to travel, she can. Yet, being the only child of a recluse father is very lonely so her travels often involve visiting her relatives and trying to help in any way she can, welcome or not. Eleanor takes one of her young cousins, Caro, under her wing since her mother is dastardly but her life is thrown into upheaval upon a walk when Eleanor and Caro stumble upon a young man and his guardian. The guardian is Max Quinton, the man who broke her heart five years ago with a cruel bet. Max is delighted to see the only woman who has laid claim to his heart and he is determined to make rights with Eleanor once and for all so he sets about a slow seduction to win her back. Unfortunately, he causes more problems as he uses his charge's interest in Caro to gain information and when this comes to light, the damage is done all over for Eleanor. Will a chase to Gretna Green together be enough to prove that Eleanor is the only one for him?

This novella (which was about sixty percent of my file, the rest were excerpts) is the kickoff to Miranda Neville's upcoming new series and was an enjoyable tale. When Max broke her heart, it cemented her belief that marriage is not for her, especially after witnessing her joyful mother wilt under her fathers boring lifestyle. Now, at the tender age of 30 (I loved that she was a bit older than the norm!), she is determined to live a quiet life by herself and she plans to shove Max away. Max is charming and quiet in his seduction of Eleanor and she finally allows him to explain his side of the bet and together they make great stride to happiness only for it to seem to fall away again. I really enjoyed the secondary romance that also bloomed between Caro and Robert and as Caro is the heroine for the next book (The Importance of Being Wicked) it has made me very anxious as to what is next for her! However, since this novella was about Eleanor and Max, I did sort of feel Caro's problems overtook the storyline a bit and I would have liked a little more courtship between Eleanor and Max with just a bit more of their history. Even in this short novella it has what I expect from Miranda Neville, sharp dialogue, wit, charm, heat and a dash of action. A great kickoff to what is sure to be an amazing series! 3 1/2 stars

*review copy*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars seconds chances at love, May 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Max and Eleanor finds each other after five years in the house of Robert his ward. Max seduced Eleanor for a bet because a man whose his wife cousin (Eleanor ) gave her some advice how she should treated her husband. The m an cursed and look for revenge and suggest a bet that who will kiss Eleanor.
Max accepted the bet and the matter does not resulted the way he wants. He fell in love with Eleanor and deduced her. When she finds about the bet she broke with him and refuse to seem him. After five years they meet again, Max is insisten to make amends to Eleanor to accept his marriage proposal. She accepts his proposal and they wed. The story is short but very sweet to see how couple managed to overcom their issues and reconcile their difference. I recommend this book and author, this is the first book of Mrs. Neville and not the last. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I liked the H in this story, but was indifferent to the h. This was not a keeper. Disappointing read, given the quality of stories I have previously enjoyed from this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, March 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Second Seduction of a Lady (Mass Market Paperback)
A novella that gives Max a second chance to win Eleanor's heart and prove he is not the man she thought he was. He truly is a wonderful man and has never stopped loving Eleanor. It also introduces Eleanor's cousin Caro Brotherton who is the heroine in The Importance of Being Wicked. This novella is a nice introduction for the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like this series. I liked this book. The characters were well developed, even if it was a novella. We had a good window into the secondary characters to prepare us for "The Importance of Being Wicked" Worth the time and fun too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, November 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was good. I love historicals...and this one hit the spot, although not my absolute favorite. The characters are well-done, the setting is good, and the plot twists are great. I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A ROMP THROUGH GEORGIAN ENGLAND!, May 10, 2013
This review is from: The Second Seduction of a Lady (Mass Market Paperback)
THE SECOND SEDUCTION OF A LADY by Miranda Neville is an exciting Georgian era historical romance set in 1793 England. A novella. #0.5 "Wild Quartet". The introduction to "Wild Quartet" series. What a beginning! Take a romp through Georgian England. A quick fun read with a bit of drama,lots of passion and love. First love lost than found again. Eleanor Hardwick and Max Quinton have passion,but a bet causes them to lose all. Five years later, love may just be found again for Max and Eleanor,for their passion still alive. A fun read and a great introduction to what looks to be an amazing series. Received for an honest review from the publisher.

RATING: 4

HEAT RATING: MILD

REVIEWED BY: AprilR(Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice intro to Neville's new series., January 31, 2013
By 
Jennifer (LOUISVILLE, KY, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this historical novella. Max and Eleanor are a great couple and I loved seeing their second chance at love. This was a great introduction to Neville's new series especially with the background of Caro, heroine of The Importance of Being Wicked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Second Seduction of a Lady by Miranda Neville, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a good read, held my interest and I will read more by this Author. Recommend this book highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Second Seduction of a Lady
The Second Seduction of a Lady by Miranda Neville (Mass Market Paperback - November 27, 2012)
$3.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.