Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an unrivalled classic, September 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Second Wind (Audio CD)
I can't believe someone hasn't reviewed this gem! The first of several landmark lp's by Auger and his group "the oblivion". This lp still boogies and rocks like the pressure cooker's about to explode! This music proved during the dark ages of disco that somebody could put out a product that was intelligent,compassionate and packed a rythmic wallop that revealed and shamed the souless, machine-like banality of the popular musical (disco)pablum of the day. It should have been the dance music of the day and upon present day listening still delivers a vitality and verve being expressed most vividly in the music by current Worldbeat artists...and the lyrics reveal the type of sensitivity, vision and strength that discriminating listeners have come to associate with mature artists such as Peter Gabriel,Midnight Oil,etc..Brian truly rocks forever with immortal heart and soul.Long live Brian Auger and the Oblivion Express!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Acid Jazz" at it's best!, July 23, 2004
By 
This review is from: Second Wind (Audio CD)
This is Brian Auger in his prime. This album is five stars plus. I cannot recommend this more highly. Buy and enjoy for a lifetime. Auger's B3 organ work on "Second Wind" and "Truth" will put chills down your spine......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Track #7, December 17, 2008
By 
V. Lucas (Naples, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Second Wind (Audio CD)
Amazon continues to never cease to amaze me at their lack of attention to detail. The product information states "Japanese reissue features a total of 7 tracks packaged in a miniature LP sleeve. WHD" but hen goes on to list only the basic six tracks of the disc. The 7th track is "Freedom Jazz Dance (live in Paris, 1971) [Bonus Track]". C'mon Amazon, pay attention!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Auger - The Legend Continues, March 29, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Second Wind (Audio CD)
My first Brian Auger and the Oblivion Express purchase was the album "Straight Ahead" back around 1970 or thereabouts. When I saw the CD re-issue on Amazon, I ordered it immediately, along with his retrospective CD, "Auger Rythyms". Both of these CD's are must have's for any Brian Auger fan ... However, there was a song I remembered from back in the day that was not on either one of these CD's ... A haunting, almost eerie echoed chord progression, backed by Brian's signature electric piano licks. The problem was,I couldn't for the life of me remember the song's title! Well folks, I scanned the album "Second Wind" song list and lo and behold, one of the selections was a tune named "Look Away" ... Paydirt! The entire CD is Auger at his finest ... One standout after another with the symetry and expertise we've all grown to love in all of Brian's work. Give a listen, you will not be sorry. Just a footnote .... Brian appears as a guest artist on one of "Down to the Bone"'s recent releases. 36 years after "Second Wind", he's still going strong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROCK, JAZZ AND FUSION, March 11, 2006
By 
W. Noshie (Beirut, Lebanon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Second Wind (Audio CD)
The first time I heard SECOND WIND was in 1972 and I was simply blown away.
34 years later, hearing the same album again and getting blown the same old way.

SECOND WIND is a combination of Jazz, Rock and pop music mixed in different songs. You've got to hear it to believe it.

SECOND WIND is Brian Auger's third release with his new band called OBLIVION EXPRESS.
Auger on Organ, Jim Mullen on Guitar, and Barry Dean on Bass; Accompanied on vocal by Alex Ligertwood for this single release who delivered a spectacular sound, adding an excellent touch to all 6 tracks of this album. (this release has 1 additional tracks which does not exist on the copy I own)

If you are into Rock, Jazz and fusion this album will be a rare find and a real treat.

I personally own all Brian Auger's albums however, If you hear and enjoy SECOND WIND, my second recommendation for the the same artist would be VOICES OF OTHER TIMES.
Another recommendation: Tony williams; "The Collection"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz Fusion, and Rock ...at its best, September 8, 2007
By 
W. Noshie (Beirut, Lebanon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Second Wind (Audio CD)
The first time I heard SECOND WIND was in 1972 and I was simply blown away.
34 years later, hearing the same album again and getting blown the same old way.

SECOND WIND is a combination of Jazz, Rock and pop music mixed in different songs. You've got to hear it to believe it.

SECOND WIND is Brian Auger's third release with his new band called OBLIVION EXPRESS.
Auger on Organ, Jim Mullen on Guitar, and Barry Dean on Bass; Accompanied on vocal by Alex Ligertwood for this single release who delivered a spectacular sound, adding an excellent touch to all 6 tracks of this album. (this release has 1 additional tracks which does not exist on the copy I own)

If you are into Rock, Jazz and fusion this album will be a rare find and a real treat.

I personally own all Brian Auger's albums however, If you hear and enjoy SECOND WIND, my second recommendation for the the same artist would be VOICES OF OTHER TIMES.
Another recommendation: Tony williams; "The Collection"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars onore al merito....., December 7, 2005
This review is from: Second Wind (Audio CD)
...erano anni che non riascoltavo Auger...esattamente una ventina o forse piu'.

Che musica,...e che organista!!!

Alla pari di Emerson, Wakeman ed altri tanto osannati.

Ascoltare anche la qualita' di "A better land ".

Bravo Brian,...e ci vediamo sul lago di Como questa estate per un altro concerto.

Andrea dall'Italia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8, 2014
By 
LutherG "Luther Goodman" (Spring, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Second Wind (Audio CD)
One of my all-time favorite albums. Got here in perfect condition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looney Tunes, April 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Second Wind (Audio CD)
Cannot download from you know who, so had to buy cd. It's somewhat of a problem but for me, too much hassle, I don't do top 40.Otherwise, seller delivered as promised, no problem. Just busting on I looney tunes !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brian Auger and Alex Ligertwood were on top of their game., March 10, 2014
This review is from: Second Wind (Audio CD)
Truth and Somebody Help Us Floored me. The rest of the tracks are also very good. If you want to hear some great keyboard playing, a great singer, and plenty of 70's period charm, definitely pick this one up. You'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Second Wind
Second Wind by Brian Auger's Oblivion Express (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.