Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot like Go Ask Alice: but even more sad if that's possible
I was a big Twin Peaks fan and watched the show faithfully, right up to the end. I even saw Fire Walk With Me in the theaters opening weekend.

I have to say reading this book gave me the chills. It was very heartbreaking,sad and terrifying as you read how Laura Palmer's life unfolded from ages 12 to 17.

I know there are a lot of theories from fans...
Published on June 19, 2006 by K. Coburn

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been a lot better.
I love Twin Peaks. LOVE IT. Poor, poor Laura Palmer. She lived a sad, dark, depressing, torturous life. This was an interesting read as a fan of the series, but towards the end it starts to feel rushed and you can tell Ms. Lynch just started throwing in every beat she needed to hit with very little context. Oh! Laura has to start the Meals on Wheels program! Oh wait, she...
Published 4 months ago by K. McCombs


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot like Go Ask Alice: but even more sad if that's possible, June 19, 2006
By 
I was a big Twin Peaks fan and watched the show faithfully, right up to the end. I even saw Fire Walk With Me in the theaters opening weekend.

I have to say reading this book gave me the chills. It was very heartbreaking,sad and terrifying as you read how Laura Palmer's life unfolded from ages 12 to 17.

I know there are a lot of theories from fans regarding whether BOB was real or someone Laura's sub-consciously made up to block any truth that her father was abusing her. But as Agent Cooper said in the show: Would it be any easier if I told you a man would rape and murder his own daughter?

In reading this you can almost hear Sheryl Lee's voice: from joy to sadness, terrified to angry, hopeful to hopeless: all the emotions are conveyed here.

In a way this would be a companion piece to the young adult novel "Go Ask Alice" , which was based on a true diary. Both books delve into the world of the All Amercan Girl and see their dreams go horribly astray.

Kudos to Jennifer Lynch for writing a very powerful work that may in fact help people who have beeen victims of abuse break free so that they don't become Laura Palmer herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT SUCKS YOU IN..., November 3, 2005
I am the first to admit that this is a book for die-hard Twin Peaks fans only, but doesn't that kind of go without saying? I doubt anyone else would even consider reading this book or even know of its existence. So this review is from the perspective of a Peaks fanatic.

This book grabs you from the start. I received it in the mail when I got home from work last night around 5:30, and I had it finished by 11:00--it's about 180 pages. Its conversational tone makes it a fast read, for sure, but it's Laura's completely unusual, fascinating experiences that really get the pages turning. The great thing about it is that it gives you further insight into the world of Twin Peaks, specifically Laura Palmer, obviously. TP is a very layered, complex "world" that requires multiple viewings to truly appreciate. Fire Walk With Me provided much appreciated insight into Laura's final week, but this diary goes so much further than that and highlights Laura's life from the age of 12 and off and on until 17, when she died. It is genuinely fascinating to see Laura change from a generally happy, if somewhat "different" 12-year-old into a tormented soul who welcomes death. The influence of Bob increases over time, though he had always been there. The pain seems so real, you can't really blame her for some of her outrageous and even hurtful behavior. I'm not going to give away anything specific, but suffice it to say that there is ample support for Dr. Jacoby's statements in the first season: To Agent Cooper that Laura should not be faulted for her cocaine addiction, and to Bobby that she didn't mean to hurt him, she just had no control over her own life.

Speaking of Bobby Briggs, this book goes into quite a bit of detail about their relationship. Although he softens considerably over the course of the show, this diary cements the idea that he was always misunderstood. If there was any doubt that Laura's relationship with Bobby was actually much deeper than her relationship with James Hurley, this book puts that doubt to rest for good. Here Bobby emerges as someone who understands Laura better than almost anyone, even though he didn't know her "secret." But he sensed it was there.

There are some pretty surprising revelations in this book, quite a feat, really.

Jennifer Lynch really succeeded in capturing the essense of Laura Palmer's struggle with Bob. I'm guessing she was briefed by her Dad beforehand--David Lynch has said that he has the world of Laura and Twin Peaks mapped out in his mind, and that TP will always be there, just no one is pointing a camera at it right now.

I must also comment on one poster's assessment of Bob's speaking through Laura as "dumb." How is it dumb if that was the reality in Laura's life? As for the poster who suggested that Jennifer Lynch was working through her own issues in writing this book, that is just uncalled for. Nothing in this book is inconsistent with what we already knew about Laura Palmer. Was there any doubt that she was one seriously screwed-up chick?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Young Woman's Life Makes A Mindblowing Novel, December 6, 1999
By 
GarbageGuy (Colorado, USA) - See all my reviews
"The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer" is a book that will make your jaw drop to the floor. The story centers around a woman by the name of Laura Palmer. Through her very eyes, the book shows how her reality is plagued by sex, drugs, and even an evil man trying to take over her life (known as BOB). A lot like Stephen King's novels, this book is shocking and disturbing, but unlike King, "The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer" is easy to read and the words flow smoothly. On a scale of one to ten (one being the lowest score and ten being the highest), I rate this book an eight. The story kept me compelled to read more and find out what else happened in Laura's intense life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have For Twin Peaks Fans, July 14, 2002
By A Customer
For those who are familiar with the 1990's TV series "Twin Peaks", this book is a must-have. It begins on Laura Palmer's 12th birthday and documents most of the important events in her short life, up to a few days before her murder and the disappearance of this diary. Although "The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer" is very provocative (after all, how many young girls have 40 lovers before they turn 15, are constantly abused by an unknown entity named BOB, and also struggle with a cocaine addiction?), I wasn't entirely shocked. I had watched the series first, as well as the movie ("Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me"), before reading this book (which I highly recommend other readers do as well; otherwise, you might be a little lost), so I pretty much knew what to expect from Laura. However, I never did feel any closer to her after reading her diary, probably because there were giant time lapses between entries, and the book didn't even read like a diary at times. Still, I highly recommend this book to "Twin Peaks" fans who are interested in Laura Palmer's past. And even if you've never watched the series, you might want to give this one a try and "discover the nightmare version of daddy's little girl". After reading this, you'll definitely want to watch the series and movie again. You might even catch some clues you didn't see before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laura, in-depth, July 14, 2011
The thing's that are revealed about Laura in this book are like 10 times more f'd up than anything you learn from the actual show; seriously messed up sexual fantasies and stories of abuse... more explicit than I'd imagined it'd be. You get a much better understanding of who she was and her entire situation. Definitely a worthy read for fans of Twin Peaks, but I can't say I'd recommend it for someone who's never watched the show. Jennifer Lynch isn't so great of a writer, but it kind of adds to the believability of the material since a 12-16 year old girl writing in a diary probably wouldn't write, or care to write, too well. Overall though, this book adds a good deal of depth to Laura as a person and sheds more light on relationships between those she interacted with... very cool things for fans of Twin Peaks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition., February 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So I watched 2 season of Twin peaks, than read this book, and after that I saw movie twin peaks (about 2 hours). The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer shows her live, and so does the movie, but book has more details (so it is better to watch tv series, read book and than watch the movie). Great addition to 2 seasons, and at the end of the movie we have an answer why BOB went into someone else( I don't want to spoil anything for those who didn't see Twin Peaks tv show yet).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been a lot better., March 12, 2014
I love Twin Peaks. LOVE IT. Poor, poor Laura Palmer. She lived a sad, dark, depressing, torturous life. This was an interesting read as a fan of the series, but towards the end it starts to feel rushed and you can tell Ms. Lynch just started throwing in every beat she needed to hit with very little context. Oh! Laura has to start the Meals on Wheels program! Oh wait, she has to tutor Josie Packard in English! Oh crap! She has to fall in love with James Hurley, I better add a diary entry that mentions him. ONE ENTRY. One entry about James Hurley??? That seems incongruous with the series. My favorite part of the diary was when Laura has her strange encounter with the Log Lady. I would have really liked more of that in this "diary." After awhile the sex, drugs, BOB, sex, drugs, BOB gets tiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for every Twin Peaks fan!, April 12, 2004
By 
Snake Fang (Sofia, Bulgaria) - See all my reviews
I just read this book for the second time and with clear mind I can state that this book catches the great atmosphere residing in the little town Twin Peaks. The diary is focused (as expected) on the person of Laura Palmer - the girl who when found killed unleashes a masterpiece movie by the genius David Lynch. Almost every character from the Twin Peaks series has its place on the pages of this diary and as in the movie, most of the facts are left to the raders to interpret in their own way. The fate of Laura Palmer is moving and her character quite interesting - for most persons not knowing her she seems to have quite a strong character but deep inside she's a weak little girs seeking out for help. At the end of the story however she loses the fight she's been losing almost all her life. Or does she lose at the end? It is up to your interpretation as I mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for any fan, January 31, 1999
By A Customer
The book was released between the first season & the second season. No one was ready for such a twisted, sorid, and honest page-turner. It isn't some knock off meant to cash in on the television show's popularity. It works as a stand alone novel. The book's twist to viewers was Laura's incredible possession by BOB. At this point in the show's run, Twin Peaks was normal murder mystery with some supernatural sprinkles on it's doughnuts. But this book signaled that perhaps, the little town of Twin Peaks was a spirit-filled dream land, with reality sprinkled on top. Fire Walk With Me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, not what I would've wanted, December 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought it was going to be a little more than it was. I wanted to know other details that we don't get here. Quick, easy read. A little disturbing at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer (Twin Peaks)
The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer (Twin Peaks) by Jennifer Lynch (Paperback - December 6, 2011)
$13.00 $11.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.