Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore this at your peril - fair warning.
I was drawn to read this book not only because of the author's other (life's) work - but because I have had some tangential experience in law suits involving post-tramatic stress.
Expecting a good encyclopedic overview of the topic and writing for readers, I got a lot more. Make no mistake, it is an exhaustive discussion of the topic of unethical hypnosis, and it...
Published on November 16, 1998

versus
31 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic in sense of being unbelievable
While reading this book last year, I looked up the author's references and found that she either accidentally or deliberately misconstrued a number of her sources. As I recall, her source for there being a large number of studies of hypnotism by the military actually cited a large number of studies of psychological warfare, only one or two of which had to do with...
Published on June 6, 2000 by Miles N. Fowler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore this at your peril - fair warning., November 16, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Secret, Don't Tell: The Encyclopedia of Hypnotism (Paperback)
I was drawn to read this book not only because of the author's other (life's) work - but because I have had some tangential experience in law suits involving post-tramatic stress.
Expecting a good encyclopedic overview of the topic and writing for readers, I got a lot more. Make no mistake, it is an exhaustive discussion of the topic of unethical hypnosis, and it is well written - but it is a good deal more than that to be sure.
Readers of Emery's "Encyclopedia of Country Living" learn to be prepared for lively writing, and details, with a surprise on nearly every page. Well, you get the same experience here - with the advantage of knowing that disseminating this work as widely as possible will only serve to better humanity.
The book deserves the widest possible audience, and not merely those folks who have a professional (or even passing) interest in the topic. Of special interst to the professionals noted in the blurbs from the publisher - it is exteremly timely information, and presented in such a readable and entertaining matter that even readers with no interest in tales of hypnotism will be riveted from the outset.
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. Read it, and share it with friends. You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping narrative on the development of "hypno-robots", November 24, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Secret, Don't Tell: The Encyclopedia of Hypnotism (Paperback)
At first glance, this book seems to be a arid catalog of the history of hypnotism, exciting only to professionals. On the contrary, Carla Emery weaves exciting tales of hypnotic abuse and mind control through her,anything but dry,facts. She describes true cases of government mind control in chilling detail and also gives a first-hand account of the horrifying and dehumanizing process that results in a "hypno-robot." I encourage anyone who has ever been in, or who is contemplating, hypnosis first to read this book. A mind is a terrible thing to waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm one of the people she talks about., March 24, 2003
By 
Kay Fox (Kansas City, MO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Secret, Don't Tell: The Encyclopedia of Hypnotism (Paperback)
It is true. It is happening to me. Do read the book and understand that this must be happening to more people than can be imagined. Doctors won't tell nor will the police. Talk about what's happening with everyone. Share information now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chilling and real, June 20, 2006
I know a woman who used to be married to a man in the CIA, and she confirmed what Carla says in her book. That makes this book all the more chilling. The average person does not know the sinister experiments that the CIA is involved in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truth and Lies, January 8, 2007
This review is from: Secret, Don't Tell: The Encyclopedia of Hypnotism (Paperback)
The basic message of this book is to explain certain principles within hypnosis and that of mind control. i have researched mind control for some years and feel that this book sticks far closer to the truth than others will even dare to go. I consider the book useful for gaining a better understanding of hypnosis but not to take it to the step of hypnotising others. For that there are simply other, better books. A good read none the less so i give this book 4 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truthful and chilling!, February 29, 2008
This review is from: Secret, Don't Tell: The Encyclopedia of Hypnotism (Paperback)
Read this book and pass it along so that others can learn the truth also! I am a survivor of abusive hypnosis and was amazed at the truth Carla Emery put together within these pages. Truly, it is possible to be a victim for many years (15 years of bondage for me) and not know it with the conscious mind. Perhaps if I had read this book many years earlier, the perp would have been unable to ever start his enslavement. Speaking from experience, I KNOW this book contains the truth and highly recommend it to every sincere person. More than captivating reading, this book contains warnings, which if taken seriously, should help protect the reader from any "wolves" who would seek to control and destroy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hypnotism Exposed, July 25, 2013
By 
Scott H. Irving "itis-truth.org" (Portland, Maine United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret, Don't Tell: The Encyclopedia of Hypnotism (Paperback)
I have read several good books on Mind Control. Fritz Springmeier, Brice Taylor, Kathleen Sullivan. Kathleen mentioned this book which is why I bought it. This book focuses primarily on Hypnosis and how it can be misused and how great harm can be deliberately done thought hypnosis. She gives the history, including the 1st legal cases in regards to misuse and abuse. It is dogmatically asserted by many that people can not be forced to do things against their will under hypnosis, which this book refutes soundly.

If you are looking into Mind Control at all, this is another useful perspective on the whole matter, with history and law reviewed. I really appreciated Carla Emery's perspective. As well, she tries to help people understand what a trance is like and how it is related to other functions such as falling asleep, or "zoning out." Hypnotism definitely needs to be reconsidered in view of its past. It is a very readable book, if you are into the subject. It is hard to resist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING., October 8, 2000
By 
S HARDING (newcastle, tyne and wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Secret, Don't Tell: The Encyclopedia of Hypnotism (Paperback)
This is an excellent book by Carla Emery. I was drawn to this book by my need to understand how one can have so much control over another as it is something i have experienced and now understand.Read this book and let your eyes be opened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Author told of Book, October 8, 2013
This review is from: Secret, Don't Tell: The Encyclopedia of Hypnotism (Paperback)
I am here to attest that Carla stayed with us in the 80's and told us she was writing this book and the abuse she entailed while being forced to submit to experimentation by her first husband and the government. Makes you realize the things happening today with all these quite people gone wild killing may all be part of a bigger picture. She was a brilliant, down to earth person and I am sorry she died of a "heart attack". Yea, Breitbart, too. Read the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take Your Mind Back, August 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret, Don't Tell: The Encyclopedia of Hypnotism (Paperback)
This is an excellently informative book! There's a reason this information is kept under wraps. You are in a war for your mind, and probably don't even know it. Knowledge is power. Find out how to break free from the manipulation that permeates cultures all over the world, especially American culture. This book will be well worth your time to read it. You will never look at the "entertainment" industry the same. Order today and wake up from the trance of hypnotism!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Secret, Don't Tell: The Encyclopedia of Hypnotism
Secret, Don't Tell: The Encyclopedia of Hypnotism by Carla Emery (Paperback - June 1998)
Used & New from: $25.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.