Customer Reviews


239 Reviews
5 star:
 (203)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars magic!
This is an absolutely beautiful book!
BUT - on the first page, the authors suggest we "use felt tip pens". However, the pages are absorbent and the ink seeps through to the other side. I ruined several pages of my precious copy by doodling and colouring in a few items here and there on the most enticing designs before realising what was happening on the back...
Published 7 months ago by elena

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you are going to create...
I love Johanna Basford and her art and I was so excited to get this book in my hands along with my pens, microns and copics. But forget it. I was so very disappointed when I realized one half of this beautiful book would be completely ruined if I did what the writing encourages me to do! Why, oh why would you design a book of this nature on such a paper? What a shame. 3...
Published 2 months ago by Kimberly Kline


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars magic!, September 2, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Coloring Book (Paperback)
This is an absolutely beautiful book!
BUT - on the first page, the authors suggest we "use felt tip pens". However, the pages are absorbent and the ink seeps through to the other side. I ruined several pages of my precious copy by doodling and colouring in a few items here and there on the most enticing designs before realising what was happening on the back! This is the only reason I did not give the book five stars. Other than this It is completely entrancing!
I am going to get colouring pencils!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sumptuous and More Than Meets the Eye, June 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Coloring Book (Paperback)
I bought this book for my adult daughter who still loves to colour and the intricate drawings will delight her. The paper is of a quality suitable for felt tip pens and there are even pages with gentle spaces to encourage the user to pen a few designs in black fine point. Along the way there are also hidden images to find on every page. What I didn't expect was how much I would be inspired by the designs. These would make beautiful needlework conversions into cross stitch or embroidery works of art. The layout and dust jacket are small but important features and make giving this a joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure Hunt & Coloring book, May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Coloring Book (Paperback)
I actually found a copy of this in a little gift shop in San Francisco and then purchased a second copy for my daughter once I came home from vacation. These make great therapeutic gifts for adults or teens too. What a wonderful way to relax. Excellant gift for anyone that is bed bound. Add coloring pencils and an electric pencil sharpener and your gift will be the BEST of the bunch and most appreciated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Adult Coloring, May 21, 2013
By 
Sharon (Washington State) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Coloring Book (Paperback)
So relaxing to sit down with this book and my adult colored pencils (Faber Castel) and just color away to my heart's content. Every page is different and unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for!, July 2, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Coloring Book (Paperback)
BUY THIS BOOK! I just received this book today and I am totally blown away. I came back on to see if Ms Basford had any other books to order. I will definitely be ordering more copies to keep for future use. The pictures are amazingly beautiful and instantly spark so many coloring possibilities. I hope she comes out with more just like this one. II would definitely give this as a gift. That is, if I could get myself to let one go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a wonderful book., June 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Coloring Book (Paperback)
I have looked for a coloring book like this for quite sometime. This is absolutely beautiful. I would give this as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift purchase, July 6, 2013
By 
J. Nagle (Rochester, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Coloring Book (Paperback)
I purchased this for my adult daughter who has a very stressful job. She has always loved to color so I purchased this for her along with some beautiful colored pencils. They make a great gift for those in need of quiet relaxation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So fun and relaxing, May 4, 2013
This review is from: Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Coloring Book (Paperback)
I am an adult colorer or is it colorist??? Whatever, I love this book. I use thin markers mostly and find it very therapeutic to make these pages come alive with color!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun Book, May 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Coloring Book (Paperback)
This is a fun book with almost a hundred pages of great images to color. There is also a seeking game - you need to find different animals or plants on the pages. I'm having fun with it and I haven't even given it to my grandsons yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done art, July 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Coloring Book (Paperback)
There is a large variety of black line art in this book and its worth the money to have the collection of wonderful detailed art. If you enjoy the art from the 1960s you will love this book as it has a psychedelic touch also in its illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4d7924c)

This product

Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Coloring Book
Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Coloring Book by Johanna Basford (Paperback - March 26, 2013)
$14.95 $10.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.