Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book
Amazing illustrations punctuate a long-forgotten story of America's ongoing addiction to prohibition. A brief telling of how caffeine was for some time just as despised and criminal as cocaine is today segues to strong evidence of the special relationship between Harry Anslinger and the Coca Cola corporation that lead to that company's state-enforced monopoly on the...
Published 23 months ago by Josh Wieder

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book is too short
It contains good information but it's so short. Guess it would be a good table top book. It would be good for a preteen.
Published 22 months ago by M. Conway


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, December 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Secret History of Coffee, Coca & Cola (Hardcover)
Amazing illustrations punctuate a long-forgotten story of America's ongoing addiction to prohibition. A brief telling of how caffeine was for some time just as despised and criminal as cocaine is today segues to strong evidence of the special relationship between Harry Anslinger and the Coca Cola corporation that lead to that company's state-enforced monopoly on the retail benefits of coca. A perfect example of the madness that fuels State funded wars on plants, and a long-awaited sequel of sorts to the author's previous work on Marijuana, the book climaxes with the Bureau of Narcotics/Coca-Cola connection - a story of corruption, stupidity and needless human suffering in the eternal war between those who wish to live their own lives and those who wish to dictate the lives of others. A must read for caffeine users, cocaine users, coffee drinkers, coca chewer, law enforcement, Coca-cola drinkers and employees as well as anyone whose life has been impacted by the drug "war".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book is too short, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Secret History of Coffee, Coca & Cola (Hardcover)
It contains good information but it's so short. Guess it would be a good table top book. It would be good for a preteen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Quality and Highly Entertaining, January 4, 2013
By 
Joe (Costa Mesa, CA USA!) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Secret History of Coffee, Coca & Cola (Hardcover)
This is one of those fun books that make great gifts for that certain someone who you know would appreciate these kinds of things. This person will LOVE THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Knowledge, June 23, 2014
This review is from: A Secret History of Coffee, Coca & Cola (Hardcover)
Prohibitionists are very evil people and they are able to get away with destroying people lives because citizens are not informed and do not have the info they need on the facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOST MY ORDER but item was BEYOND described!!, August 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Secret History of Coffee, Coca & Cola (Hardcover)
I had not realized this was a signed copy. The book is astounding. My husband couldn't wait to for his chance to see it. Largely written at a juvenile level yet astoundingly informative. Perfect for any age -- and adults will find it enlightening and engaging. Gorgeously illustrated. Seller lost my order...didn't offer any compensation like free overnight shipping... but the item was overwhelmingly wonderful it was worth waiting 3 weeks. Not sure I would order from this source again... but this book astounded me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coca and Cola, not Coca Cola, May 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Secret History of Coffee, Coca & Cola (Hardcover)
This book does have nice illustrations, but it is not about Coca Cola and that's my fault. It has very few words, and I needed a book for a report I was doing, so this didn't help. Since it came up very close to the top of the list when I searched Amazon for Coca Cola, I assumed incorrectly that it was all about the beverage - it's not all about Coke. I didn't read the entire description, and I paid for a book that I probably will never look at again. One star off for being too short. That's less than 60 pages or 23 cents per page, or 46 cents per sheet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Secret History of Coffee, Coca & Cola
A Secret History of Coffee, Coca & Cola by Ricardo Cortés (Hardcover - December 4, 2012)
$17.95 $14.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.