Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Secret Life of Birds - 5 Part Series
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 1, 2012
This is a nice little disc but with just a little more thought it could have been even better. The presenter has a strong Welsh accent, (no bad thing as he is talking about birds in his beloved Wales), but not everyone will follow this easily and the decision to leave off subtitles is lamentable. The episodes all start off with the same rather lengthy introduction which leads to confusion as one thinks the disc may be faulty and one is getting a repeat of the previous episode. It also gets tiresome as the episodes progress. Photography is excellent and sound more than adequate. It is available very cheaply indeed and if you like this sort of niche program and are not bothered by lack of subtitles it is a good buy. Despite being labelled zone A it is actually region free and as this disc is not on sale in Wales, or anywhere else outside North America, it can be happily purchased on line for shipment anywhere.
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2012
This excellent series shows what the birds of Wales must encounter for their survival. It is a good portrayal of European bird life, something which Americans don't often see unless they travel there. Many of the bird families are the same, although the species have different color patterns and lifestyles from our American birds. With beautiful picture and sound made possible by the blu-ray disc, you get the closest view possible. The set contains five programs and is a little more than two and a half hours in total length. It's now a real bargain at less than ten dollars (including shipping) from Amazon's sellers. If you are interested in European birds, this miniseries offers much in representing the wildlife and intriguing landscape of a small country.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2013
Some people may buy this unwittingly thinking it is BBC's Life Of Birds by David Attenborough. It isn't. But it IS a very, very good mini-series about the birds of Wales, a small country that is part of Great Britain. The host, Iolo Williams, is a Welsh TV presenter and nature observer who has become famous in Britain in recent years for his documentaries. This one, which specializes in Welsh birds, is his only U.S release as of this writing. It is well worth watching whether you are a bird lover, want something family friendly or are just looking for something cheap and educational. This series delivers.

The show is split into 5 half-hour episodes. The picture quality is very good, being a clean 1080p release. The sound quality is ok, being in simple Dolby Digital stereo. It's the cinematography that really shines here however. The scenes take place in city canals, coastal marshes, estuaries, river deltas, woodlands, mountain forests and even winter-frozen moors. Williams takes the viewer on a journey all over Wales exploring the different kinds of birds and how they migrate, find food, survive extreme conditions and most importantly, coexist with humans. Dozens of species are shown and described, many of which either live in the USA where most people reading this review live, or which have close relatives that are nearly identical to them that live in America. In other words, even though they are Welsh birds many American viewers will see familiar faces as they join Williams on his expeditions. I particularly enjoyed seeing the many kinds of Chickadees that live in Wales. Given the price of this show, which at the time of writing is only a little over $8.00 on Amazon, I highly recommend this purchase. Anyone who likes nature and nature documentaries will enjoy this as will people looking for clean, safe and educational viewing for children. This is definitely a good buy.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 8, 2012
When I bought this I was thinking this would cover birds around the globe, as the packaging nowhwre mentions that it's only Welsh birds. (the reason I deducted a star from my rating)
This wonderful 5 part BBC series only covers the birds that live in Wales, each episode runs 30 mins.
Still i did learn some stuff, and there was some beautiful and intersting feathered friends.
The PQ and AQ on this blu-ray relasese is stellar, and it's affordable from the films ar Mill Creek, this is also availble on Secret Life of Birds - 5 Part Series DVD for thsoe who dont own a blu-ray player.
I used to go bird watching when I was younger lad, I miss them good ol' days.
I need to do it again one day...
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
In overall, this is an enjoyable documentary to watch. It is not a super BBC production, with the typical breathtaking features one can expect from BBC videos (like underwater footages of 3-meter waves, slow motion pictures of penguins jumping out of the water or an intimate view of a mother bird feeding her chicks inside a burrow). As a matter of fact, apart from the gorgeous aerial views of welsh landscapes, the whole movie has a sort of "home-made" feeling, i.e., you get the impression that anyone with an HD-camera and a good narrator could have produced the same movie; the result, however, is very satisfactory. Another interesting thing: the product should be called "The Secret Life of Welsh Birds", as it is entirely focused in Wales and its birds (although the variety of birds that exist in Wales is truly surprising!). The narration adds a lot of value to the product, the guy really is a bird-enthusiast. One drawback: there is no subtitles menu on the disc, which makes understanding quite difficult for non-native English speakers, specially because of the strong welsh accent of the narrator..
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2012
This is an excellent Blu-ray DVD! I'm a birder and I love the color and all the life of birds. This DVD is for everyone who loves the life and beauty of birds.
It teaches you different life patterns all birds go through. One excellent feature about this DVD is every photo of the birds are identified with the exact name of the bird. You just don't see the bird, the naturalist (birder) who narrates and takes you through the life of birds, identifies all the different lives birds go through and identifies every bird you see. It is excellent!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2013
My cat loves this video.
I plug it in on a rainy night and we sit and watch it together.
Sometimes she'll even make the mouth gestures like she wants to attack the screen...
...Like some people do when they watch certain TV shows!?!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2013
Should have been titled "The Secret Life of Birds in Wales". Probably good to go if you happen to live in Wales, but not so much if you live anywhere/everywhere else. Nice photography, host has a strong accent which was difficult to comprehend at times.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2014
I've watched the first two parts, and it's a very interesting series. However, the sound quality is just terrible. I have to turn the sound up incredibly high to hear and understand the narrator, who I believe is Welsh. I watch plenty of shows with English, Scottish, and Irish narrators, so it's not a function of my ability to understand the accent. It's a shame, because I'd really like to give this DVD a higher rating.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2013
I had no idea that so many birds found their homes at one time or another in Wales. Mr Williams does such a great job showing the different habits of these species. The film showed in chapter like habitats, nestsing, courtships and the works. I felt his amazement and love of these animals as I do when I am out filming or just watching them. The Dipper in Wales on the creeks and rivers was new to me but I learned we have them in the states as I went on line to find out more about the species that Mr. Williams taught about.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.