Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guide to fun in the Buffalo/Niagara Region
If you like the great outdoors and are going to be in the Buffalo/Niagara region this book is a must. Everyone knows where the big attractions are, this author takes you to those lesser known treasures. These are off the beaten path, quiet locations that show the true beauty of New York State and leave the commercial touch behind. The true nature lover will not miss...
Published on June 11, 2001 by Keith Curtachio

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Over priced.
Book arrived damaged. Price was ridiculous for a PAPERBACK! Might be okay for someone interested in rock climbing, but must be a young person. I was in shock about the price. Such a disappointment!
Published 23 months ago by Betty


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guide to fun in the Buffalo/Niagara Region, June 11, 2001
By 
Keith Curtachio (Amherst, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Secret Places: A Guide to 25 Little Known Scenic Treasures of the New York's Niagara-Allegheny Region, Including the Beautiful, the Bizarre, the Spec (Paperback)
If you like the great outdoors and are going to be in the Buffalo/Niagara region this book is a must. Everyone knows where the big attractions are, this author takes you to those lesser known treasures. These are off the beaten path, quiet locations that show the true beauty of New York State and leave the commercial touch behind. The true nature lover will not miss the concession and gift stands. The only other people you may find are other nature lovers. You'll feel like a true explorer the first time you see the eternal flame burning behind the waterfall and then climb up the root ladder. But use caution! These are off the beaten path and no safety's are around. It is truely at your own risk and you need to be nature savvy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, June 20, 2004
This review is from: Secret Places: A Guide to 25 Little Known Scenic Treasures of the New York's Niagara-Allegheny Region, Including the Beautiful, the Bizarre, the Spec (Paperback)
Completely awesome book for someone who wants to spend a day with nature. Gives specifics as to how to get to the particular place and the things you will encounter and enjoy on the way there. Hikes and trails are rated with difficulty levels so that you can choose them based on your skill and energy levels. We've visited a few sites already and plan to visit them all one weekend at a time. Do remember to bring the recommended plastic bag for litter with you so that we can all keep these beautiful spiritual places as healthy as they can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what it says in the subtitle, September 29, 2013
By 
Shagbark (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Secret Places: A Guide to 25 Little Known Scenic Treasures of the New York's Niagara-Allegheny Region, Including the Beautiful, the Bizarre, the Spec (Paperback)
Bruce Kershner spent his spare time travelling around all the wilderness areas in western New York to create a map of old-growth forests and try to preserve them. These are the things he ran across or heard about while doing that. Some of them, like Little Rock City and that crazy place near Rochester on the cover, are one-of-a-kind. Some are just beautiful and secret. I don't want to recommend this too strongly and send throngs of hikers to these places... but I went to see almost everything in the book & don't regret any of it.

I'm surprised it costs so much now--I think it was about $15 when it was published. But it's still worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, July 29, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Places: A Guide to 25 Little Known Scenic Treasures of the New York's Niagara-Allegheny Region, Including the Beautiful, the Bizarre, the Spec (Paperback)
As a resident of Western New York I am familiar with most natural sites but this book reveals many I had never visited. Am looking forward to exploring all that I can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, July 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Places: A Guide to 25 Little Known Scenic Treasures of the New York's Niagara-Allegheny Region, Including the Beautiful, the Bizarre, the Spec (Paperback)
As this book is older there is room for improvement. Maps are drawings of the area not pictures of the official trail map on the site. But since the book is a bit older this is to be expected. I guess the book is discontinued to minimize the foot traffic on some of the more sensitive areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Over priced., November 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Places: A Guide to 25 Little Known Scenic Treasures of the New York's Niagara-Allegheny Region, Including the Beautiful, the Bizarre, the Spec (Paperback)
Book arrived damaged. Price was ridiculous for a PAPERBACK! Might be okay for someone interested in rock climbing, but must be a young person. I was in shock about the price. Such a disappointment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.