THE SECRET REVELATION OF JOHN and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Trade in your item
Get a $2.00
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Secret Revelation of John Hardcover – February 28, 2006


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$32.99 $6.85

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Harvard University Press; 1ST edition (February 28, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0674019032
  • ISBN-13: 978-0674019034
  • Product Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.8 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #516,061 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

In the tradition of Elaine Pagels's The Gnostic Gospels and Beyond Belief: The Secret Gospel of Thomas, King has produced a study on another early apocryphal Christian text: Apocryphon Johannis, said to be Christ's revelation to his disciple John.
--Pius Charles Murray (Library Journal 2006-02-15)

The book is eloquently argued, and presents its reading of texts clearly. It is also well produced, with an extensive bibliography. It is challenging, and helps us to understand the rich religious culture of the period. There is a creative approach to political, social, ethical, and philosophical problems. It gives an insight into a vibrant and energetic thought-world.
--John Binns (Church Times)

The Apocryphon of John is the most important document of "Sethian" or "Classic" Gnosticism, extant in four Coptic translations representing two basic versions, a shorter one (BG, 2; NHC III, 1) and a longer one (NHC II, 1; IV, 1). In this book, King presents a new translation of both versions, BG, 2 and NHC II, 1 on facing pages, with variants in NHC III, 1 given in notes. King does not believe that "Gnosticism" ever existed, and she rejects the view of a number of scholars (including myself) that the Ap. John as we know it represents a Gnostic myth that has been secondarily "Christianized" with its frame story (Jesus' revelation to John) and its dialogue features (Jesus answering questions posed by John). In her learned commentary, she shows how its author reinterpreted Plato's Timaeus, the book of Genesis, Wisdom literature, and the Gospel of John. While some of her interpretations are open to question...her sympathetic and insightful reading of the Ap. John as a Christian text linking "social critique with spirituality" has something to commend it.
--Birger A. Pearson (Religious Studies Review 2006-07-01)

The Secret Revelation of John is an excellent book, full of sound scholarship and attention to nuance, and presented in an accessible manner. It is well worth the attention of anyone interested in early Christianity.
--Michael Kaler (Studies in Religion 2007-11-01)

About the Author

Karen L. King is Winn Professor of Ecclesiastical History at the Divinity School, Harvard University.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By R. Engelhardt on August 10, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I wish I had read this a long time ago, and that it were more widely known and discussed. It enhances and supplements what we are taught and what I have read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images