The Secret Revelation of John and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$16.40
Qty:1
  • List Price: $21.50
  • Save: $5.10 (24%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
The Secret Revelation of ... has been added to your Cart
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $2.12
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Secret Revelation of John Paperback – March 30, 2009

3 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$16.40
$12.40 $9.75

"Post-Traumatic Church Syndrome: A Memoir of Humor and Healing"
A book for questioners, doubters, misfits, and seekers of all faiths. Learn more
$16.40 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 4 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

The Secret Revelation of John + What Is Gnosticism? + The Gospel of Mary of Magdala: Jesus and the First Woman Apostle
Price for all three: $52.48

Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

In the tradition of Elaine Pagels's The Gnostic Gospels and Beyond Belief: The Secret Gospel of Thomas, King has produced a study on another early apocryphal Christian text: Apocryphon Johannis, said to be Christ's revelation to his disciple John. (Pius Charles Murray Library Journal 2006-02-15)

The book is eloquently argued, and presents its reading of texts clearly. It is also well produced, with an extensive bibliography. It is challenging, and helps us to understand the rich religious culture of the period. There is a creative approach to political, social, ethical, and philosophical problems. It gives an insight into a vibrant and energetic thought-world. (John Binns Church Times)

The Apocryphon of John is the most important document of "Sethian" or "Classic" Gnosticism, extant in four Coptic translations representing two basic versions, a shorter one (BG, 2; NHC III, 1) and a longer one (NHC II, 1; IV, 1). In this book, King presents a new translation of both versions, BG, 2 and NHC II, 1 on facing pages, with variants in NHC III, 1 given in notes. King does not believe that "Gnosticism" ever existed, and she rejects the view of a number of scholars (including myself) that the Ap. John as we know it represents a Gnostic myth that has been secondarily "Christianized" with its frame story (Jesus' revelation to John) and its dialogue features (Jesus answering questions posed by John). In her learned commentary, she shows how its author reinterpreted Plato's Timaeus, the book of Genesis, Wisdom literature, and the Gospel of John. While some of her interpretations are open to question...her sympathetic and insightful reading of the Ap. John as a Christian text linking "social critique with spirituality" has something to commend it. (Birger A. Pearson Religious Studies Review 2006-07-01)

The Secret Revelation of John is an excellent book, full of sound scholarship and attention to nuance, and presented in an accessible manner. It is well worth the attention of anyone interested in early Christianity. (Michael Kaler Studies in Religion 2007-11-01)

About the Author

Karen L. King is Hollis Professor of Divinity at the Divinity School, Harvard University.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Harvard University Press (February 28, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0674030559
  • ISBN-13: 978-0674030558
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 1 x 8.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.9 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,186,120 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By R. Engelhardt on August 10, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I wish I had read this a long time ago, and that it were more widely known and discussed. It enhances and supplements what we are taught and what I have read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Jon Larson on October 11, 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book should be considered a great embarrassment to the Harvard University press. The print is so light on most pages as to make the text almost unintelligible, and the print extends so far into the binding that the reader has to force the book open in order to be able to read it. Had I known this, I never would have bought the book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Jean Korfanta on January 2, 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I found the book difficult to read and follow. I was unable to get "into" the book. I stopped reading it. I am very disappointed in it. GARTH Korfanta
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
The Secret Revelation of John
This item: The Secret Revelation of John
Price: $16.40
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com