Qty:1
  • List Price: $17.99
  • Save: $4.64 (26%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 20 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Secret Science Project That Almost Ate the School (Paula Wiseman Books) Hardcover – October 1, 2006


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$13.35
$4.08 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$12.95
Best%20Books%20of%202014


Frequently Bought Together

The Secret Science Project That Almost Ate the School (Paula Wiseman Books) + Bartholomew and the Oobleck: (Caldecott Honor Book) (Classic Seuss)
Price for both: $26.10

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Kindle FreeTime Unlimited
Free one month trial
Get unlimited access to thousands of kid-safe books, apps and videos, for one low price, with Amazon FreeTime Unlimited. Get started for free. Learn more

Product Details

  • Age Range: 6 - 9 years
  • Grade Level: 1 - 4
  • Lexile Measure: 690L (What's this?)
  • Series: Paula Wiseman Books
  • Hardcover: 32 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books; First Edition edition (October 1, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1416911758
  • ISBN-13: 978-1416911753
  • Product Dimensions: 11 x 0.4 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 13.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #281,373 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Grade 1-3–A nameless girl needs an idea for her science project. Her solution is to go on the Internet, where she comes across Professor Swami's Super Slime–a mutant yeast with just a piece of dragon DNA. Of course, she orders it and doesn't follow the directions on the box: do not open until the science fair, then feed the slime sugar until it expands to 1000 times its size and watch it explode into a harmless cloud of gas. The child finds herself with a large, green, slimy glob that begins to grow and swallow those who are rude to it: her cat, which hisses; her dad, who complains of a smell; her third-grade teacher–Eeew! What is that big, digusting creature?–and so on. Finally the child remembers the sugar and, once kids have pelted the goo with sweets and sprayed it with soda, it explodes. My project didn't win first prize, and that was fair...I guess..../Miss Fidget kept me after school to clean up all the mess. The watercolor, colored pencil, and pastel illustrations are typical Gammell–the girl bears a striking resemblance to the boy in Liz Rosenberg's Monster Mama (Philomel, 1993; o.p.), round glasses and all; she's just perfect for this slightly wild story. This book could be used as a jumping-off point for science projects–a little levity always helps during the science-experiment season.–Susan Lissim, Dwight School, New York City
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

From Booklist

K-Gr. 3. The title and the cover, showing a blackboard coated in drippy, Technicolor goo, give away the ending of this boisterous story, but that won't deter kids from reveling in the silly, gory details, which begin when a third-grader can't think of a science-fair project. While her classmates put the finishing touches on wildly ambitious experiments (a moonworthy rocket ship, a cure for a disease), the girl frets. Finally she comes across an Internet solution: "Professor Swami's Super Slime." She places her order, but when the stuff arrives, she accidentally releases it. Taking on a menacing life of its own, it devours everything in its path. Sierra's rhyming couplets create humor from the horror, spurring on the slapstick with references to "moldy underwear" and other dependable crowd-pleasers. The laughs and suspense are wonderfully magnified by Gammell's skew-angled, paint-splotched illustrations, which explode with fantasy and the familiar, messy details of a child's world. An energetic, darkly comic spin on the common story of a science project gone wrong. Pair this with Michelle Knudsen's A Moldy Mystery (2006). Gillian Engberg
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

More About the Author

Judy Sierra versifies in the tradition of Lewis Carroll and Dr. Seuss, playing with the language of rhythm and rhymes, sense and nonsense. Her picture book texts have won the E.B. White Read-Aloud Award, Parents' Choice awards, Children's Choice awards, Readers' Choice awards from many of the 50 states, and have been named Notable Books by the American Library Association.

"I write scripts for special events," Sierra explains. "My books are meant to be read aloud to classrooms, storytime groups, and by parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles and special friends. Most books contain something a bit naughty along with many things that are laugh-out-loud outrageous."

Judy's newest picture book is E-I-E-I-O: How Old MacDonald Got His Farm (With a Little Help from a Hen). "Kids have been singing about Old Mac for fifty years or more, but until now, no one has explained how he got that farm of his. After a bit of sleuthing, combined with spoofing, I discovered that this agricultural legend owes a lot to a famous chicken, the Little Red Hen, who helped him turn an annoying lawn into a productive organic farm, complete with farmstand."

Judy Sierra has been writing for children for 25 years. She lives with her husband in Portland, Oregon.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 11 customer reviews
It's interesting for kids, a good read, and great graphics.
Ray M. Boucher
The book is funny, has very cool, detailed, colorful illustrations, and is exciting.
Mary
It's the kind of book that adults will enjoy reading to kids over and over and over.
The Daily Headache

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful By The Daily Headache on December 21, 2006
Format: Hardcover
I just heard this book read on NPR and can't believe how funny it is. It's the kind of book that adults will enjoy reading to kids over and over and over.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Midwest Book Review on December 9, 2006
Format: Hardcover
Judy Sierra's THE SECRET SCIENCE PROJECT THAT ALMOST ATE THE SCHOOL enjoys lively drawings by Stephen Gammell as it tells of mutant slime which nearly proves the downfall of a young scientist. A strange box of Super Slime for the science fair consumes cats, ants, and grows way too big: disaster is in the making in this hilarious tale.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Barbara Fein on January 21, 2007
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
It's one of the best childrens books in ages. I read it to my adult children (out of town) and friends. We all bought the book. It is one I don't mind being asked to read over and over.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Lisa on February 10, 2007
Format: Hardcover
This is an excellent read for both you and your children! No one gets injured and it is funny and carries you from beginning to end. Your children will love to read this with you.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
What could possibly go wrong at a school science fair?
The answer is...plenty! Just ask one student who panics when she can't think of a science project. With flying rockets and singing hamsters (and one student who thinks he has cured a disease), the competition this year is fierce! Desperately she surfs the Internet until she finds The Perfect Science Project.

"Professor Swami's Super Slime - Guaranteed to win first prize!" the ad says. Slime so stupendous "the judges won't believe their eyes!" One click and her order is on its way. When the box arrives the student ignores the WARNING! HANDLE WITH CARE! and peeks inside.

Bad idea.

Who knew the innocent little green blob made with "pieces of dragon DNA" would morph into total mutant madness? The Super Slime won't stop growing or gobbling up everyone in its path, including her family, her teacher, and the other school children in the competition. With words that rhyme and pictures that are wildly funny, this book will entertain any student who has ever panicked about a last-minute science project.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
I stumbled on this book for my son, age 5, while at the library and loved it so much that we immediatly went back and grabbed all her books. They are all super great. My son loved the pictures (not too distracting so that he doesnt listen to the story), it wasn't too wordy as some books can me in which again, you lose your little ones attention and the story lines were funny for a 5 year old and even me. Very entertaining....I wish she had more books. LOVE THEM ALL!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?