Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Secret Ties
When Summer Anderson took her themed chocolate confections to an adult entertainment trade show, she never dreamed how her life would change. She and best friend Tanya had a booth set up so she could sell specialty chocolates designed for the event and Tanya could peddle her latest book. Everything at this show was new to Summer, and she felt out of her element. She...
Published on August 15, 2009 by Kelly

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't what I expected.
Summer owns her own chocolate shop and makes chocolates in a small town. She's a bit insecure and she's really shy. She has two best guy friends (who are also best friends with each other) that she has massive crushes on but is too shy to make the first move.

She ends up going with her friend to a sex convention where her friend is selling and signing her new...
Published on May 9, 2010 by Zellie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Secret Ties, August 15, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Ties (Paperback)
When Summer Anderson took her themed chocolate confections to an adult entertainment trade show, she never dreamed how her life would change. She and best friend Tanya had a booth set up so she could sell specialty chocolates designed for the event and Tanya could peddle her latest book. Everything at this show was new to Summer, and she felt out of her element. She had never been exposed to the explicit sexuality on display everywhere. When she saw an incredibly sexy man staring at her just exuding supreme dominance, it made her very nervous. Tanya later introduced Summer to him, and she was surprised at her instant heart stopping attraction to him.

Max Delaney had lived the lifestyle as a dominant since the loss of his beloved wife. He never got seriously involved with any of the women he trained, and had no problems letting them go when the time came for the relationship to be over. Upon meeting Summer, he knew that this relationship would be different, but still planned to bring out the suppressed passion in this beauty knowing they only had the weekend.

When Summer arrived back home, and into reality, she made the decision she was no longer going to sit on the sidelines waiting for her life to begin. She has wanted best friends Kyle and Shane for so long, but settled for friend status until now. It was going to be her mission to seduce them both into a ménage relationship. Things were starting to progress as planned until Max showed up, and told her how much he missed her.

I have been disappointed with this author's last few books, but this one was a pleasant surprise! I enjoyed the sexual intensity between Max and Summer as he takes her on a journey of self-discovery. The erotic passages are very hot, and will make you melt. The characters could be more defined, and the story could use some background work. Still, overall an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't what I expected., May 9, 2010
By 
Zellie (California, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Ties (Paperback)
Summer owns her own chocolate shop and makes chocolates in a small town. She's a bit insecure and she's really shy. She has two best guy friends (who are also best friends with each other) that she has massive crushes on but is too shy to make the first move.

She ends up going with her friend to a sex convention where her friend is selling and signing her new released erotica novel and suggested that Summer make some chocolates that would match the theme of the convention. There she meets Max. And that's when her life changes. Max introduces her to the world of BDSM and how to open herself up more (literally and figuratively) and go after what she wants.

From the start, the sparks between Summer and Max come quickly in the book and the weekend they spend together during the convention lead to a lot of BDSM, then she leaves to go back home and though she's happy to finally home and see her two best friends that she's practically in love with, she can't stop thinking about Max. Though out the time that she is home and trying to pursue both of her best friends, she still keeps in contact and a few times, see's Max. I liked the friendship between Summer and her two best friend's prior to her pursuing them. After she did pursue them, I felt the book got a little awkward. The characters didn't have much (or any) of story line, there wasn't a back story to really anyone but Max. And after awhile, it kind of just felt like a porno, in a book. I might as well had started playing that funky tacky porno music while reading this book! It was so awkward that I started skipping the steamy scenes in search of some kind of story plot. But I didn't find one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Depiction of BDSM, February 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Ties (Kindle Edition)
I wish I could give this book negative stars. WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS MANY SPOILERS.

The depiction of bdsm in this book is inaccurate and potentially harmful. While I realize it is fiction and could be considered fantasy, the author writes in an authoritative voice, makes proclamations throughout and generally comes off as writing a non-fiction version of bdsm 101. Twice she states through her most authoritative character that there are universal rules to bdsm. Other than "safe, sane and consensual," this is not true. There are no rigid terms of address or rules that partners can't switch as the author implies. But much worse, her male and female leads never engage in discussion of desires, expectations or limits. They don't negotiate at all. At one point her Dom (who is by far the worst Dom I've ever encountered in fiction) gags the sub without giving her any signal to use as a safe word. They're at a convention with a public playroom and the Dom only takes her there after the convention's over and the room is empty. Rather than letting her explore in a safe environment with other people (especially at least one Dungeon Master) around, he shoves her in a cage and leaves her there while he shoos off the security guard. Of course, they haven't discussed this so he has no idea whether or not this type of confinement will freak her out. There are several other scenes that bothered me almost as much. The thing that bothered me the most, however, was all of the unsafe sex. There are no condoms mentioned in this book. There is no discussion of past partners or std tests. In short, the behavior of most of the characters in this book is the sort that can get you into serious trouble. If you want a good fictional introduction to bdsm, try something by Cherise Sinclair. Give this book a pass. If I managed to warn even one person off of it, I consider it $10 well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Opal, August 10, 2009
By 
emyln (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Ties (Paperback)
I don't know how Opal Carew does it. She came out of no where about 2 years ago and ever since then every single one of her books never fails to thrill.

I say thrill because Opal's books are HOT! Erotica at its absolute best. If her books don't turn you on and push you over the edge... you're probably not into erotica.

Her latest book, Secret Ties explores BDSM and there's even a threesome scene but its mostly focused on the 2 main characters. the fact that Summer get's it on with 3 guys in this book might be a turn off for some, but Opal makes it work without the guilt.

Beyond hot, its a definite page burner and another masterpiece from Opal. My only complaint is that it'll be another 6-8 months before we get another Opal book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well written heated erotic romance, June 25, 2009
This review is from: Secret Ties (Paperback)
When Max Delaney and Summer Anderson meet they are instantly attracted to one another. He mentors her in his world of BDSM as he is a master dominant and believes she is a dormant submissive. Max proves correct as Summer craves his dominating her.

Until now she hid this side of her nature from the other two males in her life, Shane and Kyle. Summer decides she has graduated and plans to teach the two hunks what Max taught her so that she has three men at one time. However, she also hesitates out of fear that Max will not appreciate sharing her with others and she wants all three outside the bedroom dungeon too.

Not for everyone with BDSM and multiple partnering, SECRET TIES is a well written heated erotic romance starring two protagonists who seem real supported by a strong cast especially in the vast sexual encounters. scenes. Fans will enjoy Summer's dilemma as Max has given her every fantasy she craves except one. She fears pushing the envelope of three hunks taking her at the same time may drive away any of the trio she loves but especially her teacher.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For those that want it hot, it's hot, but I found it lacking emotionally, July 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Ties (Paperback)
Since the summary is listed, I'll go into the details of what I liked or didn't like.

As we've seen with all of Opal's other books, you have the "vanilla sex" type of heroin that gets turned on in all sorts of ways and totally embraces the "lifestyle."

Summer is the most fleshed out of the characters, for what little we're told about her, and we didn't get a lot of detail about Max, Shayne and Kyle either. That's a real shame as there's virtually no backstory, and it's all the here and now with no explanation as to how or why everyone gets on the bandwagon so to speak. This is a major complaint I had with Swing and Six, and at the end of the book, you see that the next one coming out returns us to the Six crowd to see yet another love interest swept into the sexual escapades.

The feelings of love come fast and furious with this gang, and yet you're not really sure why it works in one case, and why it falls apart with two of the others (downgraded love you could say). And then there's the thing about someone else possibly entering the picture in the future. Without it spoiling too much, the latter is now a common Opal Carew theme, and I'd like to see it end before it just becomes something that's tossed in with every book.

I'm glad I took the time to read this story, but it's not a gem like Twin Fantasies, and Blush had more of an emotional impact. At least for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, March 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret Ties (Paperback)
I loved this book. It was incredible. Very erotic, and for anyone who likes the dominance/submission roles that some do, it is honestly fantastic. I liked it so much, that I finished reading it, and when I did, I turned back to page one and started reading it all over again. Male taking control of a woman who is used to having control, but has issues expressing herself in the bedroom, and expressing her true desires....Very nice. Extremely well written, and I highly recommend it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love anything Opal writes, March 26, 2010
This review is from: Secret Ties (Paperback)
Opal Carew's book are hot and steaming and I have yet to be disappointed with any of the books I have purchased. She has a bit of everything in her books and this one is just the same. A++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, July 9, 2014
This review is from: Secret Ties (Paperback)
Great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Erotica with light BDSM, May 15, 2014
This review is from: Secret Ties (Paperback)
I found that I couldn't put this book down! Opal did a wonderful job of putting a little different twist to this story that I haven't read before. This story showed us a light taste of BDSM. The Dom had experience but was careful in his approach to the Sub. Add in two more guys whom the female had a crush on and WOW what a wonderful combination. This story worked well with the four of them together.
I can't wait to read another of Opal's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Secret Ties
Secret Ties by Opal Carew (Paperback - June 23, 2009)
$14.99 $12.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.