Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: 47 Secret Veterans' Benefits for Seniors - Benefits You Have Earned...but Don't Know About!
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 14, 2010
Victoria Collier's book "47 Secret Benefits" has helped us find the needed support for our dad that we never would have known about. Things are so much easier when you know what your benefits are BEFORE you have a discussion with VA staff. They would never have volunteered the information we needed to provide him the best support. Thanks to Ms. Collier for caring enough to put all this in a book for us. It is a must read for anyone dealing with the VA - for themselves, or their parents.
11 comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2010
This relatively new book was written by a lawyer with considerable experience dealing with VA issues. As an older veteran it is helpful to find information that focuses on my specific issues and problems. This book should also be read by spouses so they understand what is available in benefits, services, and ongoing claims. Not all information useful to veterans is easily obtainable; this book helps fill some of the important gaps.

47 Secret Veterans' Benefits for Seniors - Benefits You Have Earned...but Don't Know About!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2010
This book was very easy to read and understand it gives you a step by step "hold's your hand's" instructions for life changing VA benefits for seniors and how to proceed forward to get them. "47 Secret Veterans Benefits for Seniors" taught me very quickly what earned benefits are out there for any veteran but most importantly senior veterans and there families, giving them hope and peace of mind to look forward to.
Thank you Victoria Collier for writing this book!
Cass Riese
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2010
Excellent book, points out many programs and benefits not publicized by the Veteran's Administration. Easy to read and understand, got us started going after the benefits my husband has earned. We had no idea there were so many other benefits for veterans.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2013
As an attorney and veterans' advocate, I can assure you that the so-called "secrets" exposed by this poorly written book are not hidden, and not at all difficult to discover.

Most, if not all, these "secrets" can be found in plain language on state and federal veterans' affairs website.

But if you aren't good at navigating the web, or if you don't have internet access, make an appointment ASAP to meet with your local county veteran service office (CVSO), or with a rep from one of the several national Veterans' Service Organizations (VSO) like Vietnam Veterans of America, Paralyzed Veterans of America, VFW, etc. The VA (toll free at 1-800-827-1000) can provide the location of a VSO or CVSO office near you. You can also check the VA website for a list of nationally recognized Veterans Service Organizations.

Now this next part is important, so please pay close attention.

Real help with veterans' benefits won't cost a dime -- much less the cost of this "47 Secrets" book. CVSO or VSO reps are paid employees and dedicated volunteers . They are funded by VA grants, or from other funding sources. And for the most part, CVSO and VSO reps are well-trained and very good at their jobs. Just give `em a chance to help you!

Now, when you meet with the CVSO or VSO rep, explain that you'd like them to help you figure out all the benefits that you, your parent, your child, etc., may have earned through military service. Ask also about any benefits that may become possible in the future. And for any benefits that may help now or later, ask for their help in applying for benefits.

When you meet with the CVSO or VSO rep, be sure to take all the records you have pertaining to military service.

Finally, this is not time to be shy or proud. Veterans' benefits aren't a "handout" or "welfare." These are benefits earned through honorable military service to the nation. So please, be as open and forthright as possible about your unmet needs, or those of your parent, child, or other dependent.

Otherwise, I am deeply repulsed by people who write books like this, or who set up one of the thousands of charities that have popped up the past few years to "help" veterans. I don't know about Ms. Collier, JD, personally. But what most such people are doing, is nothing less than hijacking a just cause for the sole purpose of enriching themselves. And that's despicable in my book.
33 comments|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2014
After requesting information from other veterans about references that could be used by all veterans regarding benefits, and being told that "For Service To Your Country" was highly recommended, it was passed along that "47 Secret Veterans' Benefits for Seniors" was another source of information that could be used by veterans as they grew older. A good reference.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2010
We purchased 47 Secret Veterans' Benefits for Seniors recently. There is much information available in this book that will help you with the sometimes difficult applications needed to secure a benefit.

After attending a publicized seminar we came away somewhat confused about the Aid and Attendance Program. We visited independent living facilites, assistant living facilities and became more confused ... each person at the various facilities had a different rendition of the Aid and Attendance Program. A visit to our local VA office offered little to clarify the do'es and don'ts. "47 Secrets" stopped us from making a big mistake while attempting to use the Aid and Attendance Program ...

From laws, rules and regulations to explanations of complicated calculations ... this is a must read if you want benefits from the government.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2010
Although most of the info did not apply to me, it is valuable and may be appropriate to many vets. The nursing home benefit was a new one on me.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2010
Cpt Collier is commeded for writing this book. If it were possible, DoD should get this book into the hands of every veteran and spouse.
I've told every veteran and spouse of a veteran that I know about this book and recommended they order it. I encourage other vets to do the same so that as many of us as possible get this information.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2014
There is alot of information in this book that would take hours on line looking for and that the VA rep's don't tell you or don't explain well. Once I read this I was able to help my husband navigate the system....great resource...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse