Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THERE IS A RUMOR CIRCULATING...
Word around the campfire is the first season of Alex Mack will be the only season released on DVD because the powers that be are only trying to capatilize on the success of Jessica Alba.

Although she only appeared in a few episodes of the first season they are pushing the DVD by using her name and picture on the front cover.

I've also heard that...
Published on September 25, 2007 by Anton Tobias

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show gets mediocre treatment
It is great to be able to watch "The Secret World of Alex Mack" again, but I'm just a little disappointed with the DVD. The picture is pretty washed-out, and I've seen the picture break up at least once; this isn't the DVD's fault, but a problem during the transfer. Also, although this really isn't a big deal, the case incorrectly says that the show is in Dolby 5.1 (it's...
Published on June 1, 2008 by J. Lee


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THERE IS A RUMOR CIRCULATING..., September 25, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret World of Alex Mack - Season 1 (DVD)
Word around the campfire is the first season of Alex Mack will be the only season released on DVD because the powers that be are only trying to capatilize on the success of Jessica Alba.

Although she only appeared in a few episodes of the first season they are pushing the DVD by using her name and picture on the front cover.

I've also heard that although there were originally 13 episodes in the first season this DVD set will only contain 12 episodes making it an incomplete season. This demonstrates just how hastily this product was thrown together and further proving that very little time was spent on getting a complete and quality-made DVD set together.

I hope these rumors prove false and that "The Secret World Of Alex Mack" is given the proper treatment it and it's fans deserve.

UPDATE 10/04/07: The rumors regarding the "missing episode" have been proven untrue. All 13 episodes are represented in this DVD set.

Genius Entertainment (better known as Genius Products) has done an excellent job of bringing The Secret World Of Alex Mack back to life. The first season consists of 2 DVDs in a standard plastic case. All 13 episodes are included but they are not (according to various sources) represented in the sequential order of the original television broadcasts.

This is a minor detail considering fans of the show have been foaming at the mouth to get their hands on an official DVD release of the program for years.

Will the final three seasons ever see the light of day? Only time will tell.

Episode Listing For This DVD:

DISC 1

1. The Accident

2. Shock Value

3. Hoop War

4. Cold Day In Paradise Valley

5. False Alarm

6. School Dance

7. The Science Fair

DISC 2

8. Alex & Mom

9. The Feud

10. The Videotape

11. The Solo

12. Annie Bails

13. Road Trip

UPDATE 01/03/10: Well it's been almost 2 1/2 years since this first season of Alex Mack was released. Just as I suspected, the remaining 3 seasons will probably NEVER have an official release and this first season was only a quick attempt to cash in on the popularity of Ms. Alba.

UPDATE 12/05/2011: For anyone interested iTunes now sells season two of The Secret World Of Alex Mack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like I remembered, October 18, 2007
This review is from: Secret World of Alex Mack - Season 1 (DVD)
The Secret World of Alex Mack has always been my favorite show, and one sorely missed since it ended in 1998. So, I was more than eager to preorder the season and watch it as soon as possible. Thankfully, the show remains exactly as it did in memory - colorful characters, creative and morally education plots, and plenty of humor. Sadly, there are no features to the dvd.

Also, I don't really understand why, but Jessica Alba, who is featured in two or three of the first episodes, has her face and name plastered all over the case cover, dvd label, and menu screens. I understand that she's quite popular and that we're led to believe this is her television debut, but Larisa Oleynik is the star here, not her. And with some great supporting actors whose names aren't even mentioned except for the ending credits (Darris Love, Meredith Bishop, etc.) it's kind of a shame.

Hopefully if or when we see season two's release, it'll have commentaries or interviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And Excellent and Healthy Dose of Nostalgia, October 15, 2007
This review is from: Secret World of Alex Mack - Season 1 (DVD)
I am extremely pleased that this excellent series has at long last been released on a legitimate DVD format. This was my favorite show as a kid and remains extremely enjoyable to this day! I only hope that the remaining three seasons will also be released seeing as this is one of the few Nick series that came to a conclusion. This DVD was very well put together and was a joy to watch. Reliving ones childhood has never been so easy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treat You Need To Purchase, August 24, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret World of Alex Mack - Season 1 (DVD)
The Secret World Of Alex Mack was the highest-rated show on Nickelodeon in the '90's, and for good reason. Droves of loyal fans have been waiting almost a decade for Alex Mack to officially come out on DVD.

It's a great story... 13 year-old Alex Mack, played by Larisa Oleynik of "Ten Things I Hate About You" and "3rd Rock From The Sun" fame, finds herself drenched in a strange chemical that gives her super powers, and from there on out her life is changed forever.

One of the most family-oriented, morally-grounded programs to air in the '90's, Alex Mack is one of the most endearing television characters in the last 15 years. Buy Season One of this product and there's no doubt you'll be buying the next three seasons when they come out too.

I'm not kidding, this is a great show for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show gets mediocre treatment, June 1, 2008
This review is from: Secret World of Alex Mack - Season 1 (DVD)
It is great to be able to watch "The Secret World of Alex Mack" again, but I'm just a little disappointed with the DVD. The picture is pretty washed-out, and I've seen the picture break up at least once; this isn't the DVD's fault, but a problem during the transfer. Also, although this really isn't a big deal, the case incorrectly says that the show is in Dolby 5.1 (it's really just in the original stereo).
I'm hoping that the remaining three seasons are released and that they're transferred from better sources. 'Cause this show is awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alex Mack, April 29, 2010
By 
J. Sun "John S" (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret World of Alex Mack - Season 1 (DVD)
When I purchased this DVD, I wondered if it would still be as entertaining as it was 16 years ago. Since the price had dropped to $11.99, I figured it wouldn't hurt to check it out if only for nostalgic purposes. I could not stop watching!!! This series stands the test of time. It's a great family show with great plot lines. It really brought me back to 1994 and reminded me of why I enjoyed this show so much. Alex Mack is a wonderfully developed character played Larisa Oleynik; she has insecurities, a hard time finding her place at school and within her family, a great heart, and is constantly conflicted over the use of her superpowers. For $11.99, the price is definitely worth it. Netflix doesn't even offer this title. The first season includes 13 episodes. Well worth the price. Entourage usually has 12 episodes and buyers pay well over $25.00 for a season.

I was sad to see that there weren't any bonus features and the distributor plastered Jessica Alba's face all over the cover to ride her coattails for the purpose of selling more copies. I hope fans of the show learn about its release and buy a copy so that the distributor will decide to release the other three seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased That It Was Released, Waiting on Seasons 2-4 on DVD..., July 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret World of Alex Mack - Season 1 (DVD)
I've had this DVD for nearly 4 years now and its great being able to look back, as a kid of the 90's. I even got the Pete and Pete, Clarissa Explains It All and Doug DVD's but waiting on these releases is just painful sometimes. I know Season 2 is available on Instant Video at the time of this writing, but they are asking $40 for the whole season. The price on this at $10 isn't bad and I certainly won't complain. Would be nice to see Viacom release more but for now, we must settle for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alex Mack was a great show, July 24, 2008
This review is from: Secret World of Alex Mack - Season 1 (DVD)
Alex Mack was an awesome show and in my opinion one of Nickelodeon's best. They need to release the other seasons though. ALso its annoying that Jessica Albums all over the dvd and shes only in like ..three episodes. Shes not even a main character.. they could have at least put Ray on the second disc cover. Hopefully we will get a better dvd of this awesome show in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Secret World Of Alex Mack, September 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret World of Alex Mack - Season 1 (DVD)
This product was really good, what I don't like is that it lacked special features, and the episodes were out of order, but you can't tell since the episodes don't cross over. I would love it though if they put the rest of the seasons on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hopefully more seasons will follow this one to dvd!!, December 10, 2007
By 
Sarah Crowley (Norwich, Connecticut) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secret World of Alex Mack - Season 1 (DVD)
I loved this show when i was a tween!! and i hope more seasons come out on dvd right along with this one!! Larissa Oleynik and Meredith Bishop are the stars of this store. It's kinda lame that they are touting it with Jessica Alba's face on the cover when she's only in like 3 episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Secret World of Alex Mack - Season 1
Secret World of Alex Mack - Season 1 by Secret World of Alex Mack (DVD - 2007)
$14.93 $10.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.