Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets of the Heart...will pull at your heart strings!
You can read the description of the story provided by the author so I wont provide that here.

I have purchased and read in excess of 100 books in the lesbian romance genre alone in the last several months. There are certain authours you read one and think cool, I will buy another of her books and then you are either pleasantly surprised or mildly...
Published on August 3, 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok
The trouble with romance books is that they are ... romance books.

Internal conflict. External conflict. Lesbian romance conflict is too typically intertwined with heterosexual baggage. Is she, or isn't she? I don't care if she is, I have feelings. Don't worry, I am. I am worried, what if you aren't sure? I am sure. How can I be sure that you're sure...
Published on October 3, 2011 by G. Uhl


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, October 3, 2011
This review is from: Secrets of the Heart (Kindle Edition)
The trouble with romance books is that they are ... romance books.

Internal conflict. External conflict. Lesbian romance conflict is too typically intertwined with heterosexual baggage. Is she, or isn't she? I don't care if she is, I have feelings. Don't worry, I am. I am worried, what if you aren't sure? I am sure. How can I be sure that you're sure?

Cripes almighty already.

You can read this book in about 20 minutes. It's very light on sexual content. The angst is boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets of the Heart...will pull at your heart strings!, August 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Heart (Kindle Edition)
You can read the description of the story provided by the author so I wont provide that here.

I have purchased and read in excess of 100 books in the lesbian romance genre alone in the last several months. There are certain authours you read one and think cool, I will buy another of her books and then you are either pleasantly surprised or mildly disappointed.

With Syd Parker, I purchased all three and in the span of 36 hours, read all 3 books.

In this book, Syd will pull at your heart strings! Its all about loss and the things we deny to ourselves. There is a lesson served up with this romance. Enjoy the learning :)

The relationships with friends were just as well written and central to the story as the main leads. What a refreshing approach.

I highly recommend you give this new authour a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, September 9, 2011
By 
Julie (Bakersfield, US, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Heart (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading it. The plot was entertaining. The characters were likeable, the Jude character was a wild woman! It's as good as most of the lesbian romance novels I have read to date. Which is quite a few!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.2/5 : All about the Chase (this is a pun. heh)., September 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Heart (Kindle Edition)
Rating (/5): 3.2/5 :
Story thesis: Mild spoilers ahead: Chase’s lifelong best friend and current business partner (Avery) is killed in a car accident, shortly after Chase has lost her job and boyfriend. She takes up residence at the B&B of which she is now owner with her best friend’s, previously unknown to her female partner. Grieving and ‘not gay’ she promptly falls head over heels for the female attorney who is managing the execution of Avery’s will. However Chase is not a lesbian and the attorney (Jude) doesn’t do relationships.
Age of protagonists: Late 30’s/early 40’s
Romance Arc: Lots of filler..then we meet the object of Chase’s affection. Chase gets all hot and bothered..our attorney gets all hot and bothered. Outrageous flirting(!)..sex. drama…..
Lesbian status Not gay..then gay vs female womaniser.
Sex Scenes: Mmm,,really quite steamy
Happy Ending: Yes
Best Feature of story: There was a huge amount of sexual tension between Jude and Chase..it really just jumped off the page. I was dying for them to get their s**t together. I particularly enjoyed the character of Jude. She was the only real character with growth and consistency.
Worst Features of story So much wasted potential really…Chase just kind of accepted everything that happened..except for Jude. She accepts Avery’s death, is instantly best friends with Avery’s partner, accepts that Avery was kind of in love with her and then accepts she’s gay. Chase and Tess’s characters could’ve been better developed as could have Tess’ arc…particularly from a dramatic point of view in terms of her interactions with Chase.

Any supernatural elements: No.
Best suited for: Mills & Boon lesbian romance afficiandos. It’s kind of the swarthy lesbian vs demure but secretly sexy character…you know the ones!
Recommend to: When you’re feeling like you need some harlequin romance lesbian style.
Would read other books by author, based on this one: As an easy read, yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets and romance, December 2, 2011
This review is from: Secrets of the Heart (Paperback)
Pilot Chase Berkley, has been best friends with Avery Carson since they were young children.

When Chase loses her job after having split up with her boyfriend, she decides now is the time to visit Avery in Maine and to see Serendipity, the bed and breakfast she has invested some of her money in to.

Unfortunately, before Chase can get to Maine, she receives a phone call from Avery's mom, Barb, Avery is dead, she's been killed in a car accident. With a heavy heart, Chase sets out to Maine to join Avery's parents, Barb and Joe for her funeral.

It's not until the funeral is taking place, that Chase learns she didn't know Avery as well as she thought she did. Avery was gay and her business associate Tess, the woman helping her to run Serendipity, was actually her lover and life partner. Chase is understandably hurt that Avery hadn't confided her. Then Barb drops another bombshell on Chase. Avery had been keeping another secret from her. How will Chase react when Avery's secret is revealed?

Chase decides to stay on in Maine and help Tess to run Serendipity. After a rocky beginning, the two women become firm friends.

At the reading of Avery's will, Chase meets lawyer Jude Stafford, she is immediately captivated by her. How can this be? Chase is straight, isn't she?

Jude is a womanizer, she rarely sees the same woman twice. When Jude meets Chase, she feels a strong pull of attraction for her. Will Jude allow herself to change her self imposed rules of never getting involved? Will Jude allow herself to pursue happiness with Chase? As it stands right now, the answer is no.

Chase has put her heart out there for Jude to take. Will Jude remain stubborn and steadfast? Can Chase and Jude even be friends when they both feel so much more for each other?

Chase and Jude spend a lot of time playing a cat and mouse game, with Chase chasing Jude and Jude running away. What will happen if Chase stops chasing? Will Jude stop running long enough to see what they could have together? The situation comes to a head after a terrible accident. What has happened? Who has been hurt?

Wow, this book is a real page turner from start to finish. The beginning of the book started out very sad. But as the story progressed it lightened up a lot and became humorous. Especially after Chase met bad girl Jude. At first I disliked Jude's character. But I think we are meant to. It's not until I read Jude's personal story that I warmed towards her and began to like her a lot. I couldn't help hoping that Chase and Jude would end up together.

Each of the supporting characters played their parts throughout the story and interacted well with the two main characters. All enhanced the book in their own ways.

The plot was well thought out and the story well written. A typical `feel good at the end romance'. Which is what I like. So, if you want a good read with a happy ever after ending, give this book a try. Excellent for curling up with on a cold winter evening, or taking to the beach for that matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, Intense and Romantic., May 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Heart (Paperback)
Secrets of the heart is laced with tragedy, love and passion. A straight woman finds herself realizing her innermost feelings and desires when she meets a confident and attractive lawyer. She because immediately smitten with her and begins to question herself and denying her attraction. It isn't until after a dream that helps her realize her attraction to the other woman. They share a couple of flirtatious meetings to only result in the lawyer named Jude pushing Chase away because she said that she wouldn't want to hurt her. But Chase does not give up and when the couple spend the night together, they both realize they are in love with one another. But this realization causes Jude to run.

Chase fights for her only to be stopped over and over until she gives up; that is when Jude finally realizes that she does love her, but is it too late to get Chase's heart back.

An interesting twist and tragedy threatens to pull them apart forever.

This book is a great work of Syd Parker. She portrays a brilliant story of pain, loss, passion and love.

You will not be able to put this book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a ride., October 26, 2014
By 
This review is from: Secrets of the Heart (Kindle Edition)
This book started out sad with a death, which was handled so well by Syd. When she writes her characters it as though she has met the people in real life, and her characters personalities are so life like you feel as though you know them too. Her story lines are very real which makes this a fantastic read, they pull at your heart strings and keep you wanting more right to the very last page. This author is very talented and this story of Chase and Tess growing love guides you through a beautiful experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Angsty sexy romance, October 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Heart (Kindle Edition)
This was my first Syd Parker book and I really enjoyed it! She creates off-the-wall chemistry and angst between Chase and Jude. I became a little addicted to this book and couldn't wait until I had time to read more. Great sex scene....just wish there were more!!
The only problem that I had with the book is that the end felt rushed and unfinished. I felt a little cheated because I wanted more!
Overall, I cannot wait to read more of Syd Parker. I will add her to my favorite authors for sure!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Syd Parker, I love the worlds you create!!, June 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Heart (Kindle Edition)
Such a good story..........I see people I know (myself included) in these characters and the situations they put themselves into and what it takes to "make everything right"! Thanks for another wonderful & enjoyable reading!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good...., May 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Heart (Kindle Edition)
This is the third book by Syd Parker I've read, and will continue to do so. Secrets of the Heart had a good romance with Jude and Chase. A good story line. Well worth the money. Give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Secrets of the Heart
Secrets of the Heart by Syd Parker
$4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.