Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes and No
These secrets are so secretive that they are taught in every mainstream business negotiations class in America. Pretty secretive, eh? Having properly derided the excessively puffy title, let me say that the book is good. The book is basically a series of tricks to play on the other negotiator. If you don't, you risk having him/her play them on you.

However,...
Published on July 7, 2005 by Ronald Davis

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Worth while having a listen to, but I must also recommend the following book:

Bargaining for Advantage : Negotiation Strategies for Reasonable People by G. Richard Shell

to help you fill in the gaps.

These two used inconjunction with each other will give you an edge in negotiating in bussines and life.

(hope this makes sense I...
Published on March 1, 2006 by qwerty


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes and No, July 7, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These secrets are so secretive that they are taught in every mainstream business negotiations class in America. Pretty secretive, eh? Having properly derided the excessively puffy title, let me say that the book is good. The book is basically a series of tricks to play on the other negotiator. If you don't, you risk having him/her play them on you.

However, this book is not sufficient in and of itself. G Richard Shell's "Bargaining & Advantage" is needed to get the perspective needed to avoid shooting one's self in the foot -- all the way up to the knee.

On the other hand, Dawson's presentation of the tricks is much more clear and compelling than Shell's. Get 'em both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book to own if you negotiatie only infrequently, March 21, 2002
By A Customer
I don't have to do high powered negotiations very often but when I do, I review this book. It clearly maps out the process that one must go through to achieve the most successful negotiations possible from the planning stage through the final process of getting the contract language the way you want it. Roger defines success as having both parties feel that they won. He shows how to set up the negotiating process so that both parties come away feeling successful. He explains the psychology of negotiating very clearly so that the reader understands why each thing that they do is important. The value of the book is more than just as a roadmap however. Knowing what techniques that the other party may use (by intent or otherwise) and being able to recognize them is of immense value. What is especially useful if knowing how to handle the tactics that the other side may use. This is not cheating or tricking the other party. It is just being smart. When millions of dollars are on the table both sides are very wary and want to make sure that they are getting what they want. Stumbling when well known negotiating tactics are used by the other party is often avoidable for those that don't negotiate very often. Simply review the book and then follow Roger Dawson's suggestions. I like to listen to the audio version of the book as well when I am coming up to a big negotiation. It gets my mind focused on the process. I then go over what happened after a negotiating session so that the concepts get burned into my memory and the responses become automatic. A great book. Try the audio tapes also. Highly entertaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Points and Insights, May 26, 2006
By 
Clovis (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
Roger Dawson's SECRET OF POWER NEGOTIATING does not necessarily contain any secrets about negotiations but good points on many and varied aspects of negotiations. The author correctly points out that negotations are simply crucial in life; we are constantly negotiating, whether we realize it or not. I am confident the book would proof useful for anyone interested in enhancing one's understanding of negotations and skills.

The book as a total is organized fairly well, and the author discusses gambits employed in negotiations to techniques used to understand the other side. It is very important to point out that the author believes in "win-win negotiations." That is, it is critical for a negotiator to determine what truly interests the other side and explore how that interest can be met.

--

Gambits

--

A few techniques the author suggests using include but are not limited to:

(1) asking for more than you expect to get, (2) flinch at proposals, (3) play reluctant, (4) use the "vise technique," (5) reference higher authority, (6) never make a concession without the other side reciprocating, and (7) taper down concessions.

It is important to note that the author explores how you should counter such techniques if the other side uses them.

The author also touches on many important additional topics in the book on business, psychology, and other disciplines that relate to negotiations. I found it particularly useful how the author mentioned that the value of services diminish over time. If you are in the service industry, negotiate and settle on a fee prior to delivery/performance.

--

Power Negotiator

--

A power negotiator must be prepared to walk-away from any negotiation if it no longer makes sense. Further, the characteristics of the power negotiator include: courage to probe and ask tough questions, patience, integrity (pursue win-win), sound listening skills, a toleration for ambiguity, and no strong need to be liked. The power negotiator believes in a win-win outcome and understands the other side is under pressure. Most importantly perhaps, a power negotiator focuses on issues.

--

Negotiation and Negotiators

--

The book covers how to prepare for negotiations, the processes of negotiation, and what to do subsequent a negotiation. The author points out the differences between an impasse (disagreement on a single issue), stalemate (negotiation but not progressing towards an end), and a deadlock (lack of progress lead to frustration and negotiation is not viable). The author also discusses how to resolve each of the above.

The author adequately explains different sources of power that people hold, from legitimate power to charismatic power. Further, the author discusses several negotiating styles, primarily based on assertiveness and emotion. The author goes into depth on their flaws and their strengths. The book also covers the different negotiating styles of different cultures, which I really enjoyed reading.

--

CONCLUSION

--

As a total, I think the book is beneficial and worth reading. I deducted one star because I do not believe the book reads all that well; i.e., there is a lack of flow to the book. However, I hope that does not discourage anyone from reading the book, particularly those whom need to enhance their understanding of negotations, the process, and techniques. I would also like to mention that the author suggests correctly to never gloat subsequent a negotiation. Once a negotiation is consummated, you should always congratulate the other side. Learn the other side's true interests, and always help them fulfill that interest but not necessarily at your expense.

I hope the above review was useful for you,

Clovis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed With Knowledge!, June 21, 2001
As you read Roger Dawson's now-classic book, you'll find yourself nodding your head saying, "Those guys used that gambit against me last week." And then you will say, "Never again!" This book is a rarity: A "Secrets of" book that actually provides you with useful tactics that you can employ in daily life and business. In fact, the knowledge you gain from this book will come in just as handy in everyday situations, like buying a car or setting your kid's allowance, as it will when your business' survival is at stake. While the secrets themselves can be reduced to common-sense approaches, many are intuitively brilliant, like the advice to psychically flinch when you hear the other side's first offer. We [...] recommend Dawson's insider insights to all readers, because everyone can benefit by negotiating a better deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to be a PROACTIVE NEGOTIATOR, read this book!, May 30, 2001
By 
Randy Gilbert "Best Seller Mentor" (founder of 'BestSellerMentoring.com') - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Roger Dawson has been one of my success mentors for years. Since almost every dealing in our lives involves some type of negotiating, this book should be on everyone's book shelf. His wisdom is clear and eloquent - but more than that it is right on! Even before you finish The Secrets of Power Negotiating for the first time, you will be a changed person - it's that incredible. I say first time because you will want to read it again and again.
Roger Dawson covers all of the proactive bases: smart thinking, system thinking, futuristic thinking, and positive thinking. If you are truly seeking the kind of success and abundance that makes your life 100% livable - you must read this book. Some of Dawson's ideas are found in SUCCESS BOUND, another book that can help you proactively deal with problems and turn them into opportunities for success.
Everything that I have put into practice that Dawson has recommended has worked. The dozens of gambits and recommended strategies will bring you success. Read it and you will believe that you can negotiate anything that you set your mind to. My copy is worn with highliter and pen marks all through it from the numerous times that I've returned to it in order to study it again.
You will find that this exciting and informative book becomes a part of you. Don't hold back - let it happen. In fact, you should spend 10 to 15 minutes every morning focusing your thoughts on the truths of this book, thereby allowing them to seep deep into your subconscious mind. If you do this I guarantee this wisdom will most assuredly bring you the success and abundance you deserve.
Enjoy the book and your new proactive life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best on the subject, July 10, 2002
"Secrets of Power Negotiating" is one of the most complete books on negotiation that I have ever read. Logically organized, it carries the reader through the entire negotiation process. It covers the most common gambits and how to use them as well as how to defend against them.
The book is divided into seven sections. The first section is on negotiating gambits and principles. Negotiating gambits include the common reluctant buyer/reluctant seller, handling impasses, nibbling, positioning for easy acceptance and well as many, many others including unethical ones like the red herring. The second section is on how to resolve tough negotiating problems. The third section covers how to use pressure points in negotiation. Then comes negotiating with non-Americans followed by attitudes and beliefs of a power negotiator. Section six covers developing power over the other side and section seven covers the various drives that motivate people in a negotiation.
Simply one of the best books on negotiation, it is a highly recommended read and should be kept near at hand for the occasional review whether to assist you in dealing with the car salesman, the children, or anyone else you deal with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide to negotiate anything!, June 2, 1999
By A Customer
Roger Dawson does an excellent job of explaining his techniques in languauge we can all understand. Everything is so easy to apply, there is no reason why you won't be a better person after this read. Every chapter is relevant if you are in business or deal with people every day! Worth the time, I guarantee it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I feel like I should have paid hundreds of dollars!, February 5, 2005
I just listened to all seven of these CDs, and I feel like I went to a top-level negotiation course. I've never gotten so much expert assistance for less than $20 on audio before!

Roger Dawson says that everything in life is a negotiation, and after listening to this, I'm convinced. Day in, day out, we're constantly trying to get people to give us more of what we want then they are willing to give. Personally, I've always been a little intimidated by having to negotiate for myself. Not anymore! Not only do I realize how important it is for to be able to negotiate, I understand how its is a skill that can be mastered with practice and attention.

Dawson's power negotiation principles make it easy for anyone to stick up for yourself without seeming overbearing-even without letting the other person realize they've giving you what you want!

The bonus CD - on how to buy a car and get a raise - is worth the price of the whole package. I wish I'd had this when I leased my car last year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, January 18, 2003
I've used Roger Dawson's advice on negotiating for about five years now. This book is - hands down - the most valuable resource in this regard. Very practical, immdiately useful, and easily understandable.
If you really want to learn all about negotiating with one single resource, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, March 7, 2002
By 
After another leading negotiation master referred to Roger Dawson as the NEGOTIATION GURU, I ordered the Secrets of Power Negotiating with great anticipation. And, true enough, Roger Dawson does an outstanding job walking us through the negotiation journey. At the end of the road, an unmistakable agreement emerges where parties congratulate each other on a job well done. (Everyone wins!) To achieve such a result, Mr. Dawson instills into the negotiating process a sense of beauty and civility which emanates from his superb technical expertise. (For example, you learn about various negotiating "gambits," such as the bracketing, flinching, the vise, "reluctant seller/buyer," resort to higher authority, positioning for easy acceptance, and many more.) As you continue reading the book, you realize that negotiating becomes an Art Form, spilling over your entire life as an energizing force. Then, the negotiating process itself becomes not only pure fun but most of all the essence of your agreements. What else can you learn in life?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.