Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Drowners Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 7, 2011
As a fashion professional I'm usually not impressed by style books especially those that promise to give "insider" tips! However, Sasha has cracked the code, sharing real information that is imperative for any one that wants to be in the business of styling or for the gal or guy that wants to look styled! I love that the information she dispenses isn't just from her experience, she calls on her friends that just happen to be the TOP STYLISTS in the game and we get their trade secrets as well! Every fashionista has a library of must have fashion books, now we have a new one to add on the list!
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2011
Read this book if you want to be a stylist when you grow up. This is not a great guide for real, grown-up women looking for every day style advice.
A lot of the information reads like warmed over articles from every fashion and beauty magazine you've read in the last 10 years. And since Ms. Charnin has written for Allure and others this makes sense. I for one am tired of style guidance having to be tied to celebrity and there is a lot of that here. I was looking for something smarter.
I got a lot more out of Style Evolution by Kendall Farr and How Not To Look Old by Charla Krupp.
33 comments|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2012
This book is good if you want to become a stylist, but it't not really interesting to your average fashionista. Perhaps I misunderstood what the book is about, but I thought it would be more of a generic "how to" in styling yourself, from professional stylists to the stars. Instead, it's very "industry-based", so I got a little bored.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2011
With experience in the field of fashion from being a part of the staff at Harper's Bazaar, Seventeen, Mirabella, Vanity Fair, Elle, Allure and currently the fashion director at Us Weekly, Sasha Charnin Morrison reveals the behind the scenes secrets to what it takes to be a successful celebrity stylist in her recently released book Secrets of Stylists: An Insider's Guide to Styling the Stars.

Being introduced to the seductive world of fashion at an early age (observing a Vogue photo shoot in Union Square photographed by Chris von Waigenheim), she immediately became smitten and was even so lucky as to be invited to visit the one and only Vogue fashion closet while she was still in school. How is that for after school one-of-a-kind memories?

With her vast knowledge of the behind the scenes culture and tough clientele demands, Morrison tells it like it is, removes the rose-colored glasses many are wearing as they watch The Rachel Zoe Project, and allows the stylists in the business currently share their own individual stories of what a stylist's life is really like.

With Q & A's with Robert Verdi, Monica Rose, Lee Harris, Deborah Wahnin, Penny Lovell (stylist of Ginnifer Goodwin), Lori Goldstein, just to name a few, she allows the experts to shed some light on where they find inspiration, lessons they've learned and tips for being successful.

Full of images of well-dressed stars and the transformation a knowledgeable stylist can create, this book is completely hands-on for those up and coming stylists as it includes an entire chapter to what every stylist should pack to handle any emergency that might arise, how to organize all of the incoming merchandise, how to create an inspiration board and most importantly where to find the clothes you covet to clothe your clients.

While so many of us enjoy gazing at the gorgeous gowns and ensembles as they make their way down the runway, not all of us want to be a stylist, but we must keep in mind that we are the stylist for ourselves every day. Thankfully, Morrison keeps that in mind as she includes an article written by Adam Glassman (the Creative Director of O Magazine) on page 125 that will speak to each one of us.

Overall, an in-depth book that is certain to be a resource for anyone pondering their future in the fashion industry or simply wanting to look stunning and confident in the clothes she wears.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2011
That is the main message of the book. It reiterates over and over that styling is not as glamorous as the public eye may perceives it to be; it is truly like a non fictitious "The Devil Wears Prada" lifestyle. The book is extremely helpful in the way that it shows actual photos and commentary from today's most successful stylists. However, readers may be completely disenchanted with styling as a career as it is made clear throughout the book, you give up and sacrifice a lot of your personal life to do what you love. Read this book to educate yourself in the fashion industry and to aid you in truly making a life decision in pursuing styling. I've highlighted and post-it'ed nearly half of the book and stopped reading it completely to realize that maybe styling is not for me.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 27, 2013
Wow! I didn't realize what all a 'stylist' does. She/he pretty much does everything for her client except wear the fashions. I'm sure there are times when she/he can be frustrated if/when their celebrity is super picky! Not only does a stylist gather gowns/dresses for the Red Carpet and/or event, but they also gather undergarments, shoes, jewelry, purses, etc. several times over so her star(s) has several fashion looks to pick from. Lot of inventory to keep organized especially if they have to be returned. Everything you need for a special event is gathered by the stylist. And I mean "everything" imaginable. I really enjoyed reading about "real life" situations and all the trials & tribulations they endure to keep their celebrity happy and looking smashing. I purchased this book to have a better understanding of what professional tasks a stylist handles. Since I'm a bead embroidery artist I felt the information if vital for my business. Well written and an enjoyable read!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2015
I love the insight into the secrets of stylists in this book. It doesn't vanilla coat the hard work, harsh conditions and sometimes unfair pay starting out. Very few stylists make it into the upper eschelion where you get paid a lot to work with a few stars its nice to see the insight
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
This book is mostly about how much it sucks to work in the Hollywood styling industry, especially in an entry level position. It's a good reality check for people who think they want to do this, though not particularly encouraging, haha. I am a little unclear, though, on how one is supposed to work 12 hour days for at least two years for little-to-no pay while wearing $500 shoes and carrying a Birkin bag. Seriously? A stylists' assistant with a Birkin bag?? Apparently this job is only available to the independently wealthy.

This book is pretty thorough when talking about the business side of the celebrity styling industry, but doesn't really touch on actual *styling*. As in, putting together an outfit or finding what is most flattering for your client. Also when they say "guide to styling the stars", they mean it. There's not much that would be useful for doing, say, personal shopping or wardrobe assistance on a smaller, non-celebrity scale (or even styling for photoshoots, really.) But, it's an interesting read regardless, and definitely a must-read if celebrity, red-carpet-y styling is what you want to do. The section on historical references to know is pretty good... and I did appreciate their lesson on the use of the phrase "totes def" ;-P
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2011
I was lucky enough to meet Sasha Charnin early in my editorial career and to say that she taught me a lot is an enormous understatement. There are few people in the industry that have a better knowledge of both its history and how it works on a day-to-day basis. This book covers all of it -- with the humor, respect AND grain of salt that has made Sasha so successful...and someone that I've looked up to and modeled myself after. She has so many great stories to tell and so many great lessons to impart. Plus, there are pictures of every fashion moment of importance over the years (for those who don't want to read all the wit!) I've read every fashion book on the market, and many have been written by people I've encountered in the business. This is the only one I've ever taken to writing a review for...so I hope that says something to all you potential readers. You won't be disappointed by what you find between its covers.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2012
I found this book to be a fairly good read for anyone interested in the world of fashion,especially those interested in Styling their clients or themselves to the very best:) I liked that their was great info from so many Amazing stylist's in the world of fashion expressing themselves in to what brought them into this Unbelievable world of Fashion. Their are lots of tips here to follow with styling clients which I found to be a great variety of info that you for sure need to make yourself or your client to handle any mishap that could happen at a big event. The author is realistic in her writing stating that this field you must love fashion to truly work in the industry as the hours are long and intense, and sometimes the payoff can take awhile,but as long you LOVE FASHION THIS THEN YOU HAVE FOUND THE RIGHT BOOK TO GO TO ALONG THE WAY OF THIS FAST PACED EVER CHANGING CAREER OF STYLING!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse