Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So You Want To Be A Stylist.....then READ this book!
As a fashion professional I'm usually not impressed by style books especially those that promise to give "insider" tips! However, Sasha has cracked the code, sharing real information that is imperative for any one that wants to be in the business of styling or for the gal or guy that wants to look styled! I love that the information she dispenses isn't just from her...
Published on May 7, 2011 by bevy

versus
24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Very Insider Guide
Read this book if you want to be a stylist when you grow up. This is not a great guide for real, grown-up women looking for every day style advice.
A lot of the information reads like warmed over articles from every fashion and beauty magazine you've read in the last 10 years. And since Ms. Charnin has written for Allure and others this makes sense. I for one am...
Published on August 29, 2011 by martha b.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So You Want To Be A Stylist.....then READ this book!, May 7, 2011
This review is from: Secrets of Stylists: An Insider's Guide to Styling the Stars (Paperback)
As a fashion professional I'm usually not impressed by style books especially those that promise to give "insider" tips! However, Sasha has cracked the code, sharing real information that is imperative for any one that wants to be in the business of styling or for the gal or guy that wants to look styled! I love that the information she dispenses isn't just from her experience, she calls on her friends that just happen to be the TOP STYLISTS in the game and we get their trade secrets as well! Every fashionista has a library of must have fashion books, now we have a new one to add on the list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Very Insider Guide, August 29, 2011
This review is from: Secrets of Stylists: An Insider's Guide to Styling the Stars (Paperback)
Read this book if you want to be a stylist when you grow up. This is not a great guide for real, grown-up women looking for every day style advice.
A lot of the information reads like warmed over articles from every fashion and beauty magazine you've read in the last 10 years. And since Ms. Charnin has written for Allure and others this makes sense. I for one am tired of style guidance having to be tied to celebrity and there is a lot of that here. I was looking for something smarter.
I got a lot more out of Style Evolution by Kendall Farr and How Not To Look Old by Charla Krupp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Valuable Resource, May 22, 2011
This review is from: Secrets of Stylists: An Insider's Guide to Styling the Stars (Paperback)
With experience in the field of fashion from being a part of the staff at Harper's Bazaar, Seventeen, Mirabella, Vanity Fair, Elle, Allure and currently the fashion director at Us Weekly, Sasha Charnin Morrison reveals the behind the scenes secrets to what it takes to be a successful celebrity stylist in her recently released book Secrets of Stylists: An Insider's Guide to Styling the Stars.

Being introduced to the seductive world of fashion at an early age (observing a Vogue photo shoot in Union Square photographed by Chris von Waigenheim), she immediately became smitten and was even so lucky as to be invited to visit the one and only Vogue fashion closet while she was still in school. How is that for after school one-of-a-kind memories?

With her vast knowledge of the behind the scenes culture and tough clientele demands, Morrison tells it like it is, removes the rose-colored glasses many are wearing as they watch The Rachel Zoe Project, and allows the stylists in the business currently share their own individual stories of what a stylist's life is really like.

With Q & A's with Robert Verdi, Monica Rose, Lee Harris, Deborah Wahnin, Penny Lovell (stylist of Ginnifer Goodwin), Lori Goldstein, just to name a few, she allows the experts to shed some light on where they find inspiration, lessons they've learned and tips for being successful.

Full of images of well-dressed stars and the transformation a knowledgeable stylist can create, this book is completely hands-on for those up and coming stylists as it includes an entire chapter to what every stylist should pack to handle any emergency that might arise, how to organize all of the incoming merchandise, how to create an inspiration board and most importantly where to find the clothes you covet to clothe your clients.

While so many of us enjoy gazing at the gorgeous gowns and ensembles as they make their way down the runway, not all of us want to be a stylist, but we must keep in mind that we are the stylist for ourselves every day. Thankfully, Morrison keeps that in mind as she includes an article written by Adam Glassman (the Creative Director of O Magazine) on page 125 that will speak to each one of us.

Overall, an in-depth book that is certain to be a resource for anyone pondering their future in the fashion industry or simply wanting to look stunning and confident in the clothes she wears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only buy if you want to become a stylist, April 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Stylists: An Insider's Guide to Styling the Stars (Paperback)
This book is good if you want to become a stylist, but it't not really interesting to your average fashionista. Perhaps I misunderstood what the book is about, but I thought it would be more of a generic "how to" in styling yourself, from professional stylists to the stars. Instead, it's very "industry-based", so I got a little bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Styling is not glamorous, styling is hard work., July 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Stylists: An Insider's Guide to Styling the Stars (Paperback)
That is the main message of the book. It reiterates over and over that styling is not as glamorous as the public eye may perceives it to be; it is truly like a non fictitious "The Devil Wears Prada" lifestyle. The book is extremely helpful in the way that it shows actual photos and commentary from today's most successful stylists. However, readers may be completely disenchanted with styling as a career as it is made clear throughout the book, you give up and sacrifice a lot of your personal life to do what you love. Read this book to educate yourself in the fashion industry and to aid you in truly making a life decision in pursuing styling. I've highlighted and post-it'ed nearly half of the book and stopped reading it completely to realize that maybe styling is not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, August 7, 2012
I thought this was going to be a book telling me how to be my own stylist. It gave what I believe to be good advice about becoming a stylist, but not practical for the average woman looking to update her look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to work in fashion? Read NOW., May 12, 2011
This review is from: Secrets of Stylists: An Insider's Guide to Styling the Stars (Paperback)
I was lucky enough to meet Sasha Charnin early in my editorial career and to say that she taught me a lot is an enormous understatement. There are few people in the industry that have a better knowledge of both its history and how it works on a day-to-day basis. This book covers all of it -- with the humor, respect AND grain of salt that has made Sasha so successful...and someone that I've looked up to and modeled myself after. She has so many great stories to tell and so many great lessons to impart. Plus, there are pictures of every fashion moment of importance over the years (for those who don't want to read all the wit!) I've read every fashion book on the market, and many have been written by people I've encountered in the business. This is the only one I've ever taken to writing a review for...so I hope that says something to all you potential readers. You won't be disappointed by what you find between its covers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW- FINALLY THE REAL DEAL ABOUT STYLING, May 24, 2011
This review is from: Secrets of Stylists: An Insider's Guide to Styling the Stars (Paperback)
It is about time. Loved it! A must read for anyone who thinks they want in, can't get in, wants out, or just wants to know what celebrity styling is really about. Great before and after celebrity transformation pics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for all fashionistas, May 7, 2011
This review is from: Secrets of Stylists: An Insider's Guide to Styling the Stars (Paperback)
If there is ever a fashion book that has ever been written where you might learn something, this is it. Every fashion lover and student must add this one to their shelf. But what makes it better? It's a FUN read. Finally Sasha Charnin Morrison breaks it down in a way that's not only informational but will give you heaps of the ol' LOL's the whole way through. Highlights are famed stylist June Ambrose's incredible collage of looks, inside pro's prop kits and the intimate stories and tips from every top pro in the biz. But the best of all is the story of Charnin Morrison herself, and her own tricks of the trade. Her one-of-a-kind personality comes through in every page. If you don't even have an iota of interest in fashion and the styling trade, this tell-all tome will make you an addict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T OPEN YOUR CLOSET WITHOUT IT!!, May 8, 2011
This review is from: Secrets of Stylists: An Insider's Guide to Styling the Stars (Paperback)
Finally-a book about style and the who, what, and why of it, that is not only entertaining and informative, but makes you want to go out and shop intelligently. If there were another word for Bible I'd use it, but the best thing about it is that it can be read and understood by men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Secrets of Stylists: An Insider's Guide to Styling the Stars
Secrets of Stylists: An Insider's Guide to Styling the Stars by Sasha Charnin Morrison (Paperback - April 27, 2011)
$24.95 $16.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.