Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback STEM

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars9
Price:$16.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 31, 2006
Sarah was a top performer with a major pharma company, then decided to spend a year interviewing top pharmaceutical salespeople with an eye toward writing this book.

She became increasingly concerned as she discovered that the "secrets" to success were not so secret after all; it was continual application of the basics. She wrote the book anyway, figuring that if that was what led to success, then it needed to be said.

The book's main drawback is that it is short, basic, and simple. Its main strength is that it is short, basic, and simple.

It covers 10 very fundamental and universal behaviors that all pharmaceutical sales representatives should practice. There is nothing new here, and at first, this took me aback somewhat. Then I realized what the chief benefit of such a book could be - giving it out to sales reps would reinforce exactly what every company emphasizes, but provide an "outside" validation of those messages. Based not on theory, or novelty, but on the track record of successful professionals "in the trenches."

You won't buy this book to discover novel techniques. But you just may hand it out to your district sales people, or new hires, as a reinforcement and a motivational tool. I recently loaned it to someone who was in the midst of interviewing for a pharmaceutical sales position; he stated that he wished he'd had it before the first 2 interviews!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2007
After more than 7,000 sales calls in pharmaceutical sales working for AZ, this book brought me back to the basics that made me so successful. This book is particularly powerful because it is written by a former top producing rep, someone who has been there, and not an administrator. If your sales are dragging, this book is a powerful Rx for success!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2014
If you've ever been involved in sales business to business, this is useless. Be nice, follow up, know your material- duh. Nothing new or exceptional here, and certainly nothing enlightening. If you're really interested in pharmaceutical sales rep behind-the-scene with smart writing and novel motivational stories, opt for "Be Brief. Be Bright. Be Gone." by Currier and Frost
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2007
As a 8 year manager in the pharm industry, I can say that the author "nails it". For reps new to the industry I would use this as a handbook and refer to it often. For veterans, it is helpful to remind us what truly gets the business rather than chasing activity reports.

Very solid book!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2007
After having read many books on the subject of "how to be a good pharma sales rep," this is truly one-of-a-kind and worth reading! Since it's written from an insider's perspective, the terminology, the situations, and the scenarios ring true. If you want to learn how to be a top performing rep, the information is there for the taking. There are mini self-assessments at the conclusion of each chapter so you can quickly tell where you are in terms of mastering that particular step. In addition, there are bullet-pointed summaries at the end of each short chapter.

For those who are not yet in the business or who need a "primer" before coming to training, be ready to learn the lingo - this is how real reps talk to one another and how they operate. This is the real deal. Don't miss it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2011
This is a great book and a must read if you have never worked in the industry. It can be motivational until you get in the field. The industry is getting worse and harder to make a difference.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2014
I am an RN trying to get an entry level job. I always go after what I want armed with info that will help me to be at the top with consistent action. This book is a must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2006
What a fantastic book - I highly recommend it to all of my friends in pharmaceuticals. Thank you for mailing it quickly too!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2014
Super helpful! Super practical/realistic! Great for all occupations!
I review it and review your bold points and end chapter questions!
Such a great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse